We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Feels like home.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gulf View Waterfront Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marathon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gulf View Waterfront Resort
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Big Pine Key, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Feels like home.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

This was our second stay at the Gulfview - we liked it so much the first time that we brought more people this time. Since we loved the family vibe of this resort, we thought it would be the perfect place for us to enjoy a vacation with our two large dogs as well as our 2-year-old niece and her parents. We couldn’t have made a better choice. Between the pool, the kayaks and canoes, and the Dolphin Research Center next door, we were never without things to do. Our niece loved the “beach” – a sandy spot near the water under a shady tiki. The hammocks proved perfect for napping, and we were able to prepare meals in our room to take full advantage of the fresh local seafood – not to mention the fish we caught ourselves!

The Gulfview Waterfront Resort always treats us like family, and this place feels like home. We’ll definitely be back!

Room Tip: Splurge for the larger room with a kitchen and the view of the gulf.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FearlessTam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    118
    37
    16
    4
See reviews for
184
184
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

We stayed at the Gulf Veiw resort for 6days Mike and Stephania the owners where very helpful our rooms was bright spacious and clean each room had their own bbq and our view from the balcony over looked the ocean. Onsite at the resort included 2 aviaries with Iggy the iguana and a very chatty parrot which kept on telling me i love you also a pen which had 2 adult tortoises and their babies. We spent a lot of time in the peddle boats going arond the bay to the dolphin centre you also had use of the kayaks. this resort is definatley one for the bucket list we will be going back soon.

Room Tip: Book room 17
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea3103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

My wife and I were looking for a place to stay to break up our trip down to Key West and decided to try this property in Marathon. I have to admit I wasn't 100% sure initially if I'd enjoy the stay, because I was hoping to find a B&B on one of the other islands, but figured I'd give this a try based on some of the recent positive reviews. It definitely exceeded my expectations! Great view from the back of the property (also free paddleboats & kayaks for folks staying here) and excellent value on the room for what we spent. The owner is a great guy and we had a good chat about the area - he suggested a few restaurants and attractions in the area (the property is very well prepared with ideas).

We will definitely return for a longer stay!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room #18 - the Blue & Gold Macaw - very quiet and comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DJCTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

We stayed here in Sep 2011 with our two young kids. The two bedroom was perfect for us since it has a full kitchen with pots and pans, plates, etc. Also the location made it easy to visit the Dolphin Research Center since we could just walk 2 minutes down the same side of the road. Marathon is a great spot to stay in the Keys if you are wondering. There are plenty of stores and restaurants and you are close to wonderful beaches and snorkeling at Looe Key. The folks at the resort are very friendly and they have everything you need for an extended stay including a laundry room. We loved the variety of options on their cozy grounds. The pool was fantastic, the hammocks relaxing, the birds are fun, and the view is beautiful. A guest here can tell that the owners love what they have.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JacksonFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lecanto, Florida
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

We picked this resort as it had good reviews and they allowed dogs and we always travel with our dog. We paid $149.63 for one night in a small room - it was clean but it was at the back of the property and overlooked a junk heap - we were told by the owner that her husband was working on a project. On checkout we complained about the view and were told we had picked one of the cheaper rooms hence the view! At nearly $150 a night I would not call it a cheap room! We were offered a reduction if we were to return but after this experience we have no intention of returning. We are staying in Key West at a beautiful B&B - our specious room overlooks the pool and we are paying $130 per night (including our dog) and including a very nice breakfast.. We know where we will be staying next time we come to the Keys!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

Having spent ages looking for somewhere special to stay in the Keys we stumbled across this place and booked based on great reviews here. Even so we were impressed - nestled among the motels of Middle Keys was this small, friendly and pretty gulfside resort. We would have loved to stay longer.
Having a pool was definitely a bonus in the summer heat and the grounds were lovely and well maintained - hammocks and free kayaks were also great.
Watching the sunset (and lightning storms!) from the resort was fantastic - almost unique as most nice resorts are oceanside.
We stayed in the blue and gold macaw room - had both air con and ceiling fan which kept the room plenty cool. It was a perfect room - everything was clean and tidy plus there were plenty of provisions, notably in the kitchen (cleaning cloths, washing up liquid) which meant self-catering was really easy.
We enjoyed the BBQ on the deck which was great - it is a shared balcony which isn't clear from the photos perhaps, but its such a large balcony that it wouldn't have mattered anyway.
The owners are friendly and the service is great - I couldn't recommend this place highly enough and would go back in a shot.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jackieh313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

Service is outstanding as the owners live on-site and take great pride in their Inn! :-)
Our room was exceptionally clean and well appointed.
Location is perfect! Everything you could want in the Keys is close at hand!
We especially enjoyed the native fruits grown on the property and shared w/all guests and the fresh coffee every morning. The grounds are well maintained and the pool was refreshing, clean and offers a great view of the Gulf!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bdr523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
10.5 mi away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
10.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
5.0 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Seashell Beach Resort
Seashell Beach Resort
#10 of 16 in Marathon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
5.2 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
10.7 mi away
The Hammocks at Marathon
The Hammocks at Marathon
#8 of 16 in Marathon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gulf View Waterfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulf View Waterfront Resort

Property: Gulf View Waterfront Resort
Address: 58743 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050-6021
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our small, private and charming property is located at the North end of Marathon on Grassy Key. We offer 11 exceptional units ranging from guest rooms with refrigerators and microwave ovens to efficiencies and one and two bedroom apartments with full kitchens - an accommodation to meet your needs. (We even allow your family pets!) Enjoy the heated pool, one of the largest in the middle keys or go out on our complimentary kayaks, canoes or paddle boats. We provide free WIFI, daily maid service and complimentary coffee and tea each morning. We also have a boat ramp and dockage available.The Gulf View Waterfront Resort has been family owned and operated since 1995. Come stay with us and discover our little piece of paradise.Susan, Mike, Stephanie, Jack & Casey Thank you for your interest in the Gulf View. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gulf View Waterfront Hotel Marathon
Gulf View Waterfront Resort Marathon, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing