We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marathon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gulf View Waterfront Resort
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Lucerne, Switzerland
1 review
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Very warm and personal welcome, perfect pool (clean, heated), great view, relaxing hammocks under the palm trees, perfectly located in the middle of the Keys, lovely parrot and fast tortoise (the kids loved them). We hope we can return one day.

Room Tip: The perfect rooms are upstairs ocean front. If you book early enough you might catch one of those ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AvaReNeMi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    280
    124
    37
    16
    4
See reviews for
191
190
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Just returned after a 20yr reunion with some Navy buddies. We all stayed at Gulf View. Can't rave about the owners and staff enough! They are the personal touch that chain or large property rentals can't replicate. Very relaxing and free kayak and paddle boats are a great comp for those who like to spend time on the water. Beautiful grounds with hammocks and heated pool. Next door to Dolphin sanctuary. We'll be back. I encourage anyone reading this review to support GVWR by treating yourself to a stay here. Nothing but great people and good times.

Room Tip: All rooms are great and have more than enough appliances to keep you comfortable. If you are a picky...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

After one nights stay, my husband asked me "Can we keep it?" We stayed in two different 2 bedroom apartment, both were very comfortable and plenty big enough for 4 adults. The grounds were beautiful and very relaxing ! I loved the hammocks and pool area ! The resident birds were entertaining ! Mike and the staff were very helpful with area restaurants and attractions. I would love to go back and stay for an extended time ! Many thanks to Gulf View Waterfront Resort for a wonderful week !

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MickyMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
672 reviews
172 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 370 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

The property has two buildings, a coin washer and dryer are on-site, and the pool is very nice. The property is pretty and includes 5 birds and a turtle. Coco, the cockatoo/cockatiel/whatever, can talk; it also waves when it says hello. This is a pet friendly facility with large grassy areas. There is a bike/walking path about 1/4 mile South of the property. The rooms are large, the kitchen area is adequate, all appliances work well and, the bed was very comfortable. Gas grills are available; if they need gas, please let the owners know. As with most properties in the Florida Keys, the beach is not swimmable. Kayaks, canoes, and paddle boats are available and all are in good shape. I'd recommend going out only at high tide; it's an easy paddle to the North where you are soon behind the Dolphin Research Center and can watch the dolphins jump during the shows. (Highly recommend actually going to the Dolphin Research Center.) I can't believe I almost forgot this - the housekeeper is very friendly and a lot of fun - she leaves towel animals on the bed every day. It's fun to see what is going to be there.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hola4876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granger, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2013

very nice. great people we stayed for 3 days I wanted to stay 4ever ! very relaxing pool . and free use of the boats also close to dolphin research .our room was very clean and ready when we arrived .I also would recommend eating at sparkeys for happy hour good call from mike . my son really enjoyed the birds and the turtles . really did not feel life I needed to go anywhere it was very nice. and I would and will recommend this to anyone visiting marathon or the middle keys I CAN'T WAIT TO RETURN !

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

I spent the weekend with my family at the Gulf View. We were greeted by Stephanie and Mike, the owners, and were welcomed from the beginning and throughout the entire weekend. Our room was great and definately worth the money. We stayed in room 19 and it was very comfortable. This was one of the best stays I have had at a hotel. If you are going to the keys, this is the place for you!

Room Tip: Spend the extra money to get the two room suite. It is almost like home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WestPalmBeachDaddeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summerville, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. The property is very pretty and overlooking the Gulf. Our room was very clean and had just what we needed for our week's stay. Mike, the owner, was extremely friendly and very accommodating. He gave us some good places to go and visit and have a good meal. We really enjoyed our stay. It was quiet and calming. We fished off the dock, met the parrots out front, and had a nice time. We were about an hour from Key West and that is always a nice ride to take. We will definitely be staying here next year.

The Smiths

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbS23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
10.5 mi away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
10.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
5.0 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
770 reviews
1.1 mi away
Seashell Beach Resort
Seashell Beach Resort
#10 of 17 in Marathon
264 reviews
10.7 mi away
The Hammocks at Marathon
The Hammocks at Marathon
#8 of 17 in Marathon
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gulf View Waterfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulf View Waterfront Resort

Property: Gulf View Waterfront Resort
Address: 58743 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050-6021
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our small, private and charming property is located at the North end of Marathon on Grassy Key. We offer 11 exceptional units ranging from guest rooms with refrigerators and microwave ovens to efficiencies and one and two bedroom apartments with full kitchens - an accommodation to meet your needs. (We even allow your family pets!) Enjoy the heated pool, one of the largest in the middle keys or go out on our complimentary kayaks, canoes or paddle boats. We provide free WIFI, daily maid service and complimentary coffee and tea each morning. We also have a boat ramp and dockage available.The Gulf View Waterfront Resort has been family owned and operated since 1995. Come stay with us and discover our little piece of paradise.Susan, Mike, Stephanie, Jack & Casey Thank you for your interest in the Gulf View. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gulf View Waterfront Hotel Marathon
Gulf View Waterfront Resort Marathon, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing