We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant "Old Florida" Resort”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marathon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gulf View Waterfront Resort
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
florida
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Pleasant "Old Florida" Resort”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We stayed at Gulf View and had a very nice visit. It's a Mom and Pop resort with very nice staff and friendly fellow visitors. Our room was clean and well equipped, although somewhat smaller than I had envisioned. Oh well, we made do and had a fine time while there. Unfortunately, it rained a bit too much, but we enjoyed the pleasant scenery, surrounding sightseeing, great morning coffee provided in the gazebo, the pool and just totally relaxing "island style." Even got to pick some avocados, bananas and coconuts off the trees. Nice stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sawasdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    280
    124
    37
    16
    4
See reviews for
191
190
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Moline, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Stayed here while fishing with friends in the Key's. A small mom and pop resort with friendly and accommodating owners! Clean and comfortable. If there was any down side it would be the small bathrooms but I have come to find this common in some of the smaller resorts in the Key's.
Would reccommend to anyone that wants a small, decent, quiet place to stay in Marathon!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Our family, (myself & hubby, our two teen age son's & two of their friends and our two mini-schnauzers) visited this past August. We enjoyed everything about the Gulf View!!! As promised, there was hot coffee early each morning and the room was very clean and comfy. The owners were so helpful and hospitable. We have been visiting the keys for over 10 years and don't know how we ever missed this place, but we will stay again for certain.

The Seals Family
Jacksonville, FL

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rhondaseals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarion, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
85 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We really enjoyed the Gulf View Waterfront Resort on Marathon. The unit we stayed in Blue and Gold Macaw room. It was small, but very clean and well maintained. The pool on the property was wonderful, and the view of the bay was beautiful. The owner was very helpful, providing advice on area restaurants, etc. This was our first time in the Keys, and we enjoyed our stay immensely!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monet3103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Coral, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

My family, friends, and I have been coming to Gulf View for years now for the start of lobster season. Every year... Same time... Same rooms... Same great experience!!! With the amount of people and boats we bring (20 or so people and 4 or 5 boats) this place really makes it happen for us.

The rooms are clean and accommodating with tables and grills outside. For that very needed hot dog or burger after a long day on the water. Also, with their own private boat ramp you can bring your own boat without having to pay those annoying ramp fee's.

The owners are "TOP NOTCH" and are always there to help with big smiles and a pleasing attitude. I even had a problem with my boat and they recommended there personal boat mechanic who got the job done that day. Thanks again for that one!!!

This is a must stay if you like to relax and swing in the hammocks or float in the pool. Can't wait to see you guys again next year!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lantana, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We were traveling with two adults, a toddler and two preteens. Everyone loved it! It is right on the water, although there is no beach. However, if you have ever been to the Keys you would know there are not many actual beaches. There is a sandy area under with a tiki hut that has toys for the kids to play with. This was so nice for us as to not have to bring toys for our little one. The pool also has floaty toys for kids of all ages to use and a nice tiki hut. There are hammocks and sunsets, and what we called a "mini zoo." This is four cages up front containing tortoises and exotic birds that delight the children with their talking and antics. Each room had its own patio table and umbrella along with a BBQ grill. Our room was an efficiency room which was fully stocked with utensils and cookware so we were able to go to the store and buy food to cook at our room which saved us money. The grill was a nice touch. The people were very friendly and the grounds were pretty. Our room was clean and spacious. If you have a boat you can dock it there and they have a ramp. This will be our new "spot" every time we go down there from now on. We all loved it!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 970adriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2013

This was the perfect little hotel for my daughter and me. We were in the keys to go snorkeling at Looe Key. Our room was very clean and comfortable. Just what we needed for our short mother-daughter weekend. We fell in love with the tortoise, Ziggy, and the birds (especially Coco). If you're hungry, we recommend Sparky's Landing and the Tarpon Creek Restaurant behind the Holiday Inn.

Just a warning. Be careful putting your kayak in the water. The ramp is very slippery.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stablegirllisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
10.5 mi away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
10.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
5.0 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
770 reviews
1.1 mi away
Seashell Beach Resort
Seashell Beach Resort
#10 of 17 in Marathon
264 reviews
10.7 mi away
The Hammocks at Marathon
The Hammocks at Marathon
#8 of 17 in Marathon
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gulf View Waterfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulf View Waterfront Resort

Property: Gulf View Waterfront Resort
Address: 58743 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050-6021
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our small, private and charming property is located at the North end of Marathon on Grassy Key. We offer 11 exceptional units ranging from guest rooms with refrigerators and microwave ovens to efficiencies and one and two bedroom apartments with full kitchens - an accommodation to meet your needs. (We even allow your family pets!) Enjoy the heated pool, one of the largest in the middle keys or go out on our complimentary kayaks, canoes or paddle boats. We provide free WIFI, daily maid service and complimentary coffee and tea each morning. We also have a boat ramp and dockage available.The Gulf View Waterfront Resort has been family owned and operated since 1995. Come stay with us and discover our little piece of paradise.Susan, Mike, Stephanie, Jack & Casey Thank you for your interest in the Gulf View. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gulf View Waterfront Hotel Marathon
Gulf View Waterfront Resort Marathon, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing