We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on Earth”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marathon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gulf View Waterfront Resort
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I had never been to the Keys before, just went on a whim, spent 10 wonderful days at Gulf View.
The family run resort was so laid back. The grounds are beautiful and force you to relax. Park like settings with palm trees, hammocks, gentle off shore breeze, pick nick tables. Coffee hot in a large coffee maker under the palm trees at out door area. What away to start the day with a cup of coffee gazing out at the Gulf and then a quick dip in the beautiful blue tiled pool with swimming dolphin tiled into bottom of comfortably heated pool. The resort staff(owners) are very attentive with smiles on their faces and ready to help if needed or casual conversation. My room was kept very clean and furnished with a large bed, dish sink, 4 burner stove, full size refrigerator, plates and utensils, plenty of drawers for clothing, BBQ out in front of my room. Very close to so many activities, dolphin rescue facility within walking distance (however I drove to Key Largo and went to Dolphins Plus. I chose to go there because of the reviews. Very friendly and educated training staff. More really good restaurants than I can count. The Bar and Grill next to Gulf View is casual and comfortable, a locals hang out, kids welcome. The beer is cold, steak and "gator" part of the menu. Friendly staff, oh and the best Key Lime Pie in the Keys. prices are moderate compared to most of the other restaurants. 50 miles to Ley West, if you've never gone its a party town. All in all my visit was excellent! I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: My room was downstairs as I walk with a cane. parking is not assigned so you park anywhere. I was ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    280
    124
    37
    16
    4
See reviews for
191
190
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

We stumbled upon gulf view and couldn't be more pleased with our stay. The room was comfortable and clean, we had great neighbors to chat with, there was amble parking, and we had our morning coffee on one of the paddle boats. Definitely check out Sparky's restaurant while you're visiting. It was a recommendation to us when we checked in and was a blast. We hope to begin planning our next trip back to marathon soon. Happy New year!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erikasealing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sayville, New York, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We just left the resort, and have nothing but nice things to report. The staff was super friendly, and accommodating, the room was small but clean and adequate. The small kitchen and gas grills allowed my family to save some coin and cook in a little. Also when we caught a nice Mangrove Snapper from the dock we were able to cook it for dinner, ourselves. Access to a fishing dock yards from the room in wonderful. Mike and Stephanie have a great family resort here, not lavish but perfect for a family. The pool is clean and well maintained and the use of kayaks, paddle boats etc. is a great reason to stay. There is fresh coffee served each morning near the hammocks and some of the many tiki huts. The view is SPECTACULAR and the location feels very secluded but is close to all the conveniences one could want and right near the Dolphin Research center. We would come back to the Gulf View in a heartbeat. I hope we do!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Our stay here in mid-December 2013 was relaxing, enjoyable and a balm to our souls. This scenic oasis in a beautiful setting features clean, full kitchenette apartments with outside balconies - each of which has its own tables, chairs and grill. We took advantage of the nice warm pool, the hammocks set among the palm trees and the free use of paddle boats and kayaks. Our hosts, Mike and his family, were extremely friendly, enthusiastic, compassionate and all around helpful. We enjoyed the assortment of pets, including the talking birds and their turtles, as well. This is a small family-run enterprise, not a lavish resort, but it's one do the best places we've ever stayed at in Florida.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vyla-Terrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cooper City, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 December 2013

This is a relaxing, pretty hotel right on the water. We love small, mom-and-pop hotels and this is one of the best we've ever seen. We used the paddleboats, canoe, and kayaks every morning. We also enjoyed the pool, hammocks, and cup after cup of coffee in the mornings. The location is great and the grounds are beautiful. We stayed in a two-bedroom apartment and were very comfortable. The Gulfview is only about two hours from our home, so we're already looking at the calendar and thinking about when we can go back. The Horvat family have a gem!

Room Tip: Stop at a supermarket before you get to the hotel. The nearest Publix is about 8 miles away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JDubb71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Spent a few nights here with my teenage family. Two bedroom room was great, pool was much appreciated, rather basic and functional but very clean. Friendly owners. Another toilet would have but useful.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Marys, GA
Level Contributor
163 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Family run hotel. Nothing fancy, but clean and well supplied. We had access to canoe, kayaks, bicycles without fee. Also gas grill for each unit outside. Very nice pool for the few rooms.
A little slice of paradise!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grpGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
10.5 mi away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
10.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
5.0 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
1.1 mi away
Seashell Beach Resort
Seashell Beach Resort
#10 of 17 in Marathon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
10.7 mi away
The Hammocks at Marathon
The Hammocks at Marathon
#8 of 17 in Marathon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gulf View Waterfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulf View Waterfront Resort

Property: Gulf View Waterfront Resort
Address: 58743 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050-6021
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our small, private and charming property is located at the North end of Marathon on Grassy Key. We offer 11 exceptional units ranging from guest rooms with refrigerators and microwave ovens to efficiencies and one and two bedroom apartments with full kitchens - an accommodation to meet your needs. (We even allow your family pets!) Enjoy the heated pool, one of the largest in the middle keys or go out on our complimentary kayaks, canoes or paddle boats. We provide free WIFI, daily maid service and complimentary coffee and tea each morning. We also have a boat ramp and dockage available.The Gulf View Waterfront Resort has been family owned and operated since 1995. Come stay with us and discover our little piece of paradise.Susan, Mike, Stephanie, Jack & Casey Thank you for your interest in the Gulf View. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gulf View Waterfront Hotel Marathon
Gulf View Waterfront Resort Marathon, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing