We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gulf View Waterfront Resort
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Marathon
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hawks Cay Resort(Duck Key)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (479)
Filter reviews
479 results
Traveller rating
291
129
39
16
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
291
129
39
16
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspaddle boatsdolphin research centerthanks mikepalm treestropical birdsfree kayaksfamily ownedtiki hutgrassy keygas grillkey westevery morningstone crabold floridaheated poolnice poollaid back
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
199 - 204 of 479 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We had a superb one-night experience at this little place on the Overseas Highway. The accommodations are certainly not modern, but our two-bedroom unit was worked perfectly well for my family of four. It's a clean, well cared-for hotel with nice grounds and an immaculate swimming pool, which we enjoyed using for nearly an hour. We also took the four-person paddle boat out for a spin -- cool! Even the shower gets my rave review, because of the great water pressure. Best of all are the owners/managers, a husband-and-wife team I believe, very nice folks who were spot-on with their dining recommendations (both dinner at Sparky's and breakfast at the Stuffed Pig). We'll remember our stay here for a long time to come.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bflo08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Great hotel for non-needy guests. I stayed in the lobster room it was clean, it had a kitchen and was very inexpensive for a 2-1 in Marathon. Nice grounds, great pool and we had access to kayaks, paddle boats and a canoe. Plenty of grills to cook on and the hammocks were nestled nicely in the palms. The wi-fi was strong and basic cable on the t.v. They are also very people and pet friendly too. This room is great for 3-4 guests that want to enjoy marathon and save money. I look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We paid for 4 nights and ended up leaving on day 3. After spending days in the sun fishing, swimming, etc you really want to be able to go back to the room and enjoy a cool room. The bathroom door was kept shut the hole time. We ended up asking for a fan to help with the cooling of the room. NOT... it was hot as hell in our room. The AC was set on 60 from day one. The only time the room was cool was at 4am. You would think if your customers are paying $185 a day the room would have a good A/C in it. We ended up going north toward home and paying $85 for a room at the Holiday Inn in Port St Lucy!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rmwarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Very friendly. Super helpful. I mean, we didn't need much besides a last minute room. We've been to the Keys dozens of times over the years. That said, this is one of the nicest places we've stayed and it definitely had the most amenities.

Wifi was strong. Pool was clean and refreshing. So refreshing. If we hadn't had to check out and come back to our real lives, I might live in the pool. Kayaks, canoes, paddleboats free to use anytime. Hammocks under the coconut palms overlooking the water. Gas grills all around to use.

Here's the thing: it's not a high end fancy resort where staff will wait on you 24/7 (and you pay outrageous prices for that). If you want cabana boys and a poolside bartender wryly pretending to enjoy your sales person of the year story, this place isn't for you. That kind of place, with the excess and the foofy nonsense, isn't for me.

This place was. Totally. Loved it.
Gulf View is like staying with some cool, chill friends who have a sweet place on the water in the Keys. If the grill in from of your room doesn't light, try the next one over, ask one of the guests who showed up before you. Listen to the goldfish story from the kid at the pool. Have your own beer and watch the sunset. Take a full on nap in a hammock.

The room was huge--bigger than expected. Kitchen was great. Whole place was comfy and cozy and my only complaint is that I couldn't stay forever.
We will certainly be back.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Neliza D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I'll start by saying I researched many places to stay for our trip the first week of July, 2014, taking into consideration: amenities, price, location and quality of the grounds. I liked that it was family owned and that they were trying to be as "green" as they can. The location in Marathon was within a short distance from most sites I wanted to visit and only 1 hr. from Key West. We used the free Kayaks and enjoyed it. Other reviews have commented on the condition of them but we found they performed just fine and had no complaints. Pay to rent elsewhere if you don't like them! We stayed 4 days in room 15 ( King efficiency). It seemed a little small due to the futon in front of the bed, but we found ourselves using it often to sit, eat, and watch TV on the flat screen tv. The bathroom is a little small but the shower had awesome pressure and we loved it! There is no medicine cabinet. Every room has an area with a gas grill, the grounds were tidy, we loved the bird and turtle menagerie and all the different fruit trees on the property. Our room was in a quiet area, the waterfront was well kept and there was plenty of Tiki huts and places to sun or hang out etc.. In defense of the folks that criticized for not having a swim worthy beach, their's is typical of most in the keys. During our trip we noticed in the news that there was an unusual amount of seagrass washing into the beaches. Yes, it may smell some when that happens but you can't change Mother Nature! Morning coffee was provided (all morning). The owners were wonderful to talk to and they went over and above our expectations to help us with where to shop, give directions and find the things we needed, which was not the case in the 2 other places we stayed later during our trip. The pool and grounds were well kept, clean and they had lots of lounges, floats and kids beach stuff to use. The Kitchen was adequately equipped, everything worked well, AC worked very, very good in 95 degree weather. The patio outside our room had a table and roof so it was pleasant even during rain spells. The place sits next to the Dolphin research center and there's a cute little place to eat within 1/8 mile. Sombrero beach (sandy and gorgeous) is 9 miles and is Very, very nice!!
No, this is not a fancy resort, but my feelings are that I don't ever spend much time in the room so why pay for a fancy place at twice the cost. I'd rather spend on DOING THINGS! Also, There were NO bugs in our room. Housekeepers were friendly and speak English and also helped us with directions to sites.

Room Tip: Look at their website photos provided and don't hesitate to call them to ask questions as to where it is located on the property and any other info you need to know about the area or things to do.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Joanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews