We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another wonderful stay!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marathon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gulf View Waterfront Resort
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Gulf View is a wonderful mom and pop, old school type resort. This is our seventh year staying there and will return next year. If you are looking for a clean, relaxing, affordable place to stay in the Keys, this is the place.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank dougx63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (472)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 472 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014

I grew up in the keys. The GulfView is clean, welcoming, and real keys living. I grew up on Grassy Key. The bed was so comfortable!!

Access to the bike trails, the DRC, Marathon, Lowet and Upper Keys is perfect! Everyday it was like coming home.

The family is kind and welcoming. Experience the keys and stay in the wonderful old school family run pieces of paradise. The GulfView and Grassy Ket are just that - the heart of what the keys feels like and is made of!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karla K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Stayed there for 3 nights in the beginning of July, including the 4th. So, our first impression was very mixed. We liked the open space and colorful grounds, but were concerned as we walked up the stairs to register and had to dodge old berries on the steps.... They didn't seem to have been swept in days and I didn't want to get any on my shoes! Check in went smooth and then we went into the room. We were staying in the blue and gold macaw room, and I loved the location and placement of the room. It was like walking in to a small apartment, with a full kitchen on the right, a nice sized table on the left, and an open room beyond that with a big bed,futon and tv cabinet. I was disappointed to not find anyplace to unpack my clothes, so we put the bags on the futon and lived out of them for the stay. Also, the bathroom (which had an excellent, strong, and clean shower) didn't have much storage at all, so my husband improvised and set up the small ironing board on top of the luggage rack to make an a extra shelf for toiletries... So, the room decor was dated, but we really didn't care. My husband lit the stove like the old days when we grew up in the Bronx, using a match for the gas pilot light, LOL!!! And the same with the BBQ, LOL!! But, both worked fine, and allowed us to cook and enjoy great local bought food... We stocked the fridge with lots of beverages so we had plenty to drink , haha!! That alone was a huge cost savings on our vacation!! The owners were very helpful and directed us to our new favorite place to eat, Snappers, which was pretty close by. Great coffee shop right next door to Snappers, too!
We really felt like we had our own little studio apartment in a cool and friendly apartment complex, rather than feeling like we were staying at a hotel. This was EXACTLY what we wanted. We wanted to get a feel for the area, and feel like a part of the Keys, not an outsider. The Gulf View was 100% perfect for that. Not to mention we LOVED LOVED LOVED the pool!!!! It was just glorious! I do wish the a/c unit was more powerful, but it kept the room decent and comfortable. I just happen to like cold, LOL!!! So, people can nitpick, I suppose, but we loved it and will be back again someday. We also liked the owners who helped us check in and out, they seemed like real down to earth and cool people, which I find is usually the case with people who are animal lovers.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jpolo65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My boyfriend and I decided last minute to come to the keys and we got a room here. They allow dogs of all sizes and most rooms had a dog or two in them. The kayaks, canoes, and paddle boats are free and in good shape. We didn't see much when we went out, but it was great for the first day since we got there around 3 pm. The main complaint is that the room was very hot, but that's because the A/C unit is not in the correct place to cool the entire room. They did have a fan in the room. We were facing West so from 4-8ish it was hot, but we were not normally in the room then. In the mornings they have complimentary coffee and tea. There is also a propane grill for every room. The owners live on property and you can see them and the family around the property maintaining it.
I would recommend this hotel for anyone with a dog!

Room Tip: Maybe a room on the first floor would be cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kickinkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We had a superb one-night experience at this little place on the Overseas Highway. The accommodations are certainly not modern, but our two-bedroom unit was worked perfectly well for my family of four. It's a clean, well cared-for hotel with nice grounds and an immaculate swimming pool, which we enjoyed using for nearly an hour. We also took the four-person paddle boat out for a spin -- cool! Even the shower gets my rave review, because of the great water pressure. Best of all are the owners/managers, a husband-and-wife team I believe, very nice folks who were spot-on with their dining recommendations (both dinner at Sparky's and breakfast at the Stuffed Pig). We'll remember our stay here for a long time to come.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bflo08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Great hotel for non-needy guests. I stayed in the lobster room it was clean, it had a kitchen and was very inexpensive for a 2-1 in Marathon. Nice grounds, great pool and we had access to kayaks, paddle boats and a canoe. Plenty of grills to cook on and the hammocks were nestled nicely in the palms. The wi-fi was strong and basic cable on the t.v. They are also very people and pet friendly too. This room is great for 3-4 guests that want to enjoy marathon and save money. I look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We paid for 4 nights and ended up leaving on day 3. After spending days in the sun fishing, swimming, etc you really want to be able to go back to the room and enjoy a cool room. The bathroom door was kept shut the hole time. We ended up asking for a fan to help with the cooling of the room. NOT... it was hot as hell in our room. The AC was set on 60 from day one. The only time the room was cool was at 4am. You would think if your customers are paying $185 a day the room would have a good A/C in it. We ended up going north toward home and paying $85 for a room at the Holiday Inn in Port St Lucy!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rmwarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
10.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
10.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
5.0 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Skipjack Resort Suites & Marina
5.2 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
798 reviews
9.3 mi away
Lime Tree Bay Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gulf View Waterfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulf View Waterfront Resort

Address: 58743 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050-6021
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Marathon
Price Range: £85 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our small, private and charming property is located at the North end of Marathon on Grassy Key. We offer 11 exceptional units ranging from guest rooms with refrigerators and microwave ovens to efficiencies and one and two bedroom apartments with full kitchens - an accommodation to meet your needs. (We even allow your family pets!) Enjoy the heated pool, one of the largest in the middle keys or go out on our complimentary kayaks, canoes or paddle boats. We provide free WIFI, daily maid service and complimentary coffee and tea each morning. We also have a boat ramp and dockage available.The Gulf View Waterfront Resort has been family owned and operated since 1995. Come stay with us and discover our little piece of paradise.Susan, Mike, Stephanie, Jack & Casey Thank you for your interest in the Gulf View. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gulf View Waterfront Hotel Marathon
Gulf View Waterfront Resort Marathon, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing