We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marathon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gulf View Waterfront Resort
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Central Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 19 August 2009

I selected this motel based alot on the (mostly ) glowing tripadvisor reviews. I lived in the Keys in the '90's and didnt even know about this place, it sounded like an undiscovered gem. Now I wish I had paid more attention to the lukewarm or negative reviews... I'll start with the positive- the grounds are really well landscaped and the view out over Florida Bay is beautiful. I only interacted with the woman at the front desk for a few moments, but she was very friendly. A huge plus is that there are recycling bins everywhere. Now the bad parts- no matter where you are on the property you're no more than maybe 150 feet from the heavy traffic roaring past on US 1, and god help you if you get a room facing the road, as I did. You are only maybe 15 or 20 paces from the highway, and because there's only sparse landscaping in that area there's no sound buffer, and you can even see ithe traffic roaring past from your back deck. Plus, the area between you and the road is apparently the storage/dump area, so your view is heavy traffic, garbage cans and discarded junk. Even with the door closed and the a/c running on hi, you get to listen to the semis and beer trucks that start around 4 am trying to beat the traffic on their way to Key West. The room itself was nothing special at all, on the small side, with pretty much no character whatsoever. It was clean is about all I can say about it. In conclusion, I had anticipated a true Keys hidden gem, but ended up staying in an overpriced run of the mill room that may as well have been in Hoboken. For reference, I stayed the next night in a room in Key Largo at a mom and pop that was so far off the road there was no trafffic noise, I was a stone's throw from their sandy beach where they had kayaks free of charge, the room was spotless and much larger, and I paid almost forty five dollars less. That was a nice Keys experience, and I'll be saying so when I write them a review.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tokenhaole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    280
    124
    37
    16
    4
See reviews for
191
190
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2009

Gulf View is a small casual resort with amenites that include a well-maintained pool, free use of kayaks, gas grills and a putting green.
Our one-bedroom unit had a kitchen and basic furnishings. Rooms are cleaned by a conscientious housekeeper.
Paddle out to watch the sunset or explore the mangroves. Stop by and visit the 2 resident turtles named Zig and Zag or relax in a hammock.
We originally selected this facility due to its proximity to the Dolphin Research Center, a short walk away. Sombero Beach is a short drive away in Marathon, and Key West is reachable in approximately an hour.
For us, if there was anything missing, we'd have to say it would be a swimming beach. If you're traveling by car, it's not a problem to go out to Sombero or nearby Bahia Honda State Park. Just about anything else you'll need can be found in Marathon, a few miles down the road.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank troubadourUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
U.S.A
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2009

Our room was so clean when we arrived, we could smell it. Beautiful view of the Gulf, but you cannot swim (smelled like sewage...only bad part of Gulf View). We used the kayaks to go next door to the dolphin research center (cheating!) in the morning and dolphins swam right up to the fence to see us! Pool is very nice and warm (salt water); we swam in it almost every night. Not too fancily decorated, but outside was very pretty with hammocks. Overall, we enjoyed Gulf View!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reviewer1549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeLand, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2009

My husband and I spent five nights at the Gulf View Resort in Marathon. It had everything we needed for a relaxing vacation away from all the tourist traps that Florida is famous for. Our efficiency was accommadating and clean - king size bed, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker and oven, plus a porch area to sit and relax. The staff was super friendly and answered any of our questions. The grounds were maintained and the pool was inviting. It was fun to watch the iguanas and macaws on the premises, not to mention the lizards and crabs. We'll definitely stay there again on our next trip to the Keys.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lighthouse91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
131 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2009

Gulfview was just what I was looking for when I started to plan my trip, peaceful and relaxing!! Our room was clean and the grounds are very well maintained. We loved using the free peddle boats and my son loved the turtles and iguanas. We had the pool to ourselves most evenings. Use of the gas grills was nice. We all enjoyed just laying in the hammocks in the evenings. I would recommend Gulfview to anyone looking for somewhere low key and laid back. If I make it back to the keys again, I will be staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Conwayluvs2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicagoland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2009

The owners are nice & friendly. There were some cool pet birds on the site, a nice clean pool, a picnic area, but no real beach area. The hotel is right next door to the Dolphin Research Center. There are rooms large enough for a family. We had 6 in our group and loved the accomodations.
Not fancy, but very comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzymizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunwoody, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2009

We stayed there in April 2009, based on tripadvisor reviews and price. This is certainly Not a deluxe resort, but it is a good price for the area and clean. The grounds are very well done, and they have a a nice pool and a small dock area with kayaks and canoes you can use. They are walking distance from the Dolphin Research Center.

The minuses- no breakfast, coffee only. The traffic in the area is horrible, but I would guess everything in Marathon suffers from this. It is kind of a hassle to go to and return from anywhere. Our room was small, but it had an outdoor porch with a table and chairs.

In summary, I would stay there again for the value. But if you want a fancy resort, go somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dunwoodydem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
10.5 mi away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
10.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
5.0 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
770 reviews
1.1 mi away
Seashell Beach Resort
Seashell Beach Resort
#10 of 17 in Marathon
265 reviews
10.7 mi away
The Hammocks at Marathon
The Hammocks at Marathon
#8 of 17 in Marathon
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gulf View Waterfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulf View Waterfront Resort

Property: Gulf View Waterfront Resort
Address: 58743 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050-6021
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our small, private and charming property is located at the North end of Marathon on Grassy Key. We offer 11 exceptional units ranging from guest rooms with refrigerators and microwave ovens to efficiencies and one and two bedroom apartments with full kitchens - an accommodation to meet your needs. (We even allow your family pets!) Enjoy the heated pool, one of the largest in the middle keys or go out on our complimentary kayaks, canoes or paddle boats. We provide free WIFI, daily maid service and complimentary coffee and tea each morning. We also have a boat ramp and dockage available.The Gulf View Waterfront Resort has been family owned and operated since 1995. Come stay with us and discover our little piece of paradise.Susan, Mike, Stephanie, Jack & Casey Thank you for your interest in the Gulf View. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gulf View Waterfront Hotel Marathon
Gulf View Waterfront Resort Marathon, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing