We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rainbow Bend Fishing Resort
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 February 2012

If you like old Florida this is the place for you. We just got back from a 2 week stay and had a great time. The rooms are clean and comfortable, they are not new. If you are looking for new and modern this is not the place for you. Make sure you get a room that suites your needs. Some rooms are small. The breakfast is cooked to order. The staff is very friendly and helpful. You can use the boats free, but must pay for the gas. It also has paddle boats and kayaks to use. The beds are a little soft, but not that bad. We will be going back next year. Book early if you need special dates as they fill up fast. Ther were family's with small children and they seemed to be enjoying themselves. The pool was large and clean. There chairs on the beach to use. Each room has its own private patio. We had a great time.

Room Tip: Room 18 is very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skreech-27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (767)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

585 - 591 of 767 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2012

Our visit to Rainbow Bend was wonderful! We thoroughly enjoyed riding the boat in the crystal clear waters just a walk away from our room. The staff was friendly and helpful. We used the outside BBQ for our first night and it was fun to meet other visitors. While I cooked and took in the amazing view my daughter enjoyed the sandbox. Rainbow Bend is a great place for unwinding and making beautiful family memories.

Room Tip: The ocean front rooms are gorgeous
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

My husband and I have been going to Rainbow Bend for years. It's old Keys and that aspect of the Keys (aside from Key West) is disappearing. Rainbow Bend itself is actually on the market for sale. I'm glad the resort survived the housing boom where old resorts were torn down to make room for new developments which actually never transformed. It is expensive, but includes the use of the Boston Whaler (can't sink) so it is worth it. We've staying in a few different rooms and loved the beach one directly next to the pool. You're in an old resort so don't expect 5 star. But that's also what makes it wonderful. Do 2 or more nights. 1 night you must eat in the Hideaway Cafe right there. People staying at the high end Duck Key Marriot drive 20 miles to get to this restaurant. It's excellent and 4 star. We go to the local supermarket for the next nights dinner and do an awesome grill right there on the beach in their huge grill. We have caught our share of loster right off the beach with those Whalers. Kayaks are also free and a lot of fun.

Room Tip: Stop at grocery store and buy a grill dinner for one night and all your wine and alcohol. They do ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

We stayed there in December 2010. The place looks great on the web and seems like a good deal because it includes a rental boat but, surprise the fee for fuel is astronomical and it ends up being a very expensive deal. We were first shown a room facing the back and it smelled so we asked for different room and were upgraded for additional 30 dollar fee to a room facing the beach. The room/apt was OK, kitchen etc. but a bit worn down. We were there and the weather turned cold so we were unable to enjoy the water, the pool is a dirty dump and not heated. The restaurant serves breakfast which was adequate but very dingy and old feeling. A real disappointment, we felt that we were really ripped off.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nktz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

This is our third time at Rainbow Bend, 10 years ago being our first time. It just keeps getting better. This time we brought our dear friends with us and they have loved every minute. The location is just perfect. The room was clean and comfortable. The staff is lovely and helpful. Food is excellent. The next time we come we are bringing the kids and grand kids. They will most definitely fall in love with it too.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BSJ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

My wife, teenage sons and I stayed at the Rainbow Bend Resort for 3 days over the Thanksgiving weekend and had a GREAT time! The location is gorgeous, right on the water. We stayed in an upper, oceanfront suite, with a balcony overlooking the beach and water. The staff are very friendly especially Tony (the waterfront guy) and one of the girls at the front desk (sorry can't remember her name...I should have written sooner). The free motor boats are unbelievable and are worth the price alone. We kayaked to a nearby shipreck and snorkeled (also free) and rode the motor boat to an area where we saw dolphins. Tony even followed us to make sure we didn't get lost! The girl at the front desk, went out of her way to help us find fun local things to do like nightlife, go carts and a tarpon tank. The suite was big and beautiful. We enjoyed the complimentary breakfast at the on-site waterfront restaurant and had a great time using their beachfront BBQ to cook dinner one night. Also, we were about 50 minutes from Key West and spent a great day there as well.

Room Tip: Upper, waterfront suite was incredible!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2011

Stayed here Feb 2011 and had a great time. Room was clean and not to small. Front desk was helpful and nice. Right on the water on the ocean side. beautiful beach to sit out on, or use their kayaks. They also have free boats to use! The Hideaway upstairs has great food and free breakfast was awesome! Can't wait to stay here again! We will be back next year!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank haasracing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
9.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
8.3 mi away
Skipjack Resort Suites & Marina
9.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
10.1 mi away
Lime Tree Bay Resort
4.3 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Bend Fishing Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Bend Fishing Resort

Address: 57784 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050-5626
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Marathon
Price Range: £107 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Rainbow Bend Fishing Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainbow Bend Fishing Hotel Marathon
Rainbow Bend Fishing Resort Marathon, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing