We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome little park”

Curry Hammock State Park
Ranked #12 of 49 things to do in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Easton, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome little park”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We loved everything about this place. Very clean and spacious campground. Hosts and staff are constantly taking care of this place. The bath house is large and offers a dish washing area. Sites are very large too. The beach is smaller, and works if you don't want to travel to go to a better one. The kayaking is fun and very affordable. There is a nice playground and day use area. We hiked the short trail on the other side of the highway which was pretty cool too. Only drawback is that it is very hard to get a reservation here, especially during the holidays ( Even exactly 11 months in advance). For that reason we may not return to this terrific little park.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank cindy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    127
    43
    20
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NE Indiana
Level Contributor
93 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A small park with a typical keys beach”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

A nice beach to go sit in the sun or walk you dog, but typical keys with lots of sea grass and rocky shallows.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank MLSpuds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cudjoe Key, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Small area, but well maintained”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Unfortunately the hiking trail was on the other side of the highway and we never made the trek, but toured the beach and campground areas. It is dog friendly but not on the beach or water. The bathrooms were spotless. There were ample covered picnic areas, kayak and SUP rentals available, and the campground was immaculate and not full (although the sign out front stated it was) Since we had a dog, we took turns checking out the beach area, small, with sandy beach, weedy water. Not sure if they enforce the dog rule, as we saw another dog running amok unleashed and all over the beach. Will come back again to check out the walking trail.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice place to kayak”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We rented kayaks and paddle boards here. There is a loop to kayak around the island but be warned - it is not passable at low tide. There was a large sandbar that is an easy paddle. We saw stingrays and lots of starfish out there. You are charged an entry fee plus rental fees for a 2 hour rental. It was a nice afternoon.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank uncgrad86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Kayaking trip”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We visited the park for a relaxing afternoon. We took a kayak trip around the island and ended up in a beautiful bay. It was great to see the large jellyfish, sea turtles and other wildlife in the area. Trip takes about 2 hours. The park was clean but did not check out anything else. It is a little expensive but worth the time. We will go again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BigManinHomestead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Curry Hammock State Park also viewed

Marathon, Florida Keys
Marathon, Florida Keys
 

Been to Curry Hammock State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing