We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than we expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

The room was even nicer than the photos! Great place to plop down and relax. This is a gem of a resort; private white sand beach, great decor and cozy rooms. Kitchen was nice and we even had a washer/dryer. It's worth the extra $ for a beachfront room. You step out and literally the beach is at your back door. We were not bothered by the iguanas that people have mentioned. Conveniently located in the middle of the Keys. Key West was less than and hour drive and Largo as well.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,415)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,916 - 1,922 of 3,415 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2013

My fiance and I stayed for one night with my 2 sisters and their boyfriends and I can tell you that not one of us was disappointed or unimpressed with this place. The 3 bedroom house is HUGE and incredibly beautiful. The kitchen is perfectly stocked with appliances and kitchen tools and big enough for everyone to cook at their heart's desire. Every single one of us slept great and couldn't stop gushing about that uber comfortable bed and heavenly pillows. Best nights sleep I've gotten in a while! The "beach" was lovely and welcoming and, even though it was a bit windy out, the pool was begging to be dipped into. I loved the standing shower of the master bath, the large yet cozy balcony in the bedroom overlooking the property and pool and the relaxing porch that was well kept and just so relaxing. I would definitely recommend this property to everyone. We are already trying to plan our trip back!

Room Tip: The three bedroom was a bargain and big enough to hold 6 people comfortably.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AngieG1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I had a great time at this resort. I was a bit concerned when reading some of the reviews because I can be a bit picky when it comes to hotels as well as getting a good value for your buck and since Key West can be expensive I wanted to make sure I got the right place. My first priority in finding a place to stay was the size of the unit. I am a strong believer in having a comfortable space for guest, If anyone ever wanted to separate themselves for an hour to themselves they wouldn't get a feeling of claustrophobia in the room. This place was great it had two floors both bedrooms on the 2nd floor were very clean and a great size for a hotel. A front porch and back porch for you to relax by and the property was very clean. We had plenty of space to relax and get away from each other when needed. Distance to restaurants were good and we had plenty of options available and a big grocery store 5 mins away. We were truly comfortable.

Make sure you check if the resort fee is included when you book. I booked from hotels.com and the resort fee was included with the price. I made sure to confirm at check in that the resort fee was already included in the price I paid when I booked, they confirmed it was. At check out they tried to charge me the fee again I brought it to their attention and they apologized so be careful and read before you sign during check out

Room Tip: Make sure you check if the resort fee is included when you book. I booked from hotels.com and the re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guish25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Checked into the resort on 11/1, checked out on 11/3. Had a 3 bedroom, two story town home facing the golf put course, very near the pool. BEAUTIFUL! A wonderful deck outside the master bedroom on the 2nd floor, facing the ocean. The entire suite was spotlessly clean, huge and contained all the amenities offered Upon checking in, I went for a stroll and came across the Tiki Bar where I had met Alex and my apologies for not remembering, a woman named Margaret? Both were extremely pleasant folks to deal with! They answered all my questions and both with big smiles. I commented to them that they seemed very happy, beyond most bar folks I've met before. Their response, was "How can we not be happy working here?" The next day, my two Uncles stopped for a visit, I took them to the Tiki Hut where Alex was working again, and another gentleman, Jeff. Once again, outstanding service, very polite, courteous and beyond accommodating! The Tiki Hut is right there on the beach, close to the water sports hut where you can rent jet skis, kayaks, etc. The prices might seem a bit high, but it is a first class, five star operation all the way! Will for SURE be returning and will recommend this treasure to everyone! THANK YOU TRANQUILITY BAY FOR A LOVELY AND AMAZING STAY!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the ocean are the best. Rooms facing the road, are still very nice, but you can hear a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ExcaliburMarathon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We were looking for a quick getaway from Fort Lauderdale. The grounds are meticulously well kept (like Disney World), beautifully landscaped, the rooms were very spacious. We could have invited another couple. It had a modern kitchen, clean furnishings and two very nice balconies. I called after seeing an on-line ad. They offered the room at $329 and said it was a special AAA reduced price. It wasn't until I mentioned the on-line price of $279 that they offered it to me... so beware. Nice and relaxing, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Clean, Quiet, tropical and an okay value
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chhoward3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Due to an unexpected delay, we checked in at 10:30 p.m. on a week night. We requested a late check out because we were scuba diving at 8 a.m. the next morning. We were told to check back in the morning. At 7 a.m., we were told they could not permit a late checkout. I feel that no effort whatsoever was made to accomodate our need. I find it hard to believe that they could not push the cleaning of our one unit back a couple hours to allow us to shower and see the facilities during the day. In addition, they were very short with me.

We travel frequently and I will not visit this resort in the future. Very disappointed. I was really looking forward to seeing the resort. I changed our reservation at the last minute because it looked so special.

Room Tip: Don't expect great customer service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Betsy612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

From the reviews, I was expecting much better.

Houses are beautiful , but there is no beach and the service from staff is average. For such resort and price, I was expecting much more. I also agree with JOanned1998 comment on the iguanas, very big and excrementing all over…and no staff to clean up. The furniture by the pool was old, people left drinks by the pool, on tables…not very clean.

Not a four star at all.

Room Tip: The beach is non existent: it is small and filled with algae and weeds. Hence everyone goes into the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sofia b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
0.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
5.3 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
798 reviews
19.6 mi away
Lime Tree Bay Resort
12.8 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4,849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort

Address: 2600 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050-2243
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Marathon
Price Range: £195 - £780 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort located in Marathon Florida, the heart of the Florida Keys. Here you will find more than unrivaled peace and seclusion on your Florida Keys resort vacation, while overlooking the sparkling waters of the Gulf of Mexico. Sink into serenity with one of our unique two or three bedroom beach houses. Our spacious Marathon Florida resort beach houses have 2 or 3 bedrooms, 2 plus baths, gourmet kitchens, expansive porches overlooking the water, flat screen TVs, and handmade furniture, offering an idyllic Florida Keys resort experience nestled in a tropical oasis of calm and ease. Now you can also discover the addition of luxury single-level "Tropical Garden Guestrooms" which offer more intimate accommodations than the resort's larger beach houses. Enjoy all of the amenities of Tranquility Bay Resort with more affordable luxury in mind, and tropical garden views.Next, try award winning dining at Butterfly Cafe, a 2.5 acre white sand beach, world class fishing, diving, snorkeling and water sports, three tropical swimming pools, and our beachfront TJ's Tiki Bar, all framed by 12 acres of picturesque gardens. Located just 90 miles south of Miami and 45 miles north of historic Key West, Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort is easily reached by car or plane. Boasting delicious dining, Florida Keys' attractions, plus a nearby Championship 18-hole golf course, tennis courts, state parks with incredible beaches, protected waters for diving and some of the best sport fishing in the world, you can define your own paradise at our unique vacation destination in the Florida Keys. Find your center in the Middle Keys at Tranquility Bay Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tranquility Bay Beach House Hotel Marathon
Tranquility Bay Beach Resort
Tranquility Bay Beach Hotel
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort Marathon, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing