We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A VERY PLEASANT WEEK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Others have given many details about Tranquility Bay, so I'll just say we thoroughly enjoyed our week-long stay in mid Dec. Our two bedroom/two bath unit was very comfortable and had everything we needed. Yes, the bedrooms and bathrooms are very small, but that was a small detail since everything else about the accommodations and our stay was great. We found the staff very friendly and helpful. We were surprised that we had maid service every day which was very nice!
For those who complained about the on-site beach, Sombrero Beach is a very short distance across to the other side, is a gorgeous beach, very nicely planned with beach grasses in front, easy parking.
We had two very good seafood meals at Burdine's, a typical, casual Key's waterfront restaurant with lots of "local color". Fun! We wanted to go to Castaways, which also sounded very good and fun, but time ran out.
The four or us are "birders", and we knew it would be a slow time of the year, but we did see the white-crowned pigeon. A day of birding in Key West was more productive.

Room Tip: Our unit had a bit of water view from the porch, through the Palms, beyond the the little putting gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stewlouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,536)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,949 - 1,955 of 3,536 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2014

We stayed at Tranquility Bay between Christmas and New Year, and overall we had a nice stay. Our townhouse had 2 levels; the living room, full kitchen and half bath was on the main level. The second level had 2 bedrooms (1 has a king bed, the other 2 twins) and 2 full baths. It was perfect for us, our daughter and son. The back door of our unit (#30) was just steps away from the main pool (we never heard any noises from the pool). The a/c worked perfectly.
Check-in was very easy and efficient. Parking is self-park, and if you have a lot of luggage, you have to borrow a cart, there is no bellman to help.
The property was always clean, not a speck of trash anywhere. People did bring food to the tables by the pool but as soon as they'd leave the tables would be cleaned. The pool was always clean as well. The beach is small and pretty, with lounge chairs by the water, however the water is full of seaweed, not suitable for swimming, a few areas cleared for wading your feet. There are jet skis for rent by the beach; even if you're not looking to rent any, it's worth going to the dock with your kids. Under the dock lives lobsters which often come out looking for food. My kids were entertained for an hour watching not only them, but we also saw an octopus and puffer fish.
There is no breakfast served on the property, which was ok with us since we had a full kitchen we just ate in the unit. The Tiki Hut serves lunch and dinner and the food was good. We had fish tacos, pizza and sandwiches there, always good, service ok. They also have the Butterfly Cafe, dinner only, which is a lovely restaurant serving delicious food.
What we didn't like about this place was housekeeping. They only clean your room once every 4 days, and the floors had a lot of dirt and sand build up over those 4 days. They give you pool towels in your room; there are no pool towels by the pools, and they are of very poor quality. You can only use them once; they won't absorb any more water after one use. If you need to change them out, you have to call the front desk, which we had to several times, and there was always some problem with getting them. Room towels were the same, always a problem getting new towels, they weren't available or still being cleaned. We had one day where we were told we'd get new towels in 1 hour and it was 2 3/4 hours.
Our feeling is this: we paid top dollar for our unit, we should get housekeeping once a day, pool towels should be readily available by the pool, and we should be given extra towels in the bathrooms so that we're not having to call and beg for them.
The location of the hotel is not great; it's in a commercial corridor near Florida's electric company. Most of the restaurants we enjoy, like those is Islamorada, are about a 30-40 minute drive away.
We liked Tranquility Bay overall, I'm glad we stayed here, but I'm not sure we'd stay here again. Too much hassle getting towels, and the location is not prime.

Room Tip: Room 30 is steps away from the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheZackClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Tranquility Bay. This place is beautiful -grounds are well-groomed.
Villa was perfect - so comfortable for our family of 6 including our 2 year old grandchild. The children's pool was perfect and was warm on the one cold day we encountered. Beach was very nice to make sand castles but was smelly sometimes although I think that is common in the keys.

We actually loved the iguana's and found them to be a pleasure to watch.

Only issue we had was with housekeeping and is the same problem that past reviewers have complained about.

We did eat and drink at the Tiki Bar and everything was great.

We would definitely go again as it was a perfect place for a family gathering.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GrammyT_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

What a lovely, clean, new townhouse we rented with a full kitchen, 2.5 baths, 2 bedrooms on the beach. Heated pool and great restaurant, with water activities for rent. Staff was extremely helpful and responsive. Not a good swimming beach on the Gulf side but GREAT place.

Room Tip: Sometimes seaweed smell on swimming beach is strong- ask for a different area of rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melindablendah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

The name of this place is Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort. When I hear resort, I think of a property with lots of services catering to people wanting to lounge and hang out at the property. Things like towel service, drink service on the beach or by the pool, umbrellas by the pool, breakfast buffets, concierge, valet parking, bell hops, etc.

Sadly, none of these exist at Tranquility Bay. There is no one to help with luggage when you arrive. You self park in a designated area. I’m sure there were luggage carts, but I didn’t see any.

Our room was very clean. No complaints there. We even had maid service every day. She regularly replaced our worn-out pool towels. (I agree with the poster who said they should be used for washing cars!) Our beds were made and floors mopped. The bedrooms are tiny, tiny as are the bathrooms.

The porches were nice as well. I was impressed with how quiet the other guests were on their patios each morning. Unfortunately, we were next to the large children’s pool and could hear the screaming inside our unit. I have two children, and I can honestly say that they have never screamed as loud as the children there.

I agree with several other posters that the beach is not usable. The sulfuric smell was at times unbearable, even by the adult pool. We did not experience children at that pool, but there weren’t enough chairs. Absolutely full the day we went. I was amazed that there were no umbrellas or drink service. The Tiki Bar was fine. Alex was really fun to talk to. We met lots of people there and most seem to be of the opinion that they would not return to this property. Oh, there are no bathrooms at the Tiki Bar or near the pool or beach.

There isn’t a lot for teenagers to do. The pool is quite shallow with young children everywhere. We booked snorkeling, scuba, and fishing trips so that we were away from the property most of the time. The expense was very high.

About the food. There is no breakfast restaurant. We had Christmas dinner at the Butterfly Café. When you walked into the restaurant, the display of shrimp and oysters was very impressive. That was the best part. I had turkey, which was underdone and nearly raw in one place. The prime rib was, well, overcooked is the best description I can come up with. The meal was so bad that we did not return to this restaurant, even though we did not want to drive to dinner each night.

For the price of this place and the services received, we will not be returning.

Room Tip: Rooms that are by the pool are quite loud during the day with children screaming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Ttttraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We have been taking a Christmas trip instead of a big "Christmas" with our 3 teenagers the last 3-4 years. This year we didn't do as good a job of planning our trip & ended up at Tranquility Bay in Marathon Key, Fla. The pros: comfortable beds, plenty of room,kitchen, nice pools, beautiful view from beach, tiki bar on beach area & on site rentals for paddleboard, waverunner & boats. Cons: no southern hospitality from the employees, thin walls, housekeeping every 3 days & yes, we also had to go to office to get more tp & soap .Also, the "ocean toys" on-site rental is not run by the resort and were understaffed, to handle post Christmas travellers. Luckily, there is a restaurant on the premises, which is probably one of the best in Marathon. The town itself is a little depressing & run down. Most of the other restaurants are big, move em in & move em out, which we became quickly tired of. Overall, we would rate this as only good, based on the High Price and the cons listed above..

Room Tip: The units are attached & we did have an end unit. However, we did hear screams & crying from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maxnmillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

How would you like the opportunity to spend $540 per night and take our your own trash? Or get your own soap? Or go to the front desk for more shampoo and toilet paper? If you would this place is for you. We rented a room with 2 queen beds for 4 night to the tune of more than $500 per night. I would hope for this kind of price you would get some sort of housekeeping. Nope. Out of the 4 days we were there we had some type of housekeeping 2 days and one of those was because we begged the lady to come to our place. She told us that they have to make up the rooms that are checking out first before they can get to any other rooms. Clearly they are short staffed. The room brochure says they provide "light housekeeping" but I think this actually means no house keeping whatsoever. We were traveling with very young kids who are usually pretty resistant to cold pools but the small pool next to our place was FREEZING!. Obviously did not bother to heat it well if at all. The saving grace was the larger pool which was a little better temperature. It seems recently constructed so the grounds are beautiful and the rooms are as well. We found our room very clean and the beds very comfortable. It was very quiet as well. Overall this place is way overpriced for the service but the price is reasonable for the accommodations. I think this would be an easy fix. Hire some more housekeepers and heat your pool for 500 a night!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nyckk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
0.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
5.3 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Skipjack Resort Suites & Marina
19.6 mi away
Lime Tree Bay Resort
5.4 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort

Address: 2600 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050-2243
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Marathon
Price Range: £224 - £663 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort located in Marathon Florida, the heart of the Florida Keys. Here you will find more than unrivaled peace and seclusion on your Florida Keys resort vacation, while overlooking the sparkling waters of the Gulf of Mexico. Sink into serenity with one of our unique two or three bedroom beach houses. Our spacious Marathon Florida resort beach houses have 2 or 3 bedrooms, 2 plus baths, gourmet kitchens, expansive porches overlooking the water, flat screen TVs, and handmade furniture, offering an idyllic Florida Keys resort experience nestled in a tropical oasis of calm and ease. Now you can also discover the addition of luxury single-level "Tropical Garden Guestrooms" which offer more intimate accommodations than the resort's larger beach houses. Enjoy all of the amenities of Tranquility Bay Resort with more affordable luxury in mind, and tropical garden views.Next, try award winning dining at Butterfly Cafe, a 2.5 acre white sand beach, world class fishing, diving, snorkeling and water sports, three tropical swimming pools, and our beachfront TJ's Tiki Bar, all framed by 12 acres of picturesque gardens. Located just 90 miles south of Miami and 45 miles north of historic Key West, Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort is easily reached by car or plane. Boasting delicious dining, Florida Keys' attractions, plus a nearby Championship 18-hole golf course, tennis courts, state parks with incredible beaches, protected waters for diving and some of the best sport fishing in the world, you can define your own paradise at our unique vacation destination in the Florida Keys. Find your center in the Middle Keys at Tranquility Bay Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tranquility Bay Beach House Hotel Marathon
Tranquility Bay Beach Resort
Tranquility Bay Beach Hotel
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort Marathon, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing