We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Located on Marathon, Tranquility Bay Resort is just far enough down that it makes a great weekend getaway. The property is beautiful and we found no reason to leave during our weekend stay. There is no breakfast on property, but there is a good local place a half mile away and it is an easy walk. Dinner at the Butterfly Cafe is highly recommended.

One bit of advice, if you arrive late in the evening (after 10 p.m.) you will find nothing open in the surrounding area. Stop and eat prior or bring something! Marathon apparently is no a late night type of town!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,536)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,798 - 1,804 of 3,536 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

This resort is just fabulous, we truly loved everything about it. Absolutely amazing suite which we made the most of us, and walk across our little garden to the pool, where we were entertained by the iguanas. Or take a stroll down the path to the beach. Lovely little Tiki bar.

I could not find anything wrong with Tranquility and would have to say it certainly lives up to its name, this resort alone made our tour of the Florida Keys very special.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

We celebrated our 20th anniversary. We stayed in guest room 106. All was as promised. I am very picky and I was not disappointed.

If you want calm classy clean and quiet stay here.

There are two cuban places within walking distance.

Snorkeled in lagoon and saw lots of sea critters and fish.

Great to chill in a lounge chair in lagoon or at smaller pool near guest rooms.

We avoided family area pool but it looked like families were having fun.

I'd go back in a heartbeat.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Margaret E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This little haven off the highway is aptly named. It is truly a tranquil and relaxing setting in the Florida Keys. We had opted to stay in Marathon instead of Key West, because we wanted a quieter setting. This is it. We were lucky to get a great deal on a 2 bedroom villa from Expedia. It was lovely. There was a fully equipped kitchen and the master bedroom was very comfortable. There were 2 and a half baths which was nice to have so that when you came back from swimming you did not have to wait for the shower. There was a spacious living room with a large screen TV and outside on the first level was a small patio. There was also a nice patio on the second floor outside the Master bedroom. There are two pools, one being an adults' only pool, although there was a parent who had a young child in it one day. They did get out when several more adults came into the pool. There are always rule breakers! The whole setting is lush and tropical. The only downside of the resort is that it is not located on the ocean side but rather on the Gulf side. You really could not swim in the Gulf because there was a lot of sea grass. Overall, it was a very relaxing and positive experience. This is a beautiful property. It is so well maintained both inside and out. It is definitely worth the price, even without a deal!

Room Tip: Choose a 2 or 3 bedroom villa. It is worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aries2748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I am extremely picky and we loved Tranqulity Bay! Room was very clean, smelled new! Great area to stay in. Marathon is a top choice for modern aminities while still in paradise. This place is a perfect 10. The only thing I would add to put it over the top is a hot tub under the sunset gazebo. I highly recommend you check this place out. Great for families and couples.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank knacrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

You work hard, you give your time and energy to everyone all year and now you have a little time off so you can travel to the Florida Keys. You need a place to stay and have a lot of options. I was just that kind of person and I was shopping for a great place at a reasonable price. I looked on Key West, Key Largo, and everywhere in between, but then I saw Tranquility Bay. I was considering a cheaper place, when a little voice in my mind told me I should splurge that extra little difference in price and stay at Tranquility Bay. TB lived up to every aspect of its name. It has beautiful wood everywhere - white beadboard, white siding, white wood railings and fences, and rich hardwood floors. It is a gorgeous place!

We rented from May 3 to May 10th, and we rented #79 - the 3 bdrm/2.5 bath townhouse classified as a "waterview" unit. The waterview unit is less expensive than the beachfront, but they are within about 12 steps of each other, and the waterview is actually closer to the water than the beachfront. There are a variety of unit sizes (2bdrm, bdrm, etc)

Our unit #79 had two balconies looking over the water, a boardwalk & dock overlooking a small inlet, a large open layout, beautiful kitchen with granite counters and stainless appliances, a lovely décor, nice washrooms, and an in-unit washer/dryer. The beds were comfortable; the linens were luxurious, the toiletries were nice quality, and the A/C system was great.

One thing that was a little odd was that each bedroom had a TV & DVD, but there was also a webcam in each room. It might be good for TB to mention what the deal is with the webcams - we covered them just to be sure - not that we are conspiracy theorists or anything but it was creepy.

Tranquility Bay is located around mile marker 57 on Marathon Key so it is about 1 hour from Key Largo and 1 hour from Key West. Key West is a much busier, much more touristy spot, but Marathon Key is wonderful, more quiet, with a laid-back style.

We spent a day at Sombrero Beach which is a great local beach within about 5 minutes drive from TB. There is a Publix and CVS just a block or so from the resort. There are several decent restaurants nearby, and the restaurant at Tranquility Bay was wonderful. A dive shop was only about 10 minutes away, and they were great to deal with for our snorkel trip.

The property has a host of friendly wildlife around the grounds. A turtle would swim around the little inlet in front of our unit, a large iguana loved to sun himself on the dock or trees, small salamanders ran around, and a few cats visit decks now and then.

The staff at the Tranquility Bay front desk and restaurant were professional, friendly, and efficient. Check-in was prompt. Housekeeping was good. We had a drink at the Tiki bar by the beach - I had the Blueberry Mojito, but don't bother, it wasn't very good. Friendly barkeep, but bland drink.

The beach area is absolutely tiny at the resort and there was a fair amount of seaweed in the shallow area in front of the beachfront houses. The beach was fine for cooling off, and you could see fish swimming around because the water was so clear. May is still considered part of their winter season so the winds push seaweed into shore on the Gulf side. TB installed a "seaweed fence" in front of the beach area to reduce the seaweed and it seemed to be helping.

The house had a few pots, dishes, cutlery, etc. It could use a few more kitchen supplies, and it would be nice if the unit had salt and pepper and a few spices. The fridge has ice and water dispenser, and the kitchen has a dishwasher. Beach towels were provided and the deck had Adirondack chairs.

The sand on the beach is white and soft and beautiful, and when you are lying on one of the many available beach loungers looking out at the gorgeous 81 degree aquamarine ocean gently lapping on the shore, you will graciously thank that smart little voice in your head that told you to claim a few days in paradise to restore your body and spirit.

Room Tip: They have spa service, but I didn't try it. We didn't use room service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Spent one week in a 2 bedroom unit overlooking the gulf via a time share exchange. I woke up in the morning looking out my window at this lovely view without even taking my head off the pillow! Large enough for 2 couples. Nicely kept grounds. Large beach - they do have a seaweed problem though! No big deal - there are other beaches in the area. Great pools. One is adult only!!! Helpful staff.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunapee17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
0.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
5.3 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Skipjack Resort Suites & Marina
19.6 mi away
Lime Tree Bay Resort
5.4 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort

Address: 2600 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050-2243
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Marathon
Price Range: £224 - £663 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort located in Marathon Florida, the heart of the Florida Keys. Here you will find more than unrivaled peace and seclusion on your Florida Keys resort vacation, while overlooking the sparkling waters of the Gulf of Mexico. Sink into serenity with one of our unique two or three bedroom beach houses. Our spacious Marathon Florida resort beach houses have 2 or 3 bedrooms, 2 plus baths, gourmet kitchens, expansive porches overlooking the water, flat screen TVs, and handmade furniture, offering an idyllic Florida Keys resort experience nestled in a tropical oasis of calm and ease. Now you can also discover the addition of luxury single-level "Tropical Garden Guestrooms" which offer more intimate accommodations than the resort's larger beach houses. Enjoy all of the amenities of Tranquility Bay Resort with more affordable luxury in mind, and tropical garden views.Next, try award winning dining at Butterfly Cafe, a 2.5 acre white sand beach, world class fishing, diving, snorkeling and water sports, three tropical swimming pools, and our beachfront TJ's Tiki Bar, all framed by 12 acres of picturesque gardens. Located just 90 miles south of Miami and 45 miles north of historic Key West, Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort is easily reached by car or plane. Boasting delicious dining, Florida Keys' attractions, plus a nearby Championship 18-hole golf course, tennis courts, state parks with incredible beaches, protected waters for diving and some of the best sport fishing in the world, you can define your own paradise at our unique vacation destination in the Florida Keys. Find your center in the Middle Keys at Tranquility Bay Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tranquility Bay Beach House Hotel Marathon
Tranquility Bay Beach Resort
Tranquility Bay Beach Hotel
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort Marathon, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing