We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice time a few little tweaks to make it perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Centennial, Colorado
Level Contributor
564 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“Very nice time a few little tweaks to make it perfect”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We checked in on a Friday night after a long, busy, sun filled day in Key West. Whew we were tired. The check-in was easy. Front desk pleasant enough.

The 2 bedroom villa we had was just right. It was updated, had great space and everything we needed. One thing they should add is a way to come and go from the back door. You either had to leave your villa unlocked or go all the way around the front to go to the pool or the beach. The other issue was the thermostat. For a newish property they should have digital thermostats. The unit was either way too cold or too warm. I would have liked to pick a temperature and have it set there, rather than having to guess at what the little dimmer switch might do.

I do wish the Tiki bar had more options. We were too tired for a sit down at Butterfly but wanted more than just nachos at the tiki bar.

First night we noticed that the balcony lights stayed on all night making it pretty bright for sleeping. We were so tired that we slept just fine. The second night, we looked a bit harder and even made a call to the front desk about the lights, still no luck. The thing that was supposed to control the lights on the balcony must not have been working. We learned from the Turtle Hospital next door, that lights off at night are a must for the turtles. I did mention this at check-out, so hopefully they fixed it.

The other issue at night was that the people next door to us, sat out late on their porch, which is about 3 feet from our bedroom window. They way the villas sit, they can not see in, but you can certainly hear noisy voices. Some earplugs helped. It was not that Tranquil at 11:30 pm. one of our nights.

Speaking of tranquil. The pool area was beautiful but anything but tranquil. Very noisy young children playing noisy pool games for hours. One family even gave their children whistles. We were traveling with our kids who are 11 and 13. They are beyond the yelling, crying, shrieking age, but too young for the tranquil pool. The beach area was better, much more tranquil.

I would also like to have had bar service at the pool. With this much rowdy behavior, I would think they'd make a killing.

The clientele when we were there consisted of young international travelling families. Ours is a quieter family with older kids. There were really no kids for them to play with, maybe the time of year, not sure.

We also wondered about recycling. There was one receptacle for everything. I would have liked to have a recycle bin and trash separate. They have signs about reusing your towels to save water, but what about recycling?

I'm not 100% sure if I'd stay again or not. There were some really great things about it, but for that price it should be 100% perfect. The view is terrific, it's just the right angle for the sunset.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank webtravelreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,171
    634
    245
    121
    78
See reviews for
1,695
871
29
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (834)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lookout Mountain, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Just spent 5 days at Tranquility Bay and cannot say enough about this fantastic property. The condo style rooms were fantastic, clean, and well furnished. We stayed in unit 46 and it was perfect for a family of 4. My kids loved searching for fish and crabs in the beach lagoon, hanging out at the tiki bar, and swimming in the giant salt water pool. A perfect location for sunset watching and enjoying the beauty of the sea. My son wished he had brought his fishing pole. We visited the Turtle Hospital, Dolphin Research Center on Grassy, Key West, the Diving History Museum, and went for a snorkeling trip with STARFISH .. a great holiday. Publix grocery and redbox made life easy while there. Favorite places to eat - Tops was Island Fish Co.. great outdoor eating.. Have fun!

Room Tip: Ask for beach front it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 73JennyW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Grande, Florida
Level Contributor
176 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed here for one night on our way down to Key West for the weekend and I am beyond excited that I found this spot! Thanks to Trip Advisor and all of the awesome reviews online I know we picked the right place. They recently added rooms similar to a "basic" hotel room which was perfect for our one night stay. The prices here are extremely reasonable and well worth every dollar spent. Our room was one of the nicest rooms we have EVER stayed at during all of our travels. The cleanliness was well above any expectations anyone would or could ever have staying at a resort. When we walked into our room the only thing we could say was, "wow..". The views around the hotel property were breathtakingly beautiful, we watched one of the nicest sunsets while enjoying cocktails at the Tiki Bar with friends. The main pool area was simply amazing, perfect for adults and children. The snack we ordered at the Tiki Bar was also very tasty, along with great drinks. The bartender was extremely friendly and polite, we had an overall amazing experience. The only negative comment I could even mention was when checking in the girl behind the front desk seemed to forget her SMILE and friendly personality before arriving to work that day. We also over heard guests complaining about the same employee. It would have been nice to been told more about the hotel/resort instead of just being handed our room keys. The gentlemen behind the front desk during our check out was extremely welcoming and polite, so it must not have been the training. I will 100 percent recommend this resort to anyone and everyone, and we look forward to coming back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ErinLee13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miramar, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Recently stayed at this hotel and experienced one of the best services ever. The manager, Bob was very polite to me and the whole crew that was staying with me as we were shooting a swimwear catalogue. We were a crew of 9 people and we all have nothing but positive comments about this place. Also, the name says it all, it is a peaceful place perfect to relax by the pool or drink at the Tiki bar by the ocean.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcofonseca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The best beach front accommodation in the keys. Great pool for the kids but an even better pool for the adults with no kids. Great to have direct access to the sea from your room. Our third time and we will return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Three generations stayed here and we all loved it!
The 21 year old loved the beach and everything !
The 53 & 52 year olds loved everything!
The 75 year old loved it also.
WE loved how friendly everyone was and definitely we will return and hopefully we can stay longer.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millersburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed at Tranquility Bay for a week with our family. We had a three bedroom near the water/inlet. Amazing sunsets. GREAT restaurant onsite. We will be visiting again just hubby and I. Staff great, nice location, clean and just tranquil. Hence the name Tranquility bay!!

Room Tip: Get a room near the inlet where it is very quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dmilbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
5.4 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
0.5 mi away
The Hammocks at Marathon
The Hammocks at Marathon
#8 of 17 in Marathon
317 reviews
12.8 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort

Property: Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Address: 2600 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050-2243
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort located in Marathon Florida, the heart of the Florida Keys. Here you will find more than unrivaled peace and seclusion on your Florida Keys resort vacation, while overlooking the sparkling waters of the Gulf of Mexico. Sink into serenity with one of our unique two or three bedroom beach houses. Our spacious Marathon Florida resort beach houses have 2 or 3 bedrooms, 2 plus baths, gourmet kitchens, expansive porches overlooking the water, flat screen TVs, and handmade furniture, offering an idyllic Florida Keys resort experience nestled in a tropical oasis of calm and ease. Now you can also discover the addition of luxury single-level "Tropical Garden Guestrooms" which offer more intimate accommodations than the resort's larger beach houses. Enjoy all of the amenities of Tranquility Bay Resort with more affordable luxury in mind, and tropical garden views.Next, try award winning dining at Butterfly Cafe, a 2.5 acre white sand beach, world class fishing, diving, snorkeling and water sports, three tropical swimming pools, and our beachfront TJ's Tiki Bar, all framed by 12 acres of picturesque gardens. Located just 90 miles south of Miami and 45 miles north of historic Key West, Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort is easily reached by car or plane. Boasting delicious dining, Florida Keys' attractions, plus a nearby Championship 18-hole golf course, tennis courts, state parks with incredible beaches, protected waters for diving and some of the best sport fishing in the world, you can define your own paradise at our unique vacation destination in the Florida Keys. Find your center in the Middle Keys at Tranquility Bay Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tranquility Bay Beach House Hotel Marathon
Tranquility Bay Beach Resort
Tranquility Bay Beach Hotel
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort Marathon, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing