We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor housekeeping”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed in a three bedroom beach house. One of the guest bedroom's floor was not cleaned when we moved in. It was not on the second day... We had to call front desk to replace our wet/used towels. We stayed in different hotels from Vermont to California, never ever had to do our dishes. Here, the housekeeping is not doing it for you:( "You are welcome to put them into the dishwasher" as the front desk told to me when I called them. For $400???? Really???
They did not replace paper towel, sugar, etc. for coffee, empty the trash unless we called front desk.
Very nice property, good pools, excellent restaurant, but they need to improve housekeeping. We came here to relax, not to do dishes and definitely, we should not supervise the cleaning crew. They should not try to be our friends, clearly, they will not be. They should serve us with out any phone calls to the front desk.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mariann19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,460)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,686 - 1,692 of 3,461 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed in June. Comfortable and spacious town home. Easy access to beach, pool, Tiki Bar and sunsets. We drove all over the a Keys and with this as our home base the outings were perfect. All adults and kids slept well. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ami K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We did not get to stay at the ACUAL resort, but it looked very nice, comfortable, and convenient. The beach was great. We were on the beach because the tiki bar seating was there, and that was where we were eating. Now, about the beach. There were cdoos (water scooters) that looked fun. The sand was white and soft. But, the acual food was great too. It was very yummy. I wish we stayed at the resort!!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Ola G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We reserved one of the rooms in the new section, so not one of the villas. Our reservation was for a Friday check in for two nights. We were not able to get access to the room until almost 5:00 on Friday. They did say they would give us a later check out on Sunday, 12:00 instead of 11:00.
The room was very good, large with a balcony that had two chairs. A small table would have been very beneficial. The bathroom was a nice size too.
The room did have a small fridge and micro so no complaints about the room. The property is lovely and the restaurant excellent although they don't serve breakfast.
The biggest problem is the service. Room service did not come around to clean room until after 4:00. The beach towels that are given with the room were pitiful. They looked like my cleaning rags.
The tiki bar is great but for this price their should be some beach service and at least a bathroom rather than have to go back to the hotel.
Sunday morning we found we were locked out of our rooms right after 11:00. When we called the desk we were told to come to the desk and they would fix our keys. Really? How about bringing us new keys since you messed up.
Used to love this place but they definitely need to improve their services, get more cleaning crews, invest in some towels and change the front desk attitude!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank diannemcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed at this resort during our visit to the Keys. It was a good midway stay with lots to do in Marathon and half way down the keys on the way to Key West. What a wonderful play to stay. Beautiful grounds and terrific rooms. We had a two story, three bedroom condo steps from the pool and we loved every minute of our stay. Great service, nice pool, and gorgeous beach with a lot of beach activities. Also, an excellent restaurant. We'd love to return.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank SJWanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Tranquility Bay is a beautiful resort. The accommodations - basically small townhouses - are absolutely fabulous. We stayed in a two floor home, with balconies on each floor. The units are clean, well-furnished and the beds are ultra-comfy. The kitchenette allows you to eat in, if you'd like.
The grounds are lovely, but the "beach" isn't good for much of anything other than wading, That's not a problem at all, though: Sombrero Beach, a cozy local beach, is only a 5 minute drive away, and Bahia Honda State Park - with a gorgeous beach - is maybe 15 minutes away.

Our favorite part of the day was walking down to the Tiki Bar, right on the water, for a couple of drinks while watching the spectacular sunsets - just beautiful.

The restaurant on the premises is really good, though expensive. We had the grouper, cooked in panko breadcrumbs, and it was absolutely delicious.

The activities mentioned on the web-site are contracted out to other vendors. There were, for example, no 'sunset cruises' being offered while we were there, and they would not commit to a snorkeling trip because they wouldn't go out unless a minimum number of people signed up. No problem there, though, as the front desk recommended other options which worked out for us. Similarly, there is no "spa" on site - massages also are contracted out. Again, no problem - we enjoyed a really nice couples massage in our room. Just things you should know; it didn't detract at all from our very enjoyable stay there.

Room Tip: We asked for a room near the Relaxation Pool, rather than by the Family Pool, and it was very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank W C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The property is very nice, everything appears clean and new. The cats were an interesting story, I love cats so it was pretty neat. The room was amazing, large, clean, comfortable with great king size bed. Bathroom had separate tub and shower and nice soaps. Adult pool was nice and quiet, beach area was ok, not a fan of the barriers in the water but understand a need to keep sea grass out. Did not eat there as it looked pretty pricey, there are plenty of great restaurants close by. We only stayed one day so did not have time to do an resort activities, seems not much is included. We got a great price on the web so I think it was reasonable, if I had to pay full price I may not give 5-stars. The only other item is checkout is at 11, if you want to extend it costs extra which seems unreasonable for this type resort. They did say we could use the facilities all day so we came back after our scuba trip thinking to shower in the gym but our key did not work. Someone let us in but it is very small, one unisex bathroom, no towels so we just changed and left.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FloridaTrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
0.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
5.3 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Skipjack Resort Suites & Marina
19.6 mi away
Lime Tree Bay Resort
12.8 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4,850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort

Address: 2600 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050-2243
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Marathon
Price Range: £185 - £696 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort located in Marathon Florida, the heart of the Florida Keys. Here you will find more than unrivaled peace and seclusion on your Florida Keys resort vacation, while overlooking the sparkling waters of the Gulf of Mexico. Sink into serenity with one of our unique two or three bedroom beach houses. Our spacious Marathon Florida resort beach houses have 2 or 3 bedrooms, 2 plus baths, gourmet kitchens, expansive porches overlooking the water, flat screen TVs, and handmade furniture, offering an idyllic Florida Keys resort experience nestled in a tropical oasis of calm and ease. Now you can also discover the addition of luxury single-level "Tropical Garden Guestrooms" which offer more intimate accommodations than the resort's larger beach houses. Enjoy all of the amenities of Tranquility Bay Resort with more affordable luxury in mind, and tropical garden views.Next, try award winning dining at Butterfly Cafe, a 2.5 acre white sand beach, world class fishing, diving, snorkeling and water sports, three tropical swimming pools, and our beachfront TJ's Tiki Bar, all framed by 12 acres of picturesque gardens. Located just 90 miles south of Miami and 45 miles north of historic Key West, Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort is easily reached by car or plane. Boasting delicious dining, Florida Keys' attractions, plus a nearby Championship 18-hole golf course, tennis courts, state parks with incredible beaches, protected waters for diving and some of the best sport fishing in the world, you can define your own paradise at our unique vacation destination in the Florida Keys. Find your center in the Middle Keys at Tranquility Bay Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tranquility Bay Beach House Hotel Marathon
Tranquility Bay Beach Resort
Tranquility Bay Beach Hotel
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort Marathon, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing