We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice resort but no breakfast service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Really nice resort but no breakfast service”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We were very positively surprised when we entered our room. We had the 3 bedroom waterview room which had a kitchen/living area, 1/2 bath and porch on the 1st floor and 3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms on the second floor. The room/apartment was very clean, something hard to find on the Florida Keys.

The resort is directly on the Gulf side of the keys with a small sandy beach. The pool area is quite large but the water not as clear as I hoped it to be...

I didn't realize that the hotel was not offering breakfast services which was the only real disappointment during our stay. I asked the front desk staff if they're planning to offer breakfast services any time soon but he didn't know.

We certainly would recommend this resort to anybody.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ingo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,147
    628
    239
    121
    78
See reviews for
1,671
862
29
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (825)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eslov, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We were on our way down to Key West, had planned to make a quick check in and then go to Key west, but after we checked in we didn´t want to leave the place. It was so nice. we were 5 people in a villa. There was also a laundrymachine and a dryer. Perfect

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bengt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Islamorada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Tranquility Bay is one of the finest resorts in the Florida Keys, and by far the finest in Marathon. The accommodations, staff, and service are all 5 star. Convenient to everything in Marathon, you will find your stay at this resort to be one if your favorites.

Blue Moon Expeditions

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BlueMoonExpeditions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coral Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is the second time we've stayed at the hotel and we enjoyed it even more the second time. The property is beautiful and well cared for, goegeous beach, great pool, wonderful rooms. The bartender Jeff at the tiki bar is outstanding, if you stay here definitely visit him!!! The only negative I could say is that the wifi is really slow and the pool towels they provide are a little thin... neither of which really impacted our trip. There are lots of great attractions nearby if you want to get out and explore the area. Although the hotel is a little pricey, there are full kitchens and two grocery stores nearby. We found that eating breakfast and several lunches/dinners in saved a significant amount of money vs what we'd have spent to eat out and helped offset the hotel rates when total vacation price was considered. Definitely recommend this to anyone - good for families or friends get away!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MILILANI
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Tranquility Bay was perfect. The unit was very clean and spacious and beautiful. The pools and beach were perfect. Watched a beautiful sunset every night at Tiki Bar. Iguanas were unusual but not scary and then did not bother anyone. Gardens had lush beautiful vegetation. I thought the price was great for what you got - but I figure we were there off season. Staff was friendly and helpful. Would return anytime!! My only mention to the hotel staff - trim those coconut trees - a frond fell while we were at the pool and landed on a lounge chair. Fortunately no one was in the chair - they could have been hurt. Other than that - just perfect!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Nice resort, nice grounds, nice townhouses- we had 2 bedrooms, very pricey, don't know why they charge resort fee $25 per day, they don't offer anything, all water sports are additional fees.
Housekeeping service is questionable.
The pool also needed to be cleaned, as well as the area around the pool.There were a lot of droppings around the pool , nobody came all day to clean it.
The Tiki Bar was good. It was great to sit at the Tiki Bar with a drink and watch the amazing sun set.
We recommend the Butterfly Cafe. Had dinner there and it was great food. We enjoyed the good service that Cheryl provided to us.
There is nothing to do at evening, after the sunset 8:30 pm the resort goes dark, so teenagers don't have a place to hung out other than the beach which is dark.
If you like the beach and swimming this is not a place to be. Good resort for a family with small kids. Overall we had a good time, because the weather was good and no rain.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Magda009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Just spent 5 nights at Tranquility Bay. Nice property, great pool(s) with visits from resident iguanas, a fun Tiki Bar for light meals and drinks, and a reasonable sized beach area. Helpful & pleasant staff. The property is nicely laid out, rooms are not plush but well done. Butterfly Café was very nice, somewhat pricey for a family dinner but also more upscale than other Marathon restaurants. We have a great visit and would return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
5.4 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
0.5 mi away
The Hammocks at Marathon
The Hammocks at Marathon
#8 of 17 in Marathon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
12.8 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort

Property: Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Address: 2600 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050-2243
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort located in Marathon Florida, the heart of the Florida Keys. Here you will find more than unrivaled peace and seclusion on your Florida Keys resort vacation, while overlooking the sparkling waters of the Gulf of Mexico. Sink into serenity with one of our unique two or three bedroom beach houses. Our spacious Marathon Florida resort beach houses have 2 or 3 bedrooms, 2 plus baths, gourmet kitchens, expansive porches overlooking the water, flat screen TVs, and handmade furniture, offering an idyllic Florida Keys resort experience nestled in a tropical oasis of calm and ease. Now you can also discover the addition of luxury single-level "Tropical Garden Guestrooms" which offer more intimate accommodations than the resort's larger beach houses. Enjoy all of the amenities of Tranquility Bay Resort with more affordable luxury in mind, and tropical garden views.Next, try award winning dining at Butterfly Cafe, a 2.5 acre white sand beach, world class fishing, diving, snorkeling and water sports, three tropical swimming pools, and our beachfront TJ's Tiki Bar, all framed by 12 acres of picturesque gardens. Located just 90 miles south of Miami and 45 miles north of historic Key West, Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort is easily reached by car or plane. Boasting delicious dining, Florida Keys' attractions, plus a nearby Championship 18-hole golf course, tennis courts, state parks with incredible beaches, protected waters for diving and some of the best sport fishing in the world, you can define your own paradise at our unique vacation destination in the Florida Keys. Find your center in the Middle Keys at Tranquility Bay Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tranquility Bay Beach House Hotel Marathon
Tranquility Bay Beach Resort
Tranquility Bay Beach Hotel
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort Marathon, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing