We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vintage Keys motel”
Review of Sea Dell Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sea Dell Motel
Ranked #3 of 17 Marathon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Vintage Keys motel”
Reviewed 5 February 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a night en route between Key Largo and Key West, and wished we'd been able to stay longer. It's exactly what you imagine an American motel would be like, with lots of 1960s character but modern conveniences, including excellent free wifi. The young man in the office was friendly and helpful, volunteering information on good restaurants and the wonderful Sombrero public beach, where we swam the following day. There was also a sign up saying which local bars had live music on that night. I liked the motel's coral walls and the matching hibiscus flowers planted by each room. We stayed in Room 3, which had an enormous bed. The room and bathroom were dated but clean and in good working order, and there was a coffee machine, which we really appreciated next morning. We didn't use the pool but it looked nice. Parking was easy, right opposite the room. We slept well and couldn't hear the road or any neighbours. As well as being handy for Sombrero beach the motel is close to a Wallgreen and Publix, as well as lots of bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bloghopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    230
    64
    16
    6
See reviews for
139
282
27
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Marathon is a good compromise when deciding where to stay in the Keys. It is only an hour to Key West so you don't need to pay Key West prices. The Sea Dell is an old style motel and in need of refurbishment but fine for a couple of nights. The rooms are clean if rather small. The bed was comfortable but we didn't get much sleep one night because of noise from next door. However not really the fault of motel management.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Les41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We enjoyed this old style Florida Keys Motel. Marathon's proximity to Key West and the rest of the Keys worked well for us. With just a bit of additional attention this motel could be great. In particular the bathroom was in need of some TLC. Old, dirty and moldy grouting could easily be replaced and would make the place so much more appealing. The staff was friendly and helpful, and there are lots of restaurants and stores nearby.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robwil71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Staff is very friendly ... room was with 2 queen size beds. Bathroom was clean and towels were new and fluffy. During the first night my husband found a mini toy car in his bed .. so we were wondering if bed linen were clean or not.
Kitchenette was kinda clean but when the first day we got in our room the floor was very sticky and smelled really bad. A girl came to clean the floor again but the smell around the kitchen was still strong .. The patio area is nice with several tables and you can breakfast/lunch/dinner outside. Pool and outdoor areas are clean and well maintained.
Motel is few minutes from the beautiful Sombrero Beach and 1 hour from Key West.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buf04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

First, you are in the Florida Keys. Second, you want the Keys experience, you really do. Here's what I mean... If you fly into Key West, you walk down a ladder like you did in the 60s. You can visit touristy spots like the Southernmost Bouy, also from the 60s, Hemingway's Home, etc.etc... Pine Key still has Key Deer, and the speed limit is 35 at night for miles, just like it was in the 60s. The old bridge (8 foot road!) was still in use as late as the 1980s and you can walk a part of 7 mile bridge in Marathon..... Sea Dell fits into this mold as well, a 60s style Motel, smack in the middle of Marathon.

Sea Dell doesn't try to be a luxury hotel, it doesn't pretend to have all modern amenities, it does not have the most modern anything. What it DOES have in quantity is simple, clean, laid back and island quaint. Sea Dell is the fastest way I know to get into the spirit of a Keys vacation.

We chose this motel on the advice of family and were amused at the look and feel of the place when we arrived. Check in was quick and efficient, and the room? Well it is 60s all the way. One small room with a bathroom just encourages you to get out and see things instead of trying to make you feel like home. The place is well lit in the evenings and I feel as safe here as any, more so than, say, the HGI in downtown Memphis TN.

Personally I stay in many hotels in many cities each year. Some I return to for convenience, some for the staff, some for the breakfast, and still others because of the people and the room. The ones I don't like, I simply will not return to regardless of the same listed prior. Sea Dell? I will definitely return here for the experience, plain and simple. This is what you want if you truly want to experience the Florida Keys. If you want the "Tourist" experience, go to Cancun or the Bahamas. If you want the laid-back feeling that the Keys offers, this is your place.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank wallismx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conde, BA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

It's not trying to be fancy or luxurious. It's simply a small, clean motel in a great location. The price definitely reflects the location, but you could easily do worse than this. Rooms were small but had everything we needed. Bed was comfortable, linens were clean, A/C worked fine.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jtstrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

It's no secret that things can be expensive in the Florida Keys. However, this motel provides a clean & basic room for a fair price. For travelers on a budget, I would definitely recommend staying here. As long as you don't have unrealistic expectations, you'll enjoy your stay at the Sea Dell Motel.

The property is definitely older, but in some ways this adds to its charm. You definitely get the feeling you are in "old Florida" when you are here. The room itself was clean and the air conditioning worked well. Although I didn't need it, the room did have a refrigerator and a microwave. The rooms have also been updated with flat-screen TV's.

The bathrooms are very small. The toilet is so close to the wall that your leg touches the wall when you sit down. There is a small, stand-alone sink without a vanity and a small, walk-in shower. If you are claustrophobic, the bathroom might make you a bit uncomfortable. However, the bathroom was clean and well-lit.

The door to the room was in pretty bad shape. It was an older, wooden door with noticeable cracking and chipped paint. There was a deadbolt lock, but no chain lock or "extra" lock. It would be fairly easy to break into one of the rooms. However, since Marathon, FL isn't exactly "ghetto," I wasn't too worried. Just be aware of this if you are a person who worries a lot about security.

The staff I encountered were professional and courteous. There are plenty of places to eat nearby.

Overall, I recommend this motel for travelers on a budget who aren't planning on spending much time in their room. This is in no way a resort property, but does provide a clean bed to sleep in.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inquisitive_Wayfarer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marathon hotels
1.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
4.0 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway
1.3 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
0.3 mi away
Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Dell Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Dell Motel

Property: Sea Dell Motel
Address: 5000 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050-2694
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Sea Dell Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the "Old Keys" in a lush, tropical setting in Marathon - the "Heart of the Florida Keys". Beautifully furnished rooms. Refrigerators, microwaves and coffeemakers in each room. Hi-speed internet. Heated pool. BBQs and picnic tables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Sea Dell Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Dell Hotel Marathon
Sea Dell Motel Marathon, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing