We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You're not in the Keys to hang out in your room, right?”
Review of Sea Dell Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sea Dell Motel
Ranked #3 of 17 Marathon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Overall, this place was really quaint and comfortable enough, but don't expect anything fancy. Reminded me of the old-school motels where we used to stay with my grandparents. Loved the tropical colors of the buildings and the landscaping all in bloom. Rooms were clean, but somewhat utilitarian. We appreciated the cabinet space with the small fridge. It's directly on the Overseas Highway in Marathon, so puts you close to several family attractions. The people in the front office were always super-nice and helpful. Great place to stay for a night or two. The price is definitely right!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CasadeLoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (561)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 561 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

The Sea Dell motel is nothing to look at, and in fact may inspire you to drive on by; that would be a mistake. The motel offers you a clean, quiet, convenient, and affordable place to stay in the Keys. If you are staying in Marathon, it is centrally located to all the city has to offer, and is very close to the "shopping district." If you are looking for a base to stay while in the Keys, it is about the center of the islands as well, making an easy trip to Key West as well as Key Largo. As a Keys resident myself, I have stayed here each time temporary lodging was called for, and have never been disappointed. They have WiFi and laundry.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gator99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

My husband stayed here years ago and I was reluctant on staying here for our 3 day get away.Boy was I wrong. Very clean rooms, and close to everything. Great place for a Great price. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rlc223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

First time staying at a motel...it's clean and that's all that really matters to me! Close to many restaurants. The pool is okay. The convenience of parking right outside your room is definitely a plus in my book. I'd stay again for another short 2-3 day trip.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank M_Jonelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Sea Dell was great! It reminded me of a hotel in the 60's - but in a good way. Clean, comfortable, close to lots of things (beach, restaurants) and in our budget. The front desk people were friendly and helpful. The guest laundry was an asset also. We went to Key West for the day and then came back to the Sea Dell. We had a beer by the pool and relaxed after a fun day. It helped having a refrigerator and a microwave. Compared to other hotel prices, we considered ourselves lucky. I would definitely go back again and would recommend it. If you are expecting something really snazzy, keep driving. If you want a great place to stay a few days, pull in the driveway and check it out.

Room Tip: We got the larger room #23
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Marathon was a nice surprise for its small but lagoon beach.
Safe and warm. Great place for kids.
Hotel rooms were not lavish in any way. But they were clean, adequate and extremely well priced if you were on a budget. Visiting the keys can be very expensive. Thanks to the Sea Dell apartments, we could spend 5 days instead of 2.
Staff were extremely accommodating. Nice restaurants in. Marathon, great fish.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bob b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed here for a few nights and the room was clean and had all the necessities - good shower, hair dryer, comfortable bed. The room itself was a little shabby and in need of renovation but as long as it was clean it served our purposes.

My only small bug bears - the walls are paper thin so we could hear the couple next door constantly arguing and every car that drove by. Also, the air conditioning was so loud if made it hard to sleep.

Housekeeping must have left the door open one day whilst cleaning because we returned to find a lizard enjoying some of my leftover candy! I spoke to front desk and he quickly came and removed it for me

It's a good hotel and for the price I would stay here again

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank ArtiCT01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marathon hotels
4 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
1.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon
1.9 mi away
Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway
0.2 mi away
Blackfin Resort and Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Dell Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Dell Motel

Address: 5000 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050-2694
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Marathon
Price Range: £96 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sea Dell Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the "Old Keys" in a lush, tropical setting in Marathon - the "Heart of the Florida Keys". Beautifully furnished rooms. Refrigerators, microwaves and coffeemakers in each room. Hi-speed internet. Heated pool. BBQs and picnic tables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Sea Dell Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Dell Hotel Marathon
Sea Dell Motel Marathon, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing