We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“I didn't know places like this existed”
other travellers have booked this property
Seabird Key, Your Own Private Island!  The entire island all yours with 10 acres of beauty + boat.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Seabird Key, Your Own Private Island!  The entire island all yours with 10 acres of beauty + boat.
Upon arrival, you are greeted by Seabird's manager and are escorted out to the Island.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Seabird Key, Your Own Private Island!  The entire island all yours with 10 acres of beauty + boat.
Upon arrival, you are greeted by Seabird's manager and are escorted out to the Island.
Dock the boat and your adventure begins!
The outdoor kitchen has a Trader Vic's appeal with Viking appliances.
The official 'Seabird Roost.'  The hideaway has 3 bedrooms, 3 baths, and sleeps 8 comfortably.
Welcome to your Island home! The front porch has rocking chairs....what else do you need?
HGTV filmed recenly on Seabird.  This is the couple who will appear in the show 'Island Hunters.'
Seabird's main area has the 'Old Florida style' decor which is perfect for the Island.
The home is architecturally stunning with vaulted beamed ceilings made of cypress giving a warm glow
The galley is simple, but everything you need is included.  Enjoy the outdoor kitchen for grilling.
The living room has satellite TV and a fine stero system with surround sound .
The captain's quarters are beautiful and inviting.
The master bedroom has a queen bed looking out onto a private balconey with french doors & screens.
The second BR has a full size bed with a ceiling fan over the bed keeping the Island breezes constant.
Open the wooden louvers for a tree house experience in the middle of the jungle.
The bunk loft accommodates 4 with a private bath.  The beamed ceiling is dramatic & beautiful.
Dine under the chickee hut on your own island...the ceiling fan enhances the natural breezes.
Seabird guests enjoy casual dining on the water. Toss the formality aside.
Eplore the jungle trails throughout the Island.
There are large native trees on the Island mixed with many exotic flowering plants and trees.
This native gumbo limbo tree welcomes you to the beach with over 30 coconut palms.
The beach is all yours!  Have a picnic and listen to the sounds of the Island or your favorite tunes
Seabird's beach comes complete with hammocks, chickee huts, white sand, and coconut palms!
Original Island Art
Not crazy about the sand?  Enjoy the tranquil beauty of Seabird's gardens.
Grab your favorite book!  A perfect setting.
The exotic plams on the Island were planted by the owner 25 years ago and have been well maintained.
The jungle is alive and well on Seabird!
Ready for action?  Go fishing!
Marathon is a fisherman's dream come true.
The boys bring home the local catch of the day.
Another happy fisherman.
Meanwhile, the girls are just kicking back on the Island.
Cuties on Seabird Key!  Almost every guest lines up for this classic photo.
This guest returns year after year. His son grew up vacationing here and now the grandson arrives!
Bring back dinner!  Filet your fish right on the dock.
This guest became friendly with the Island pet. Sadly, the iguana passed away recently.
This photo was taken by a Seabird guest during a boat ride down to the Seven Mile Bridge area.
Many couples visit Seabird and just stay on the Island to enjoy the romance of Seabird.
Sunset on the 36' widows walk is a not to be missed tradition on Seabird.
Sunsets in the Keys are stunning!  This photo was taken just off the Island.
Setting up for a romantic evening on Seabird's private beach.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Marathon, Florida Keys, Florida

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
J6677VVFr...
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“I didn't know places like this existed”
Reviewed 19 March 2015 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Wow. Seabird Key is one of a kind. We felt like we were in the swiss family robinson movie. The house's main floor is perched at the same level as the tree canopy. If you love water this is the place for you. We lived on the dock swimming, fishing, water skiiing. Jeff is always close if you need something, but we really felt totally alone all week. 10 acres all to yourself is amazing. You will see iguanas, hermit crabs, parrot fish, mangrove snapper, yellow tail snapper, moray eels, lobsters. We had an amazing breeze while we were there and we didn't even miss not having AC.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Snorkeling 200yds from the house
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Mar 2015
Thank you for posting this excellent review of Seabird Key! We're so happy you enjoyed your stay. Your review beautifully captured the spirit of the Island and the character of Seabird's unique setting. We are always excited to hear from our guests and love it when they take the time to share their perspective of the experience.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GABSNB
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bucket List Must!”
Reviewed 28 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We were lucky enough to spend the week of Christmas at Seabird Key. The owners have thought of everything. The grounds, beach, docks, craftsmanship, decor and all amenities are beyond belief!

The house has everything you can imagine. Outdoor shower off bedrooms on 1st floor is amazing. Upstairs has additional full bath, sleeping areas (for at least 6) and access to the most exquisite roof top view ever. Sunsets, sunrises and star gazing from what feels like the top of the world is breathtaking.

The gardens & paths left us speechless. Never had we seen such a pristine private beach! In addition to hammocks, lounge chairs, upper and lower beach lounging areas, dining area and enclosed/roped off swim area which are all emaculate, the islands sound system allows you to listen to your favorite music/play list from the speakers in the palms surrounding the beach.

The outdoor kitchen nestled next to the house is a cooks dream. Top of the line appliances & grill. Once again, everything has been thought of. Lounging areas, bar and thatch covered dining area are all perfect place to spend time while preparing meals, playing cards or just lounging around.

We must give a special thanks to the caretakers of the island, Jeff & Katie. They went out if their way to tour the gardens, house, outdoor kitchen and all areas of the island, docking & boat with us. Jeff and Katie are amazing! Thanks for everything!!!

We've travel to many islands & beaches around the world and after a week a Seabird Key we both agree, Seabird Key will now be our island vacation home for many years to come.

Thanks again to the owners for their vision and allowing us the opportunity to experience this heavenly island.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jan 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Seabird Key! We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your Christmas holiday on the Island. Your comments were very thoughtful and we certainly appreciate your business and will look forward to welcoming you back whenever you're ready to escape once again to your own private island.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I couldnt pick just one!
Liked least: there are NO dislikes!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
4 Jan 2015
Thank you for this excellent review! We, the owners, have always been committed to excellence. It is our mission to provide a great experience for all our guests. Comments from people like you helps to keep the spirits of the Seabird staff elevated and excited to do their job even better. We receive a great sense of satisfaction from reading your review. Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write this on our behalf.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jeff P
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“BEST VACATION EVER!!!!!”
Reviewed 25 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This paradise has to be experienced to believe. We have stayed at Seabird Key every year for the last 15 years. Our sons now grown with families of their own, look forward to our annual week at this beautiful and interesting place. How could you not enjoy your own private island!?? The house, outdoor kitchen, landscape, pathways, and special guest areas like the beach, mangrove sidewalk, and docks give us many places to gather and play.

We love the privacy the island provides us but we also enjoy taking the boat to town for groceries or supplies or just a cruise around to do a little exploring. We have never run out of things to do or new things to see.

Owner, Deborah and caretakers Jeff and Katie have become friends through the years because of their willingness and never ending commitment to making sure that we always enjoy ourselves.....and WE DO!!

Do yourselves a favor and stay at this wondeful place. You will have life long memories of the best vacation ever.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beauty, privacy, accomodations
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jan 2015
We've been most fortunate to have such excellent clients over the years and their commitment to return year after year has certainly added greatly to our success. To receive a review like this makes us feel incredibly proud to have put our work into this awesome project. It's taken 30 years of dedicated effort to manage and operate this ten acre island. The family who wrote this review for us shares our love for the Island and their continued business is so appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
panjq
Long Branch, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Always some trouble in Paridise”
Reviewed 29 May 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Just returned from seabird key last week. Had a great time. Visited with my family this time. I am physically disabled and the staff was more than helpful. In the past I visited the island with a group of disabled adults and we were invited back and returned a few times as a group. On one occasion we met the owner she certainly was not a bigot.It truly is a once in a lifetime opportunity to bad Twosoc group did not get to experience it because he or she jumped to a conclusion.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jan 2015
Thank you so much for your comments. We look forward to your annual visit to Seabird and will always welcome you and your guests back to our little paradise. Vacationing on your own private island comes with a few challenges which we are well aware of. It's just the nature of an offshore property. Most of our guests are quite capable with regard to boating, which is a needed skill to get the most out of your visit to Seabird. We are delighted to have guests like you over the years and so appreciate your dedication to Seabird. Thank you for writing a review for us!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristieZ...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pure Paradise!”
Reviewed 13 August 2012 for a stay in May 2014
7
people found this review helpful

Just got back from Seabird Key. It is a true paradise....heaven on earth! The Owner, Debra and the caretaker Jeff have included every accommodation imaginable! When we go back next year all we are taking is our bathing suits!!

Value
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jan 2015
Sure! Just bring your swimsuits...that's really all you need to enjoy a perfect week on Seabird Key. Thank you for letting everyone in on the dress code for the Island. When we see guests arriving with multiple suitcases, we realize they didn't get the memo. Actually, some of the local restaurants are so fine and fabulous, I suppose a couple outfits are necessary. Your review is so appreciated. Thank you for your loyal support!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Virginia
Reviewed 25 February 2010 for a stay in November 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
14 Jan 2016
Susan & Don,
We appreciate the great review. It's taken 30 years to get the Island grounds to where we hoped it would be when we started this adventure. The flowering trees, fruit trees and beautiful gardens...all a result of many, many trips to Fairchild Tropical Gardens in Miami, FL. The process has not always been easy, but our dream of creating the perfect paradise kept our work fresh and exciting. Thank you for spending your anniversary on Seabird.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing