We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious diner”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Wooden Spoon

Wooden Spoon
Ranked #19 of 90 Restaurants in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Delicious diner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

We only came here a couple times when we were staying in Marathon, but that's because we didn't try it until the third or fourth day. Great home-cooking, snappy service and low prices make this a worthwhile stop.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    405
    269
    110
    39
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best counter experience ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Amazing experience at the counter watching the cook run his grill like an orchestra conductor with his spatulas and lids tossing eggshells against a backboard over a waste receptacle. The Mexican omelet with chicken is a must.

Helpful?
Thank Smitten684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
469 reviews
303 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“OK, but not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

It looks like a lot of people really like the Wooden Spoon. I was not impressed and neither was my family. First off, it could use a good steam cleaning. The coffee was not great, which is death for a breakfast place. They used American cheese in the omelettes and there was yellow runny stuff inside where it wasn't completely cooked. On the plus side, our waitress was excellent and the potatoes were very good. I probably wouldn't go back unless the Stuffed Pig was closed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marathon, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“not the first choice”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

The food and prices are fair, however don't look in the corners or you will loose your appetite. This restaurant is filthy. Nothing a good cleaning and a fresh coat of paint would not cure, but as it is I can not recommend this place to anyone.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Randy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hole in the wall breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

Great bacon!!! Everything was tasty and just what we were looking for- a good, basic breakfast to start the day- good portions as well. Very small place, you seat yourself- service was very fast too.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Millipede2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wooden Spoon also viewed

Marathon, Florida Keys
 
Marathon, Florida Keys
Marathon, Florida Keys
 
Marathon, Florida Keys
 

Been to Wooden Spoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing