We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to wind down !”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marathon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Marathon Key Beach Club
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Very laid back area, very clean & almost up to date. The indoor maintainence was a little lacking, Loved the pool & Tiki Bar @ the Pool with Lisa the bartend. Pool area was always clean but lacked the newer Chaise Lounges & tables * all were in need of repair or paint, there were about 6 new lounges though. Easy access to thr Overseas Highway. I was there in a condo time share for two weeks, would love to visit there again, only for a longer amount of time.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CAPTMARLIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2014

Cassie4486 is spot on with her review entitled "absolute paradise," so I won't repeat anything that she posted, but I will add to it. We are in A101, which is also a timeshare. This unit is directly in front of the marina, so it has a very nice view. It is also next to the outdoor BBQ area, which has approximately 6 hibachi girls and 4 tiki type structures over picnic tables. They also have lighting. We cooked on the grill there. They provide trash cans, and it is very well kept and quiet. The pool area also has a hot tub. The bar has beer, wine, and wine based frozen drinks, and smoothies. All reasonably priced. Everything is a little dated, so if you are looking for exotic resort, this is not the place, BUT it is very, very clean and well maintained (the unit and the grounds). The unit is spacious. Two bedrooms and spread out. There is also a nice screened in porch with a table for 4 to eat or just hang out. When we arrived I was pleasantly surprised that they provided sheets, blankets, dishwasher detergent, dish washing liquid, paper towels, a few trash bags, toilet paper (2 rolls), tissues, and a pack of coffee to get you started. The coffee make sucks! It keeps turning off and you have to keep pushing the on button, but it makes coffee, so hey, no big deal. A few other items that are provided, if you are planning a vacation- sheets, blankets, bed spreads, bath and hand towels, wash clothes and beach towels. The unit now has wifi and also cable. Flat screened TV in the living area. I have really enjoyed my stay and if you are looking for a place to stay that is clean and well-kept, and can overlook that it is a little dated, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tracy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We are in C102 and the stove sparks. The maintenance manager Terry said he does not care if he is putting the wrong burners in the stove. Told him we were complaining to the office and he took that as a threat. The girl in the office hung up on me after I finally screamed at her because this is a fire hazard. Also the dryer vent is clogged really bad and smells like it will catch on fire. Will be calling the fire marshall tomorrow to do an inspection on this place. They are horrible here. No other interval timeshare is this bad!!!! Interval Travel tried to get us a new place but nothing was available. This place is HORRIBLE!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sonja G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

First off, if you are looking for a beach, check elsewhere. I'll get to that later.

We checked in this past Saturday for our timeshare. We are still here as of this review until next Saturday (Aug. 31st). This is a small place and very quiet. You won't find screaming kids, noisy party people or any of that. There are 5 buildings with 4 units each. There are no elevators, so you bring up your own stuff.

We're in Bldg B, towards the Marina. It's a 2 bedroom timeshare. The furniture I won't say is outdated, its just tropical decor in design to give it the feel of being in the tropics. If you want a 5 Star with modern furnishings, again, go elsewhere.

Each building is 3 stories tall. The bottom (ground floor) is for parking under the building, 1 spot only per unit, so no extra cars can park there. It's nice to go into a cool car & not baking in the sun. The first floor units are on the 2nd floor (again, steps) and the 2nd floor units are on the 3rd floor. Remember - no elevator!

You are given 3 keys; one for the unit, one for the storage you have by your car to store extra stuff and the 3rd key is to get into the pool which they share with another place. Beautiful pool & has a full bar as well.

The kitchen has all the things you need for cooking. It does have a dishwasher so you can use that or do your own dishes. You will be given a list of what the kitchen should have in it, then you sign off on it & bring it to the office. If you don't & anything is missing when they review the unit after your departure, you will be charged for missing items. Oh, and bring your own shampoo & conditioner. They don't provide any.

The units do have cable TV plus DVD players, so feel free to bring your own DVD's. The living room has a TV as well as the Master bedroom.

There is no housekeeping on a daily basis, so you will have to reuse your own towels or wash them. There is a full washing machine/dryer in the unit, but you will need laundry detergent. Publix is only 1/2 mile away from the resort.

The grounds are immaculate. There is no grass, its all white stones along with very tropical palm trees & such. They are tall enough to give the place a tropical rainforest type feel. And because its so heavily decorated, you don't see the properties bordering theirs.

The beach - well, there isn't really one. You walk past the Marina to this small area which is very rocky and walk down some steps into the water. It's sandy about maybe 10 feet out & then its all seaweed. You aren't here for the beach since the pool is 100% much better. And when I went to look, all the chairs were ripped so you could not even lay on them. You can go fishing right off the pier area though and there are tons of fish underneath including a lobster we spotted right at the beginning where the marina begins.

The units are immaculate clean, no dust, dirt in the corners, etc. They keeps these units spotless.

The area - well, depends on what you want to do. Publix food store is 1/2 mile away on the RIGHT (not the left side as your GPS might tell you). There's tons of restaurants & such, depending on what you are looking for. There's a nice Mexican restaurant towards the 7 mile bridge. Looks really run down in the front, but the inside is all modern mexican style. Food is delicious & not expensive.

Our unit has firm beds - so if you like a softer bed, you might consider bringing a egg crate pillow or another foam type material to soften it. I can't speak for the other units. We're in B101.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Cassie4486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Spent the week with my mom and my hubby drove down for 4th of July. THe condo itself was nice and well appointed. THe whole resort was clearly not new but was well kept (especially by Keys standards). We had a great time but both my hubby and I left with aching backs. The twin beds in the 2nd bedroom had the most terrible mattresses. It was like sleeping in a hammock.

All that said, the porch was screened in and fantastic to sit in and watch the world go by. THere are a few decent places to eat near by and everything is family friendly. Plan to hang out at the pool and the condo a lot and you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank VirginiaFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

This was an interesting place...you have to know the Keys...it's not glitzy and everything closes at 9pm...even Dominos!

There isn't much a beach, but it is situated on a nice harbor and it's a great place to set up a fishing charter.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JimmyEco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

I did much research on accomodations in the keys, I kept coming back to this one and so happy with my decision to stay here. The resort is beautiful, perfectly located and well maintained. The pool was fantastic, the BBQ area very nice and it was wonderful going down to the beach every night and watching the sunsets. We had a blast being accompanied by the resident ducks each night. I cant say enough good things about this gem in Marathon and we definately will stay here again.

Room Tip: The ideal building is A, I requested A, B or C upper level when I made my reservation and was told t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SHANE R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marathon hotels
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
1.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
1.5 mi away
The Hammocks at Marathon
The Hammocks at Marathon
#7 of 16 in Marathon
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Skipjack Resort Suites & Marina
1.1 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
0.1 mi away
Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marathon Key Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marathon Key Beach Club

Address: 4560 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050-2332
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Marathon
Price Range: £86 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marathon Key Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Marathon Key Beach Club Hotel Marathon
Marathon Key Beach Club Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing