We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Minimum amenities for maximum cost”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Mastic, NY
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Minimum amenities for maximum cost”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

As an Ambassador member I am normally am happy to stay at Holiday Inn Express for the value. This one, like the rest, has cleanliness, efficiency. What it totally lacks is one thought for it's location. Cookie cutter window overlooking (as you scrunch to see the view) of the beauty of the water landscape outside. The pool is nice, the staff is nice. But at double to treble what other Holiday Inn Express' cost this is not a good value especially since it has NO laundry facility and NO movies to buy on the tv. Makes this a "meh".

Room Tip: Third floor for the largese!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amberdamber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy B, Director of Sales at The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We completely understand your frustration with the laundry situation. The local Laundromat closed recently - We have partnered with a local company that is picking up and dropping of laundry for our guests. They do have designated times to have same day services. We have found that our guests are happy with this company.

In efforts to keep our costs down as much as possible, we do not offer movie rentals. We are pleased to report that there are 4 premium HBO channels.

We would also like to thank you for your very kinds words about our Hotel being clean & efficient, and that we do appreciate you being an Ambassador Member of the IHG Rewards Program.

Respectfully,

Nancy Bennett
Sales/Marketing Manager
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
13201 Overseas Highway
Marathon, Florida 33050
Phone:305.289.0222
Fax: 305.743.5460
nbennett@spottswood.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    533
    591
    243
    68
    40
See reviews for
519
592
34
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Room was clean, staff was friendly and pool area/dock was very nice. Free breakfast is available but we did not eat just grabbed coffee/tea. There is a restaurant directly next door which we did not visit but the breakfast spot across the street was delicious amd right on the water. Perfectly placed directly across from the water this hotel is a definite stay if visiting Marathon.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank aimee0925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
124 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

We arrived to a nice new clean room; the staff at the front desk was more that accommodating. Be sure to go the the Tiki bar out back great Happy Hour and food!!! Just a few steps away! The location is perfect and defiantly in the best part of town.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmitch27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topeka, KS
Level Contributor
163 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed in Marathon because is was about $125 a night cheaper than a similar hotel in Key West. The Holiday Inn Express is right on the highway and about 30 miles from Key West, so it is an easy and scenic drive. Nice sized pool plus a hot tub. Tiki Bar next to the pool. Food and Beer were pretty pricey. Would definitely stay at the Holiday Inn Express again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Treadman46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, Alabama
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

We were looking for vacation in florida keys and we are SO glad we chose to stay in Marathon, especially this Holiday Inn, then Key West. The Holiday Inn was very nice- clean rooms, friendly staff, and just a nice newer hotel. Its a great location - heated pool, on a marina where kayaks/jetskies/fishing trips can be taken, and has a good restaurant behind it. I loved being on this island. It was so close to Key West, but much much much quieter. Good restaurants in Marathon as well which the hotel staff suggested.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MTW1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

stayed there to fish with three friends. Very clean and right on the water. Tarpon Creek restaurant on the same property and a marina behind where our charter was docked. Super convenient and even the breakfast in the morning was good and included. We had a suite room for a bit more room and it was great. For this level of hotel it was all you wanted. very satisfied.

Room Tip: suites are the way to go. not that much more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed 3 days, family of 4. Great location..1 hour to key west, lots of restaurant choices and close to grocery store and other stores if needed. Restaurant behind..meh..charged us $16 for two non alcoholic smoothies for kids...restaurant staff kind of abrupt. Hotel staff excellent..Oliver at front desk had lots of great suggestions for dining and always willing to answer questions even when busy with a smile! Loved in room refrigerator and all day coffee and tea and fresh oranges at blast! Our room on first floor needs new carpet..carpets looked and felt dirty and stained, but air conditioning worked great. Beautiful heated pool with a view that we did not expect when we booked. $220 a night..wouldn't pay anymore..a tad high..but location location I guess.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Spotz13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
5.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
5.5 mi away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
0.8 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Seashell Beach Resort
Seashell Beach Resort
#10 of 17 in Marathon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
5.3 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
7.5 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon

Property: The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Address: 13201 Overseas Highway, MM 53.5, Marathon, FL 33050-3548
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you for a fun-loving tropical vacation at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in the fabulous Florida Keys. Stay with us for fun in the sun and the convenience of local businesses, the Florida Keys Marathon Airport (MTH), and local island attractions. Our hotel is pet-friendly and 100% smoke free.The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon is located in the heart of the Florida Keys; a short drive from Key West. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon Hotel Marathon
The Holiday Inn Express And Suites Marathon
Holiday Inn Marathon
Marathon Holiday Inn
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing