We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good and Bad” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Cape May, NJ
Level Contributor
129 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good and Bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Arrived at the Holiday Inn for a few days to visit family. We asked for a room on a high floor overlooking the water which the desk clerk assured us we had. Instead we ended up on the middle floor with a view of dead palm fronds-couldn't see the water at all.
The good news is the hotel is clean and comfortable. The bad news is, as other reviews have pointed out, really NOISY! The walls are like paper. There were also about 100 teenagers in the hotel on an outing. While fairly well behaved for a large group they ran all over the halls and banged around in the rooms making quite a racket above us. After several calls to the front desk to complain we were told they would try to quiet them down. This did not work and we asked to be moved but the hotel was sold out. Unfortunately this is really your best option in Marathon unless you want to take your chances with a mom and pop kind of place so, if you go, take your ear plugs. Breakfast was OK but VERY crowded.

Room Tip: Make sure you stay on the top floor to try to avoid over head noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CAPEMAY737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy B, Director of Sales at The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Recent Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about our property. We are disappointed that you did have a problem with noise. We are aware that some of the rooms have this problem. We really do work hard to try and place larger groups all together and it sounds like you have been caught in the middle and we are sorry!

We would like to say that we appreciate all of the nice comments, and that you took the time to let us know about the parts that you did enjoy! We certainly hope to have you as a guest again in the future!

Sincerely,

Nancy Bennett
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    525
    589
    239
    66
    40
See reviews for
514
584
34
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mooresville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

I searched for hours and did a lot of research on the Internet looking for accommodation for 2 nights in the Florida Keys. Everything I found was either too expensive, or when I found something that was reasonably priced I found it had a lot of bad reviews. We wanted to stay in something "quaint" right on the water, but when we actually stopped to look at these sorts of places all of them disappointed. We were very happy to see that The Holiday Inn Express and Suites was perfectly situated for us, had a lovely Tiki Bar and restaurant, and a very nice pool, and was set on a very pretty channel. I know the architecture of the building itself is not all that attractive, but the room we stayed in was really nice. The bed and pillows were very comfortable, and the linen crisp and clean. The bathroom was also very clean, and the breakfast wasn't bad at all. We had a room facing the water and it wasn't as noisy as I have found a lot of hotels in USA to be...walls usually paper thin! The airconditioner was noisy, but no worse than what I have experienced in other hotels. We may just have been lucky, but we have no complaints, and would definitely recommend it to others, and stay there again if we came that way.

Room Tip: We always ask to be away from the elevator as well as the ice maker! I like to face the water whenev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nicola s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
146 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed on the third floor (top). It was great. The sound was not an issue at all. The rooms have a great shower. The bed was comfortable. There is a wonderful restaurant right behind it. I would definitely stay here again. The breakfast was delicious.

Room Tip: Ask to be on the third floor if sound is a concern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loonyteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanwood, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

We stayed in the holiday inn express for 8 days in marathon. They served breakfast and coffee everyday. Food was okay. But very convenient. There is a Tiki bar next door. Great food and atmosphere. Prices were not outrageous. Best food we had in marathon. People were very nice and helpful. We chose to stay in marathon because it was the half point to all the keys. We had a very nice visit. The rooms were always kept very clean. Whole place was well cared for. They take pride in there service there. I would visit this hotel again. And for the price it was well worth the stay.

Room Tip: There is suites there. With a couch, table and a microwave. No microwaves in the regular rooms. But...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
123 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

We stayed here for a night on our way to Key West and found our room clean with up-to-date furnishings. The front desk staff were great, friendly and courteous. Sleep quality: the king-size bed was very comfortable, but the walls are not well soundproofed as we could hear late night goings-on next door. A plus is the Tarpon Creek Bar & Grill behind the hotel which is most convenient. The hotel breakfast was free, which is always good, and the make-'em-yourself pancakes, muffins and fruit very good. The cheese omelets, not so great. The place isn't cheap but still reasonable for the Keys and under the same circumstances we would choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RHM-64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

We just returned from 3 days in Marathon. The hotel was clean and the staff were friendly. My only complaint is that the walls are pretty thin surprisingly. I was kept up at night by our neighbor, who I could hear laughing and talking late at night and early in the morning. The breakfast was pretty good: pancake maker, warm cinnamon buns, precooked cheese omelets, cereals, biscuits and gravy, juice, coffee etc. The pool was nice and backs right onto the small marina and the mangroves. We had dinner one night right next door at Tarpon Creek, and it was good.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor, overlooking the pool. It would have been nicer to be higher to see out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IPhotoggirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Burnie, Maryland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

I booked this hotel through Priceline for my wife and I's 15th Anniversary. It's conveniently located near water, with Sombrero Beach just minutes away. Behind the hotel is a nice restaurant as well as a shop where you can rent kayaks and book water adventures. I selected this hotel because we wanted to be centrally located in the Keys, free to travel North or South to see attractions. It worked out better than we planned!

The staff is friendly. You can check out towels at the front desk for use at the pool or the beach. They'll cross your name off the list when you return them. The pool is decent, but nothing to be excited about. It's just over 4 feet deep. There is no hot tub, which isn't a show-stopper, but it would have been a great spot to relax just before bed.

Breakfast includes yogurts, milk, bagels, eggs, juice, coffee, and more. There isn't a waffle maker; instead they have a pancake machine. Works great, and they tasted good as well.

Overall we were very pleased with our stay. This hotel won out over others (especially those in Key West) because there was no additional charge for parking and a breakfast was included. It just made more sense to save $800+ staying here considering the bar scene wasn't what we were looking for. We took in some of the great local attractions such as Sombrero Beach, Veterans Park, Bahia Honda State Park, etc. We saved Key West for our last day/night. Marathon is a nice place to stay conveniently located in the middle of the Florida Keys.

ADDITIONAL NOTE: I say, "Value" because the hotels in the keys are all overpriced, but compared to others, and what you get, the Holiday Inn is priced right, better than the others in my opinion. We weren't looking for private beaches, or throwing additional money at hotel fees, parking, pool-side drinks, etc, like what you would spend in Key West as say, The Reach for example. Also, we stayed in a room on the second floor facing the pool. I know some have posted complaints about noise. We didn't hear anything. The only real issue I experienced was a problem with the pool side sprinkler system, which went off at about 1400L and the sprayers were pointed towards some of the chairs, forcing some to relocate. Someone complained to the staff and they shut them off...no other issues.

Room Tip: 2nd floor or 3rd, away from the elevator. There is a back door near the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
5.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
5.5 mi away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
0.8 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Seashell Beach Resort
Seashell Beach Resort
#10 of 16 in Marathon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
5.3 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
7.5 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon

Property: The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Address: 13201 Overseas Highway, MM 53.5, Marathon, FL 33050-3548
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you for a fun-loving tropical vacation at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in the fabulous Florida Keys. Stay with us for fun in the sun and the convenience of local businesses, the Florida Keys Marathon Airport (MTH), and local island attractions. Our hotel is pet-friendly and 100% smoke free.The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon is located in the heart of the Florida Keys; a short drive from Key West. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG and Odigeo so you can book your The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon Hotel Marathon
The Holiday Inn Express And Suites Marathon
Holiday Inn Marathon
Marathon Holiday Inn
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing