We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Nearby Hotels
US$449
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys(Marathon)(Great Value!)
US$201
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$181
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$236
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Skipjack Resort Suites & Marina(Marathon)(Great Value!)
US$196
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$179
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys(Marathon)(Great Value!)
US$201
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,574)
Filter reviews
1,574 results
Traveller rating
568
633
256
75
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
568
633
256
75
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstarpon creekbreakfast roomhi expresskey westcinnamon rollsthin wallsfree breakfastbar grillthird flooryogurtnice poolclean hotelpool areahalf waybeds were comfortablebahia honda state parkwater view
Filter
Updating list...
656 - 661 of 1,574 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Arrived at the Holiday Inn for a few days to visit family. We asked for a room on a high floor overlooking the water which the desk clerk assured us we had. Instead we ended up on the middle floor with a view of dead palm fronds-couldn't see the water at all.
The good news is the hotel is clean and comfortable. The bad news is, as other reviews have pointed out, really NOISY! The walls are like paper. There were also about 100 teenagers in the hotel on an outing. While fairly well behaved for a large group they ran all over the halls and banged around in the rooms making quite a racket above us. After several calls to the front desk to complain we were told they would try to quiet them down. This did not work and we asked to be moved but the hotel was sold out. Unfortunately this is really your best option in Marathon unless you want to take your chances with a mom and pop kind of place so, if you go, take your ear plugs. Breakfast was OK but VERY crowded.

Room Tip: Make sure you stay on the top floor to try to avoid over head noise.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CAPEMAY737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy B, Director of Sales at The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Recent Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about our property. We are disappointed that you did have a problem with noise. We are aware that some of the rooms have this problem. We really do work hard to try and place larger groups all together and it sounds like you have been caught in the middle and we are sorry!

We would like to say that we appreciate all of the nice comments, and that you took the time to let us know about the parts that you did enjoy! We certainly hope to have you as a guest again in the future!

Sincerely,

Nancy Bennett
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I searched for hours and did a lot of research on the Internet looking for accommodation for 2 nights in the Florida Keys. Everything I found was either too expensive, or when I found something that was reasonably priced I found it had a lot of bad reviews. We wanted to stay in something "quaint" right on the water, but when we actually stopped to look at these sorts of places all of them disappointed. We were very happy to see that The Holiday Inn Express and Suites was perfectly situated for us, had a lovely Tiki Bar and restaurant, and a very nice pool, and was set on a very pretty channel. I know the architecture of the building itself is not all that attractive, but the room we stayed in was really nice. The bed and pillows were very comfortable, and the linen crisp and clean. The bathroom was also very clean, and the breakfast wasn't bad at all. We had a room facing the water and it wasn't as noisy as I have found a lot of hotels in USA to be...walls usually paper thin! The airconditioner was noisy, but no worse than what I have experienced in other hotels. We may just have been lucky, but we have no complaints, and would definitely recommend it to others, and stay there again if we came that way.

Room Tip: We always ask to be away from the elevator as well as the ice maker! I like to face the water whenever possible, if it doesn't make the price exhorbitant. I think we got a good deal for our money
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nicola s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed on the third floor (top). It was great. The sound was not an issue at all. The rooms have a great shower. The bed was comfortable. There is a wonderful restaurant right behind it. I would definitely stay here again. The breakfast was delicious.

Room Tip: Ask to be on the third floor if sound is a concern.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loonyteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We stayed in the holiday inn express for 8 days in marathon. They served breakfast and coffee everyday. Food was okay. But very convenient. There is a Tiki bar next door. Great food and atmosphere. Prices were not outrageous. Best food we had in marathon. People were very nice and helpful. We chose to stay in marathon because it was the half point to all the keys. We had a very nice visit. The rooms were always kept very clean. Whole place was well cared for. They take pride in there service there. I would visit this hotel again. And for the price it was well worth the stay.

Room Tip: There is suites there. With a couch, table and a microwave. No microwaves in the regular rooms. But was not a must for us. When booking your room, call them and request the better room. That was the only problem we had.as far as I know the suites are the same price as the regular rooms. Best deals are a week after April first.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We stayed here for a night on our way to Key West and found our room clean with up-to-date furnishings. The front desk staff were great, friendly and courteous. Sleep quality: the king-size bed was very comfortable, but the walls are not well soundproofed as we could hear late night goings-on next door. A plus is the Tarpon Creek Bar & Grill behind the hotel which is most convenient. The hotel breakfast was free, which is always good, and the make-'em-yourself pancakes, muffins and fruit very good. The cheese omelets, not so great. The place isn't cheap but still reasonable for the Keys and under the same circumstances we would choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RHM-64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews