We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway(Marathon)(Great Value!)
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blackfin Resort and Marina(Marathon)(Great Value!)
US$179
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$174
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seascape Motel and Marina(Marathon)(Great Value!)
US$267
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$235
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Dell Motel(Marathon)(Great Value!)
US$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys(Marathon)(Great Value!)
US$240
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$201
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Hawaiian Motel / Botel(Marathon)(Great Value!)
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Captain Pips at Knights Key Inn(Marathon)(Great Value!)
US$145
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$151
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort(Marathon)(Great Value!)
US$483
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$438
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,598)
Filter reviews
1,598 results
Traveller rating
577
642
259
78
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
577
642
259
78
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstarpon creekbreakfast roomhi expresskey westcinnamon rollsthin wallsfree breakfastbar grillisland fish cothird floorhear everythingclean hotelking suiteyogurtnice poolpool areahalf way
Filter
Updating list...
658 - 663 of 1,598 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel is in a beautiful location on a canal. The grounds and swimming pool are very nice. Our room was fine and the bed was comfortable.

The downside is that (as others have said here) the walls are so thin that we could hear every word our neighbors said and their TV sounded like it was in our room. In short, there is apparently no insulation and/or soundproofing between the rooms. We were unable to sleep at night or take naps due to the constant noise.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viajes29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy B, Director of Sales at The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Recent Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you were a guest in our hotel!
We were sorry to hear that you had a problem with the noise. We do hope that you give us another try and we will work hard to place you in a nice quiet location.

Sincerely,


Nancy Bennett
Sales/Marketing Manager
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
13201 Overseas Highway
Marathon, Florida 33050
Phone:305.289.0222
Fax: 305.743.5460
nbennett@spottswood.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

This hotel was good. We enjoyed our stay. There were no surprises for a Holiday Inn. The price reflects the location, but it was the best we could find. Would stay again. We stayed here for one night on our way to the Keys, and one night on the way back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites in Marathon during a quick 3-night trip to the Florida Keys. We chose for our stay a "2 Queen Bed Suite" mainly because we needed a kitchenette to accommodate the needs of our dog, who was traveling with us.

The good: there was a lot to like with this hotel. The location was excellent; the staff was friendly and helpful; the rooms were clean. Check-in and check-out were smooth. The free breakfast was decent, although not quite as good as other mass-produced hotel breakfasts I've had in the past. The pool area and fitness facility seemed nice, although we didn't really use either one so I won't write more about them. We also liked the meal we had at the restaurant located at the back of the property, although I am not certain how much that restaurant is affiliated with the hotel. Most of all, the hotel was VERY pet-friendly, which we appreciated as it was necessary that we take our four-legged "child" with us on this trip.

The bad: as other reviewers have mentioned, the walls are thin... we could clearly hear noise from adjoining rooms, and noise from the hall (especially the slamming of room doors) was particularly audible (it usually started around 7:00 AM, so no chance of sleeping in). Also, I take issue with calling the room we had a "suite" -- the "kitchenette" consisted of a dorm-sized refrigerator, a microwave, and by far the smallest kitchen sink I ever saw (useless with the much-larger bathroom sink not more than 3 feet away), along with a couple of cabinets... but there was no cooktop, and more annoyingly, no dishes (other than ONE microwave-safe plate) and no silverware, which I would expect anything called a "kitchenette" to have. (Note to the designer: the sink area needs a light, perhaps mounted on the underside of the cabinet above.) And yes, the "suite" had a separate couch... in a part of the room from which you couldn't really see the TV well, making it of dubious usefulness at best. Also, the doors were hard to close -- we really had to yank to get the door to latch (perhaps that's why we heard so much door-slamming).

The ugly: unfortunately, there was one large problem, so bad it caused us to cut our stay short -- our room had the MOST uncomfortable beds I have ever (not) slept on. I like a firm mattress as much as the next person, but these were beyond firm -- neither my wife nor I could find a comfortable sleeping position on these devious devices. I could feel every spring in the mattress creating a pressure point of discomfort. What little sleep we did get was punctuated with tossing and turning in a vain attempt to find some relief from the pain and/or numbness. After two nights of horrible sleep, we checked out early rather than endure a third night as we originally planned.

The bottom line: this is a nice, clean hotel in a good location, but it suffers from terribly uncomfortable beds. Also, the room we had shouldn't be allowed to be called a "suite".

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy B, Director of Sales at The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Recent Guest,

Thank you very much for your candid review. We were very disappointed that you did not care for the different parts of our hotel that you mentioned.

We do understand that guests have different taste in their choice of mattresses. It would be great if we could offer “soft or firm” mattresses as we do with our pillows (:

We really appreciate that you took the time to write about your stay! Although, every review is not perfect, we truly appreciate your perspective of the Good, The Bad, and the Ugly!
We do hope to have the opportunity to have you as a guest again in the future!
Nancy Bennett
Sales/Marketing Manager
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
13201 Overseas Highway
Marathon, Florida 33050
Phone:305.289.0222
Fax: 305.743.5460
nbennett@spottswood.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Was very impressed from the minute we walked in. Oliver made check in a snap and was very cordial and welcoming. The hotel is one if the cleanest it have stayed at. Even the free breakfast buffet area was well taken care of. Excellent selection for a free buffet.

The beds are amazing, so comfortable and the best pillows I have ever slept on. Going to try to buy the same ones for my home.

Very nice a Tiki style restaurant in the back with live music curing the weekend.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JudgeD2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed there for two nights. The way from elevator to room was dirty and filthy. Dont understand why they put carpets on these floors. It was disgusting. Consequently we had a roach one night in our room even if it was on the second floor. We called the front desk, they sent a guy and removed it. They should do something for the cleanless in their hotel. All other things are good. Basic breakfast etc

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank hoodyni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy B, Director of Sales at The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Recent Guest,

We were very disappointed to see your review! The terms that were used to portray our hotel are not something we are ever happy to hear or that we take lightly. We would like to apologize that you felt this way and hope that we have another opportunity to turn this around and to have you as a guest again in the future.

Sincerely,


Nancy Bennett
Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Marathon, FL.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews