We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice accomidations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Tallahassee, Florida, United States
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very nice accomidations”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The hotel was very nice. There was a small issues with sound from adjoining rooms; but, overall the facility and staff were very pleasant. Very much enjoyed the stay and will stay here again. The staff was very helpful and eager to assist.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    550
    611
    250
    72
    40
See reviews for
539
609
38
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Goodyear, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Just stayed at the Holiday Inn Express, Marathon Key, FL while the location & price was ok the actual hotel itself could use some cleaning and updates. The staff was very friendly upon check-in. The location was great centrally located within the Keys north and south. I did not have any problems with the sounds from the walls. The pool & views were awesome. The hotel itself was dirty. Stained floors musty odors, elevator & lobby was dirty and needed updating. While this hotel was not the worst it could have been it wasn't a pleasant stay either. The adjacent restaurant behind the property is great for drinks but the food sucks. Over cooked steak, lobster.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the middle of the hall away from elevator but facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JSTRICK96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy B, Director of Sales at The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Recent Guest,

We appreciate that you wrote a review about your stay! We are sorry that you encountered some issues during your time here. It was very disappointing and alarming to hear some of your comments! I have alerted the appropriate department heads for them to address the items that you expressed. Although, we cannot fix your past experience, we can work harder in future to make it a better experience. We do hope to have you back as a guest in the future!

Sincerely,

Nancy Bennett
Sales/Marketing Manager
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
13201 Overseas Highway
Marathon, Florida 33050
Phone:305.289.0222
Fax: 305.743.5460
nbennett@spottswood.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Had an overnight stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Marathon. Found everything good from the friendly reception staff to the spotless room. The breakfast was well laid out and plentiful. Only down side as mentioned in the past was the lack of sound proofing in the walls. View from our room on the third floor was wonderful overlooking the water.

Room Tip: We were top floor north .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stopped off here on way to Florida Keys. The hotel offered good quality accommodation with excellent facilities.We had a pool view room with 2 queen beds which were very comfortable.
Breakfast offered a choice of hot and cold food with a good selection of healthy eating options.
The only drawback was the lack of soundproofing in the rooms.
Overall a great place and excellent value. Would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms with a sea view are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanChalmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, FL
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel is in a beautiful location on a canal. The grounds and swimming pool are very nice. Our room was fine and the bed was comfortable.

The downside is that (as others have said here) the walls are so thin that we could hear every word our neighbors said and their TV sounded like it was in our room. In short, there is apparently no insulation and/or soundproofing between the rooms. We were unable to sleep at night or take naps due to the constant noise.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viajes29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy B, Director of Sales at The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Recent Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you were a guest in our hotel!
We were sorry to hear that you had a problem with the noise. We do hope that you give us another try and we will work hard to place you in a nice quiet location.

Sincerely,


Nancy Bennett
Sales/Marketing Manager
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
13201 Overseas Highway
Marathon, Florida 33050
Phone:305.289.0222
Fax: 305.743.5460
nbennett@spottswood.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kincardine, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

This hotel was good. We enjoyed our stay. There were no surprises for a Holiday Inn. The price reflects the location, but it was the best we could find. Would stay again. We stayed here for one night on our way to the Keys, and one night on the way back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites in Marathon during a quick 3-night trip to the Florida Keys. We chose for our stay a "2 Queen Bed Suite" mainly because we needed a kitchenette to accommodate the needs of our dog, who was traveling with us.

The good: there was a lot to like with this hotel. The location was excellent; the staff was friendly and helpful; the rooms were clean. Check-in and check-out were smooth. The free breakfast was decent, although not quite as good as other mass-produced hotel breakfasts I've had in the past. The pool area and fitness facility seemed nice, although we didn't really use either one so I won't write more about them. We also liked the meal we had at the restaurant located at the back of the property, although I am not certain how much that restaurant is affiliated with the hotel. Most of all, the hotel was VERY pet-friendly, which we appreciated as it was necessary that we take our four-legged "child" with us on this trip.

The bad: as other reviewers have mentioned, the walls are thin... we could clearly hear noise from adjoining rooms, and noise from the hall (especially the slamming of room doors) was particularly audible (it usually started around 7:00 AM, so no chance of sleeping in). Also, I take issue with calling the room we had a "suite" -- the "kitchenette" consisted of a dorm-sized refrigerator, a microwave, and by far the smallest kitchen sink I ever saw (useless with the much-larger bathroom sink not more than 3 feet away), along with a couple of cabinets... but there was no cooktop, and more annoyingly, no dishes (other than ONE microwave-safe plate) and no silverware, which I would expect anything called a "kitchenette" to have. (Note to the designer: the sink area needs a light, perhaps mounted on the underside of the cabinet above.) And yes, the "suite" had a separate couch... in a part of the room from which you couldn't really see the TV well, making it of dubious usefulness at best. Also, the doors were hard to close -- we really had to yank to get the door to latch (perhaps that's why we heard so much door-slamming).

The ugly: unfortunately, there was one large problem, so bad it caused us to cut our stay short -- our room had the MOST uncomfortable beds I have ever (not) slept on. I like a firm mattress as much as the next person, but these were beyond firm -- neither my wife nor I could find a comfortable sleeping position on these devious devices. I could feel every spring in the mattress creating a pressure point of discomfort. What little sleep we did get was punctuated with tossing and turning in a vain attempt to find some relief from the pain and/or numbness. After two nights of horrible sleep, we checked out early rather than endure a third night as we originally planned.

The bottom line: this is a nice, clean hotel in a good location, but it suffers from terribly uncomfortable beds. Also, the room we had shouldn't be allowed to be called a "suite".

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy B, Director of Sales at The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Recent Guest,

Thank you very much for your candid review. We were very disappointed that you did not care for the different parts of our hotel that you mentioned.

We do understand that guests have different taste in their choice of mattresses. It would be great if we could offer “soft or firm” mattresses as we do with our pillows (:

We really appreciate that you took the time to write about your stay! Although, every review is not perfect, we truly appreciate your perspective of the Good, The Bad, and the Ugly!
We do hope to have the opportunity to have you as a guest again in the future!
Nancy Bennett
Sales/Marketing Manager
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
13201 Overseas Highway
Marathon, Florida 33050
Phone:305.289.0222
Fax: 305.743.5460
nbennett@spottswood.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
5.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
5.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
0.8 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Seashell Beach Resort
Seashell Beach Resort
#10 of 16 in Marathon
269 reviews
14.3 mi away
Lime Tree Bay Resort
4.1 mi away
Skipjack Resort & Marina
Skipjack Resort & Marina
#11 of 16 in Marathon
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon

Property: The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Address: 13201 Overseas Highway, Mm 53.5, Marathon, FL 33050-3548
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you for a fun-loving tropical vacation at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in the fabulous Florida Keys. Stay with us for fun in the sun and the convenience of local businesses, the Florida Keys Marathon Airport (MTH), and local island attractions. Our hotel is pet-friendly and 100% smoke free.The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon is located in the heart of the Florida Keys; a short drive from Key West. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Holiday Inn Express And Suites Marathon
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon Hotel Marathon
Holiday Inn Marathon
Marathon Holiday Inn
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing