We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best choice for now but watch for 3 new properties in near future!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Management and ownership well know of the noise problem between units and in the hallways.... yet they apply for 15-20 additional units. Seems with the pending Hyatt, Mariott product, the Sombraro golf hotel, the soon to be significantly remodeled Banana Bay to become the "B Escape & Marina Marathon Key, they would spend the money to fix the noise problems. Inaction will cause this Holiday Inn Express to loose favor with educated and repeat travelers.

Aside from the above, the Breakfast room is the best staffed (3) of any experienced in our frequent travels. Hope this review will assist you in charting your plans.

Room Tip: stayed in 308.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travlerfl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy B, Director of Sales at The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Recent Guest,

Thank you for your review. You are right about so many of the things you wrote! WE are very excited to be able to make plans for the future on the back part of our property. Everything is so preliminary, that I would not want to comment on it. We are also excited about our "sister" property, Hyatt Place at Faro Blanco, which is scheduled to open late this year.
At the present date, our hotel is the only brand hotel for many miles in either direction. We have been fortunate enough to maintain a clean and relaxing great place to stay for many guests that do frequent and enjoy our hotel many times a year.
We do understand your concerns about the noise in some parts of our hotel. This has been a big concern and we realize that it is something that we need to fix, as we really want our guests to have a pleasant stay. As a temporary solution, we recently also purchased some really neat sound machines that offers natural sounds of the ocean that seem to be helping in the rooms that experience the most noise. Please feel free to ask the front desk for one the next time you come here.
It makes us happy that you are a frequent traveler to the Florida Keys, and that you currently find us the “Best Choice”! No hotel could ask for more! If you are in the area any time soon, please stop in and say hello, so that we can update you on the progress of our plans for the back of the property.
I will also send your kind words to the ladies in the breakfast room! The do work very hard and we appreciate you recognizing them for that!

Thank you for writing and we truly hope to have you as a guest again in the future!

Sincerely,

Nancy Bennett
Sales/Marketing Manager
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
13201 Overseas Highway
Marathon, Florida 33050
Phone:305.289.0222
Fax: 305.743.5460
nbennett@spottswood.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,547)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

578 - 584 of 1,547 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014

Echoing the other reviews on here - This newer, typical Holiday Inn Express hotel. Very clean, nice staff, decent continental breakfast. Rooms were nice, clean, beds were comfortable (with two types of pillows - labeled "firm" and "soft" - I liked that!). Pool was clean, if a bit small, and there were plenty of lounge chairs and tables if you were so inclined.

Good location near most of the stuff on the island. Good eats nearby (The Tiki bar is nice, but go one street west and all the way down to the marina, Sparky's Bar and Grill. Really good food, good drinks, and a nice place with indoor and outdoor dining!)

Regarding the noise - yes, the walls are thin. This is my ONLY complaint. Not sure what they were thinking. We could hear the guy next room over snoring like he was in our room. Luckily I usually sleep with earplugs anyway, so it didn't bother me. But my daughter was a bit frustrated.

There really are not a lot of "big hotel" options on the islands, and this one worked for us.

Room Tip: Join the Holiday Inn "frequent flier club" or whatever they call it before checking in. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank cnyguy2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is very nice except the walls are paper thin. Clean & comfortable. Many activities available on site such as snorkeling, jet skiing, sunset cruise, kayaking. Nice pool area and tiki restaurant/bar next door. Only an hour from Key West. I would stay here again.

Stayed: July 2014
6  Thank Laura J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Clean hotel with nice pool and breakfast. No complaints other than the noise. The walls and ceilings seem to be paper thin. I can hear someone in the next room snoring at night. I do not know how that person even slept with the kids in the rooms upstairs running and jumping around. Other guest including myself complaining at the same time about the noise, front desk takes the complaint but does not stop the kids from jumping around all day and night. We were told there weren't any other rooms we could switch to.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BPapaMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Dear BPapaMI,

Thank you for sharing your experience online. We are very pleased to read that the cleanliness of the hotel, pool area, and complimentary breakfast were all to your liking. On the other hand, it seems that some challenges with the noise prevented you from fully enjoying your visit. We sincerely apologize for the shortcomings you have experienced. We appreciate you bringing this matter into our attention as this is our best means of ensuring similar incidents are avoided in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back and ensuring a positive stay experience on your next future visit.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Stopped here after snorkeling at Pennekamp State Park. Great location. Beautiful property. Clean, comfortable room, great amenities, great value, and beautiful views. Would have loved to stay longer. Great restaurant out back with live music! Very nice staff.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fred e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We arrived here after refusing to stay in South River Suits a few miles back, and was put instantly at ease. Helpful check in staff directed us to our room, which was nice, with a fantastically comfortable bed and a TV too. Our view was dreadful but as we were staying for only one night we didn't mind. The one large drawback was the loud droning of parked lorries outside the hotel. This was really rather loud and we did take a while to get to sleep. The breakfast was very nice with bagels, toast, eggs and juices and other slightly hotel-y options. The pool was nice but there were more lorries right next to the pool so the ambience was rather pathetic. The lorries are a negative but otherwise this is a good value for money place to stay for a couple of nights.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the front or the back. Aim for the middle do the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The quality was good and it was pretty clean, our room was small but that is not their problem. We asked for 2 queens , but we got ONLY two. No sofa, we were hoping for that. Otherwise, it was very nice.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Ola G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
5.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
5.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
4.1 mi away
Skipjack Resort Suites & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Lime Tree Bay Resort
0.8 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
816 reviews
5.3 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon

Address: 13201 Overseas Highway, Mm 53.5, Marathon, FL 33050-3548
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Marathon
Price Range: £123 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you for a fun-loving tropical vacation at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in the fabulous Florida Keys. Stay with us for fun in the sun and the convenience of local businesses, the Florida Keys Marathon Airport (MTH), and local island attractions. Our hotel is pet-friendly and 100% smoke free.The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon is located in the heart of the Florida Keys; a short drive from Key West. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Holiday Inn Express And Suites Marathon
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon Hotel Marathon
Holiday Inn Marathon
Marathon Holiday Inn
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing