We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona, España
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good value for money ”
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

Really good value for money.
Big and comfortable hotel room, nice fitness room, swimming pool and good free hot breakfast.
We had a really nice dinner at Turpoon Creek, tiki bar next to the hotel.
I fully recommend this hotel for family holidays in the keys.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank paquita373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    545
    607
    250
    71
    40
See reviews for
533
607
38
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stopping over for just 1 night on a quick trip down the Keys. Easy to find location at about the half way point. Staff was very helpful, and went above the bar to help with some issues with our "IHI points" with no request from us. We found property to very attractive.
The A/C was a bit noisy, but we received a good nights rest and the breakfast room was very good and quite the "gathering spot" for the free breakfast in the AM. Lots of breakfast seating in a lovely setting and in the evenings a restaurant on site with outdoor lounge with live music.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sal1710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Never knew mid-August could be tourist season in the Florida Keys, but the traffic was terrible, the restaurants jammed with noisy and badly behaved tourists. We much appreciated getting back to our suite at Holiday Inn Express. The staff is terrific, tending to our needs with courtesy and grace... The free breakfasts drew mobs to their very large breakfast room, but we did manage to squeeze in once or twice. It's a great place. And pet friendly. Our one complaint: one elevator is not enough for such a popular hotel.

Room Tip: We travel with a pet... This place is very pet friendly.. a room on the first floor near the back ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobbutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Very bad customer service.
At breakfast they refuse to warm up my cup of milk in their microwave, because "IT'S THE LAW" and the microwave "is not for pubblic use"!!!
It's normal???
Nothing like that ever happened in a hotel.
Staff rude and lazy.
Never again in this hotel.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ljuba D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy B, Director of Sales at The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Dear Recent Guest,

We are sorry to hear that you encountered this type of response from one of our staff members. I did pass this on to the department manager. In the future, please feel free to let out front desk know that you need some assistance and they will be able to help you. Thank you for being our guest and we do hope to have you back again!
Respectfully,

Nancy Bennett
Sales/Marketing Manager
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
13201 Overseas Highway
Marathon, Florida 33050
Phone:305.289.0222
Fax: 305.743.5460
nbennett@spottswood.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Island, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

I'm one of the rare business travelers in the Keys so I think it's important to note my needs/wants out of a property is different from you vacation travelers.

Although I prefer Hilton properties, IHG are the second choice. This particular Holiday Inn Express was the closest to where I needed to be.

Check-In was easy enough and my IHG status was noticed although I didn't receive any waters or snacks like most Express properties so not sure if they do something different here but there really weren't any extra benefits for being a Rewards Member at this property.

I was on the 3rd Floor (Top Floor) next to the elevator even though my profile specifies as far away from the elevator as possible. The room was large and spacious, really too large, I say too large because the AC could not cool it down.

The AC eventually cooled down the room but it took some tinkering with the unit and changing settings to get it to work properly.

The noise level as others mention is very high. Lots of banging, knocks, etc. Ear Plugs are a requirement for solid sleep without interruption.

Speaking or sleep, the bed in my particular room was unpleasant to say the least. Besides the plastic mattress cover that makes a ridiculous amount of noise with every little move, the mattress it self was about as firm as you can get, great for some but not for me.

There were stains on the carpet in my room, never a pleasant sign in your home away from home.

Lastly, I had dinner at the Tarpon Creek Bar & Grill, behind the hotel, it's not part of the hotel but it's basically connected. The food was good, beer was cold, view was great, but the service was poor.
You could tell they just didn't care because they will likely never see anyone they serve again, being from Orlando, I'm all too familiar with "tourist service" and that's what you have here.

I would never vacation here but in a pinch if I was traveling through, a one night stay would be OK.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank CCTVTrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy B, Director of Sales at The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Recent Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, and for being part of our IHG Reward’s Family!
We are disappointed to hear that you did encounter some problems with your stay. Nothing bothers us more than when a guest says that while they were recognized as a rewards member, that it is not a big deal to be part of the IHG Reward program at our hotel. I will be sure and show this to our Front Desk team, and alert the manager of this. Your preferences are important to us, we are sorry that we were not able to accommodate the room in the exact location that you would have preferred to be.
Our beds do come equipped with a bed bug protector, which, is the plastic cover that is over the mattress. We then put a soft mattress cover over that as well. We are sorry that it disturbed your sleep quality.
Thank you for letting us know about your stay. We are very disappointed that you did encounter so many things to your dislike. I feel that if I make comments on all of your dislikes, that I am making many excuses and that is not the goal here. We really would like to be as close to your preferences as possible, so feel free to contact when you are planning another business trip to our area, so that I may assist with a better stay!

Respectfully,
Nancy Bennett
Sales/Marketing Manager
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
13201 Overseas Highway
Marathon, Florida 33050
Phone:305.289.0222
Fax: 305.743.5460
nbennett@spottswood.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

I'm never disappointed when I come here...This place is my home away from home...The staff treats you like family. ..rooms are always clean and the breakfast is the best. ...Thanks a million.... The staff here are the Best. .

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank 81Hawkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocoee, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Like most of the reviews state this is not a well insulated hotel, I even brought my sound machine from home because of the reviews but it really didn't help. The room we had had pipes that knocked when the room upstairs used the hot water. I was disappointed that they didn't have a microwave or any grills on property. The plus side to this hotel is the cleanliness - you can tell they take pride in this. The hallways always smelled wonderful, were cleaned every morning and the when you asked for the rooms to be cleaned - they did it and were done well. The AC unit wasn't big enough for the room though - the humidity just didn't ever leave the room. I am a Florida native and used to it and it was still a little over whelming, the towels didn't really even dry over night. Breakfast is the usual for a holiday inn express. Good for an over night stay but I won't do multiply night again.

Room Tip: I would ask for a top floor at the end of the hallways to eliminate the noise. Pool view is ok but n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NativeDina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy B, Director of Sales at The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Recent Guest,

Thank you for your review - it is disappointing that the “pipes in the wall” affected the quality of your stay. Hopefully, we were able to assist you with this while you were here.
When the hotel was built, microwaves were not part of the original design. We have since started allocating microwaves to all of the rooms and are almost complete with the entire hotel.
We would also like to thank you for all your nice comments, I will be sure and pass them on to the housekeeping department!

Sincerely,
Nancy Bennett
Sales/Marketing Manager
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
13201 Overseas Highway
Marathon, Florida 33050
Phone:305.289.0222
Fax: 305.743.5460
nbennett@spottswood.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
5.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
5.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
0.8 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Seashell Beach Resort
Seashell Beach Resort
#11 of 17 in Marathon
268 reviews
4.1 mi away
Skipjack Resort & Marina
Skipjack Resort & Marina
#10 of 17 in Marathon
40 reviews
5.3 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon

Property: The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Address: 13201 Overseas Highway, Mm 53.5, Marathon, FL 33050-3548
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you for a fun-loving tropical vacation at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in the fabulous Florida Keys. Stay with us for fun in the sun and the convenience of local businesses, the Florida Keys Marathon Airport (MTH), and local island attractions. Our hotel is pet-friendly and 100% smoke free.The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon is located in the heart of the Florida Keys; a short drive from Key West. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Holiday Inn Express And Suites Marathon
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon Hotel Marathon
Holiday Inn Marathon
Marathon Holiday Inn
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing