We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Many, Many Negatives”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sombrero Resort & Marina
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Marathon
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Many, Many Negatives”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Ancient,noisy a/c units, no elevator in the tallest (4 story) building, no useful signage or directory, front desk staff gave wrong directions to our room, rooms scattered over 4 widely separated buildings, "antique" small screen TV's, kitchens not equipped with a useful array of utensils.
Worst hotel we've been at in decades. Go somewhere else!

Room Tip: We actually don't know of a "good" room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank George K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merri C, Manager at Sombrero Resort & Marina, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Dear George,

I apologize for missing the mark and not providing excellent service. We do our best to provide a clean room and a pleasant atmosphere. Our Front Desk Staff members always provide our guests with verbal directions as well as a property map with the room number circled.

Our housekeeping staff do their best to replenish items that are taken from the rooms and we will do better to identify items missing and replace them.

Thank you for your review.

Merri Chitty
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    70
    71
    58
    99
See reviews for
106
113
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
132 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

No one was there when we checked in, had to call for someone to show up. (they "close" after 5 pm!!) room was clean, AC very strong... no way to turn down the AC in the bedroom, the "fully stocked kitchen had one spoon, one small sauce pan, toaster didn't work correctly, front room TV was bad- very small and took 20 min to come on. Internet was VERY BAD, had to stand out on the balcony to get a signal most of the time. Still, the bed was comfortable, no bad odors present, shower worked fine, location was great, and we enjoyed our stay. If you expect modern rooms, etc. this is NOT the place. it is older and needs work, but the price was right albeit misleading from the online ad. (they tack on hidden charges) I never appreciate that type of advertising, and wish they would just say upfront how much it really costs. I would return if i got the same room (410) ( I have read bad reviews about other rooms)

Room Tip: get the building facing the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank regnadkcin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merri C, Manager at Sombrero Resort & Marina, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of the Sombrero Resort & Marina. We do close at 5 PM on Sunday and we are open until 9 PM - Monday through Saturday. We have after hour "On Call" service for all guests arriving after the Front Desk Closes.

We have supplied Unit # 410 with additional kitchen supplies including a new toaster.

The WI-FI system is being updated and additional equipment is being installed. The WI-FI is available in the common areas, by the pool and the den located next to the front desk.

All of our pricing is clear on all of our OTA - On Line Travel Agents, Expedia, Booking, Vizergy and Hotwire. We do not tack on additional charges.

Please indicate your desire to have room 410 when you next book with us and we will do our absolute best to get you in that room or a better room.

Thank you again for your review and we hope you see you back here at the Sombrero Resort & Marina soon.

Merri Chitty
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Can't remember what we paid, but it must have been cheap as we were trying to save money to facilitate longer in the Keys.

It's OK. Clean, basic. It's also close to the Turtle Hospital, which is a must visit.

I found it to be a bit dated and in need of some repair, plus the neighbouring guests were really loud, but the hotel can't really do much about that.

I would recommend it. You have such gorgeous scenery and things to do anyway, why would you be here for that much time?

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PCardiff82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merri C, Manager at Sombrero Resort & Marina, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Sombrero Resort & Marina. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and were able to take in some of the Marathon, FL attractions such as the Turtle Hospital.

We are doing our best to make improvements and hope you will give us another opportunity by visiting the Sombrero Resort & Marina when you are in the Marathon area.

Thank you again for your positive review and we hope you see you back here at the Sombrero Resort & Marina soon.

Merri Chitty
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2013

The property itself is nice, well lit and safe for a group of women travelling together. The pool, tennis courts, dockage areas were all nice as well. The staff was very friendly and spoke whenever we saw them and the other guests were very polite as well. The daily housekeeping services were very efficient in providing clean towels and removing of the trash. Very convenient with several grocers, retail and restaurants minutes away some just a 10 min walk.

The rest of my review will focus on the condition of the room. The room was very spacious and the A/C worked very well. The cleanliness/condition of the room was far less than desirable and run down. The floors were disgusting, we had to wear shoes or at least socks around because it turned our bare feet black within minutes of kicking off our shoes. There was mold on the shower curtain, the bathroom towel racks were broken off or very loose on the wall. We stayed for five nights and cooked in at least one meal a day. The range was missing nobs and the ones that were attached had no markings to indicate temperature, you could not tell of the burner was off or on, not safe (Also no smoke alarm). Same with the oven, there were no degree indicators so it was purely guessing on the temperature. The kitchen included two pots, one lid, no pans, skillets. The sofa was sunken in and it was not an option to sleep on it, matress was barely existant. With a deep detailed cleaning and less than $100 in repairs and additions this room would be much better.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank World13Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merri C, Manager at Sombrero Resort & Marina, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of the Sombrero Resort & Marina. I am pleased you enjoyed the pool, tennis courts and dockage at the Marina. Our staff works hard to provide great service to all our guest and I am glad they were helpful to you.

I do apologize the cleanliness did not meet your expectations. The rooms are individually being deep cleaned and issues resolved, such as the carpets, floors and furniture steamed clean. The shower curtains are continually washed with bleach and I will make sure this room is on the "Deep Clean" list. I have the Maintenance staff taking care of the towel bar, replace the stove and oven knobs and install a fire alarm. Housekeeping Supervisor has been tasked to review all aspects of this repair to make sure these issues do not reoccur. The housekeepers work diligently to clean the rooms and I again apologize we missed the mark with you.

Thank you for helping us improve and provide a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you give us an opportunity to overcome your initial experience by visiting us again soon.

Merri Chitty
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This hotel is located right next to the main road to Key West.
The staying was just OK. We got a room on the 3rd floor, which was large enough to have 2 adults, 2 kids and one baby.
Three things disturbed us:
1. The room door wasn't well-maintained. It was very hard to open it.
2. Strong smell of fish in fridge. I realize that fish are popular at this area- however- I don't think I have to have fish odor every time I open the fridge door.
3. We asked for a baby crib upon our reservation and mentioned it again at check-in. The staff told us that they are going to send a crib but it never happened.
We paid 108$ per night in early Auguset, which is OK.

Room Tip: Insist on room with no fish odor. Go and smell the fridge !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrEmanuele1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merri C, Manager at Sombrero Resort & Marina, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear Dr. Emanuele,

Thank you for your review of the Sombrero Resort & Marina. I apologize for not exceeding your expectations and for the refrigerator smell and for the crib delivery mishap.

We are not taking your dissatisfaction lightly and have reviewed your concerns with our team. We use your feedback to implement improvements to insure we provide a better experience.

Respectfully,

Merri Chitty
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miramar, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

The only ice machine in the place is broken WHAT? Kind of a run-down condo with a full kitchen utensils and all. Also, a balcony. Pool area was good, and it you like tennis there's a Great tennis area.

Room Tip: I didn't see a fitness center, and we really had no contact with room service. It really is like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucianoz28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merri C, Manager at Sombrero Resort & Marina, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of the Sombrero Resort & Marina. I apologize our ice machine was temporarily out of order during your stay. It has since been repaired. The Housekeeping and Maintenance staff are always working to improve our offering.

I am pleased you were able to enjoy the full kitchen, balcony, pool and tennis courts.

Thank you again for your review and we hope you see you back here at the Sombrero Resort & Marina soon.

Merri Chitty
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cortez, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Staff is helpful. Rooms have full kitchen. Good air conditioners. Good value pricing. For divers, it is all that one needs. Pull-out sofa should not be used as a bed, but we have stayed here several times a year for several years and we make it work.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have wi-fi signal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank captboby2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merri C, Manager at Sombrero Resort & Marina, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. The Sombrero Resort and Marina staff are all committed to each guest. We want every guest to have the best experience possible. We are happy you enjoyed your stay.

The full kitchen is a feature many of our guests enjoy and good air conditioners are always a plus in Florida.

Please accept my apologies for the Sofa Sleeper not meeting your needs and for the WI-FI reception difficulties. The WI-FI system is being updated and additional equipment is being installed. The WI-FI is available in the common areas, by the pool and the den located next to the front desk.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to your return.

Merri Chitty
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marathon
1.4 mi away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
4.1 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
8.1 mi away
Seashell Beach Resort
Seashell Beach Resort
#10 of 17 in Marathon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
1.2 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sombrero Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sombrero Resort & Marina

Property: Sombrero Resort & Marina
Address: 19 Sombrero Blvd, Marathon, FL 33050-2408 (Formerly Sombrero)
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Sombrero Resort & Marina 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Sombrero Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boatman_s Sombrero Resort & Marina Hotel Marathon
Boatman_s Sombrero Resort And Marina
Marathon Key Sombrero Hotel
Marathon Key Sombrero Resort & Lighthouse Marina
Sombrero Hotel
Sombrero Resort & Marina Marathon, Florida - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing