We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice resort - River Island”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Club Vacations At Orange Lake Resort
Ranked #18 of 155 Hotels in Kissimmee
Reviewed 8 May 2013

The staff were helpful and although I read horror stories on this site about time share pressures that was not my experience. A person did call to offer better prices on Disney tickets (and the prices were indeed better) But when the mentioned attending a presentation I declined and indicated there was no way I was going to sit through a "presentation". She asked if there was any way I would change my mind and when I said no she asked me to call a number if I did. That was the end of it. (if it hadn't been I would have just hung up anyway).

The resort was nice the pool and lazy river was great! Unfortunately the weather didn't cooperate the first two days there.

If you plan on going to the attractions I would strongly recommend getting a rental car. The resort is massive, there are shuttles for on the resort though. But a cab to the magic kingdom cost us $40 each way from the airport was $80.

When our flight arrived the shuttle driver was just leaving and his van was full he told us a cab was about the same price anyway. (no idea what the shuttle would actually cost as we didn't bother to check after the driver said that.)

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank alderion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,395 - 3,401 of 6,158 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2013

Orange lake was an amazing stay with my family for Disney. It was only about 15 mins away. The resort is huge! The pools are great. We had a 3 bedroom and 2 bedroom condo, which were so spacious and accommodated everyone. Have stayed here before and would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

Resort it's self is nice but this is the second time we have stayed there and by expanding so fast the existing rooms have been left to suffer and by adding so many new rooms the pool areas are extremely crowded. Our suite was nice at first glance but washer dryer didn't work well dishes came out of washing machine dirtier than they went went in and the condo as a whole had a dated feel. That being said location was great for exploring disney and other attractions as long as you have a car. It's nice to have a kitchen and eat some meals in room and the pool is nice if you don't mind the crowds. It is a time share and they do a hard sell and are not always nice when you refuse but that just kind of goes with the staying at a time share resort.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Samaidensmoms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Been an RCI member quite a while, and this was probably the best exchange I've ever had. It is a large resort over many acres, with so much to do we didn't scratch the surface. Had a 2 BR condo in the East Village; really a beautiful unit. Staff was fast and helpful with two small issues we had during the stay. The pools and golf would be great for families or those with the time. We sampled the food, shopping, pools and putt putt on site, and liked what we saw. You could just stay at this resort all week, but it would be like the old joke, 'so much going on at the station, I never did get to town'. We got to town, and just used the resort as a very comfortable hotel, with great amenities. Really prefer resorts now to hotels. Publix is right next door, and you can save big money on vacation by cooking your own meals.

Some reviews suggest that you decline the offer for the time share sales pitch. I did. From what I gather, the offer is 60 minutes of sales pitch for a discount on extras here at the resort. You really can't tell what you are going to want to do here the first time you go, so you could be listening to the pitch to get a discount on things of no value to you. Might be different if you are traveling with kids, but we wouldn't have used the facilities enough to make it worthwhile, anyway. Have done the time share thing in Orlando before, and got deep discount tickets to Disney. That was not an option here. They do have discounts to the attractions available at Orange Lake, and someone called to make sure we knew that. Another time I might take advantage of that.

We made this our base for a conference in Orlando which took most of our time. The commute was not a problem, and in the evenings we got to enjoy trips to Downtown Disney and Celebration, neither of which you need a ticket for. There is so much available in greater Orlando, you can find a lot to do. I would recommend Orange Lake as a great base for your Orlando adventure.

Room Tip: We had a condo in East; only negative was the second bedroom window faced the hallway, so curtains h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VTyankee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I stayed at Orange Lake after I returned from a cruise. The 2 bedroom that we had was very spacious. I requested to stay by the basketball courts where my son and his friends could play ball and this was granted. My friend stayed at another place but when she visited us at this resort they stayed there until bedtime as ther was so much for our children to do.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cassandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the orange lake resort as a part of an RCI exchange. While this isn't the type of resort we usually stay at the rooms were very nice. We were given a villa in the west village, while it is the oldest part of the property it has been nicely renovated and was quite large. The only draw back to this type of resort is we had to drive to the pool and it was always quite crowded. The staff is very nice and quick to address any problems. The restaurants on site were very good and competitively priced.
Skip the time share presentation if you are not interested. It is not worth the time or what they offer you if you already know you don't want to buy with them. While they promise you a gift at the end of the presentation it was not what they promised us. They did however give us 60 dollars for our time but it wasent worth the layered sales we revived while we were in the presentation.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jimmy555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

The grounds and facilities were impressive. We were strongly persuaded to do the "Tour", which ended up being a hard sell for time share. Much longer than the 1-1/2 hours they initially estimate...it was more like 3 hours. You may get an incentive out of it...we did, but if you really don't want a time share, just be persistent and let them know you are not interested. It will cut down your time with them. It's worth the stay if you can stomach the Time Share sales pitch.

Other than that, it was a great resort. There is plenty to do at this resort ($$).

They have 2 - 9 hole and 2 - 18 holes on the grounds. We golfed on the 2 - 18 hole courses and you will not be disappointed. The Reserve is not as well maintained as The Legends, but both have a great level of difficulty and enough challenges.

It is very close to the Disney parks and about 20-25 mins from SeaWorld and Universal.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luv2vacation24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kissimmee hotels
6.6 mi away
Quality Suites The Royale Parc Suites
8.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Orlando Lake Buena Vista South
6.4 mi away
Reunion Resort, A Salamander Golf & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Maingate East
1.9 mi away
Liki Tiki Village
Liki Tiki Village
#27 of 155 in Kissimmee
2,911 reviews
8.8 mi away
Star Island Resort and Club
Star Island Resort and Club
#20 of 155 in Kissimmee
2,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Club Vacations At Orange Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Club Vacations At Orange Lake Resort

Address: 8505 W Irlo Bronson Memorial Hwy, Kissimmee, FL 34747-8217 (Formerly Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kissimmee
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
#15 Family Hotel in Kissimmee
#16 Romantic Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range: £86 - £278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Club Vacations At Orange Lake Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 2478
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you step into your Florida vacation rental, you’ll know you’ve found your new vacation home! Our family friendly resort is right next door to the Walt Disney World® Resort and nearby many Orlando attractions. Enjoy spacious hotel-suite/condo-style studios, and 1, 2, and 3 bedroom villas from 430 to 2,475 square feet complete with living room and washer/dryer. Studio washer/dryers are located on each floor. Save money by preparing great family meals in your kitchen which includes tableware and cookware. Upgrade from the ordinary with a luxurious Signature Collection two-bedroom villa in River Island. Wi-Fi, parking, and an internal resort shuttle are free to all guests! Our sprawling resort near Disney is a perfect alternative to Orlando area hotels. We have so much more to offer! You’ll love our 9 different dining options, 7 pools- including waterslides and a lazy river, 4 golf courses, 3 arcades, 3 fitness centers, 2 mini golf courses, daily activities, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Club Vacations At Orange Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Kissimmee
Orange Lake Resort And Country Club
Orange Lake Kissimmee
Orange Lake Resort Country Club
Kissimmee Holiday Inn
Orange Lake Country Club
Orange Lakes West Village
Orange Lake Resort Florida
Orange Lake West Village
Orange Lake Resort Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing