We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall okay, but could have been so much more”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Club Vacations At Orange Lake Resort
Ranked #19 of 152 Hotels in Kissimmee
Mid-Atlantic
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Overall okay, but could have been so much more”
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We visited this resort through an RCI exchange. At 3:30pm, the check in line was quite lengthy. I was, literally, 30th in line, so we left to get lunch, grocery provisions (at the Publix on the resort property), etc, and checked in around 6. By then, check-in went well, but I join others in not liking being escorted directly to the sales desk where the pressure was on. I had to refuse many, many times before the salesperson let me go. I recommend just saying no to the escort and avoiding the sales desk entirely. Then, unplug your phone to avoid the sales calls and annoying cheery activity calls.
After driving through what looked to be an ordinary suburban subdivision, we finally found our turn for the North Village (it is not exceptionally well marked). Our unit was on the bottom floor of the apartment-type building. We backed up to the pool, however, we could see nothing but vegetation outside of our walk-out, tiny, enclosed porch. For our feeling of security, we kept it locked the entire time. The unit was reasonably clean and nicely decorated. Overall, it is outdated, but fine. The bathroom was very disappointing. The floor wasn't exceptionally clean, the tub walls had enough mildew to make me feel that it wasn't well cared for, and the tub floor had either ground in dirt or quite a bit of wear (we weren't sure which). Either way, the tub floor was dark, mottled gray. (A small piece of advice...buy your own toilet paper and tissues...those provided are the thinnest paper products we've ever used). The king bed was quite comfortable (I have arthritis in both hips and usually toss and turn in hotel beds). The bed pillows were also comfy, however, the provided sofa-bed pillows were old and the foam was all clumped up There were no sheets for the sofabed at all, just a blanket. We disassembled the master bed linens to accommodate our son's bedding needs. We visited one of the restaurants on-site for shrimp night. The restaurant lighting was fluorescent green and the menu was very limited and expensive. We had one beer and left for Miller's Ale House, which is on the other end exit of the resort (closer to the North Village). Very good food, reasonably priced, relaxed, cheap PBR and nice people.
It was cold while we were there (high 30's - low 50's). We didn't swim in the pools. We did want to use the hot tub, tho...which the North Village pool does not have. We would have had to drive to the main pool or South pool, which would then mean driving back in wet suits. We definitely felt "out of the loop" being located in the North area. We couldn't really walk to many of the amenities. Yes, a shuttle is available (and we had a car), but having such a large resort spreads the fun way too far apart. We certainly would have liked being in the main area much more, and would probably then want to return to Orange Lake Resort. As it is, we didn't derive any real benefit from being out in left field. We could have been staying in an apartment anywhere in that area, not a well reviewed resort. For that reason, I do not think that we will return there.

Room Tip: Ask to be in the East or South Villages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Slainte2U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations At Orange Lake Resort, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Greetings, thank you for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate you taking the time to give us a detailed overview of your stay. We’re pleased to hear that you utilized RCI and gave us an opportunity to host your family trip. We apologize for the delay you experienced upon arrival at our resort. We want to make sure that you are completely comfortable with your villa and encourage you to let us know how we can make that happen while on site. Our staff is always willing to assist in providing additional linens if there is a need. You’re right, Orange Lake is larger than a typical comparable resort and each of our villages has unique characteristics to appeal to different personalities. Around each resort pool, you are sure to find bathrooms or locker rooms to be able to change after enjoying the water. We hope that you give us another opportunity to show you how much fun a vacation with us can be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,815 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,407
    1,810
    734
    437
    427
See reviews for
3,994
634
41
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,409)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Stayed here in August 2013 with my boyfriend and his family. Everything was perfect! Apartment was really spacious with three bedrooms, everything was spotless! Didn't spend much time in the apartment or the resort itself because we traveled here to go to Disney, Universal, Seaworld etc. This resort is the ideal location to travel to these parks by hired car. Plenty of parking spaces available outside the apartments. Didn't use the facilities like the pool etc but did go and have a look and it looked beautiful! Would definitely stay here again but I would stay for longer so there would be time to try out the pool and other things the resort has to offer (we only stayed for two weeks). Highly recommend these apartments!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jess W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Love this place .This is our 5th time now.so much to do. and good entertainment. Great water park ,fun especially lazy river. Great all round holiday for all ages . location ideal for Disney and universal studios.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juegreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Love staying with you all! Wife and I love the pool, we are like big kids there :) and spending time with kids in the water is always a plus!! When traveling there, kids always say to book our rooms there with you all! Guest is very nice also

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brady J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations At Orange Lake Resort, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Hello Brady! Welcome back from your recent stay. We’re so glad to hear you had a relaxing stay with plenty of fun! Our resort has activities for everyone but we definitely think there's nothing wrong for adults to feel like kids again. We can’t wait to have you back for more good times at Orange Lake!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the Great Northwest
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

This was my first trip traveling with my family and my daughters first flight. Staff went out of their way. Villa was outstanding. Now my kids expect every trip to be this good. Honestly we could have just lived here the 4 days and not gone to anything Disney. Stores across the way allow you to stock up and enjoy being inside. Close restaurants let you experience Florida.

Room Tip: Keep your eyes open to see all the nature around you. Lizards, storms, etc are everywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doc_Holiday1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations At Orange Lake Resort, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Hi there! Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate you choosing us to host your first family vacation. It looks as though the trip was a success and we can’t be happier to hear that it exceeded your expectations. We hope to see you again for another great family trip in Orlando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Have stayed at Orange Lake many times now and find the place close to faultless. The area is massive with several different pool areas. River Island is excellent, but you do need to hire a ring as you are not allowed to use your own floating devices. Time Share can be a bit in your face sometimes,however a quick no thankyou is usually enough to ward off any sellers. Villas are spacious and luxurious...tennis villas are my favourite, housekeeping are always on the ball and reception area are always polite an helpfull. Orange Lake is also very close to all the Disney Parks and you can even see Magic Kingdoms fireworks from certain areas. Would love to come here every year but due to the ridiculous rising cost of travelling from Scotland our holidays here are becoming a lovely but distant memory....Highly recommend this place

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisle, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We stayed for a week on a time share in a 2 bedroom, 2 bath unit. The unit was very clean and the location was fabulous. Lots of fun onsite with heated swimming pools, beach volleyball, mini golf as well as indoor arcades and fitness centers. We were about 10 minutes from Magic Kingdom gates, 15 minutes to SeaWorld and 20 to Universal Studios. Also drove to Kennedy Space Center and that was about an hour.

Would definitely stay there again, I have nothing but good things to say about it!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations At Orange Lake Resort, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Hello Marie! We appreciate your review and thank you for recently staying with us. We’re so pleased to hear that our resort was able to offer you lots of family fun and a relaxing vacation. So glad to see you took advantage of our proximity to local attractions as well. We hope to have another opportunity to host your family on a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kissimmee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Caribe Royale Orlando
#87 of 337 in Orlando
2,988 reviews
Florida Center
Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Club Vacations At Orange Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Club Vacations At Orange Lake Resort

Property: Holiday Inn Club Vacations At Orange Lake Resort
Address: 8505 W Irlo Bronson Memorial Hwy, Kissimmee, FL 34747-8217 (Formerly Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kissimmee
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
#16 Romantic Hotel in Kissimmee
#17 Family Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Club Vacations At Orange Lake Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 2478
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Premiere Family Vacation Resort in Orlando. The Holiday Inn Club Vacations Resort offers your family an unparalleled Florida vacation experience. Our Orange Lake Resort is next door to Walt Disney World Parks and Animal Kingdom. At our resort in Orlando you'll discover the wonders of a 12-acre Waterpark with a tropical lazy river, 7 pools and an 80-acre lake with watersports. You can even watch your little ones dance in concert with a dancing fountain. Get a head start on the fun with your own personal attraction ticket concierge located in the lobby at check in. Our 1450-acre Orlando resort hotel offers each member of the family interactive activities like the Gatorland Alligator Show where you can meet a gator face-to-face, 36 holes of fun at the West Village Putt-Putt Golf, a bowling alley, arcades and 54 holes of golf. What's more, we even provide a convenient shuttle to all our resort's activities. Our villas pamper you with the unexpected amenities like spa-inspired baths and fully equipped kitchens. Our deluxe Orlando resort provides a grocery shopping service, nine restaurants and did we mention free parking and high-speed Internet access? Your perfect Florida vacation begins at Orange Lake Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Club Vacations At Orange Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Kissimmee
Orange Lake Resort And Country Club
Orange Lake Kissimmee
Orange Lake Resort Country Club
Kissimmee Holiday Inn
Orange Lake Country Club
Orange Lakes West Village
Orange Lake Resort Florida
Orange Lake West Village
Orange Lake Resort Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing