We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre at Best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Club Vacations At Orange Lake Resort
Ranked #20 of 154 Hotels in Kissimmee
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Orange Lake Resort check in went smoothly, until I realized they forgot to give me a room key. Cash-less approach at this resort is a great idea, however, just to buy a water the cashier expects a tip! Rooms were really nice. Resort is HUGE, very crowded with LOTSA kids, so if you are not in the mood for children everywhere, skip this one! Pools were nice but crowded. Especially enjoyed the lazy river, but they charge you $9/day to use a tube. Salespeople are very persistent here and not very organized. Overall, I give it 3 ***

Room Tip: Try and get a room near the pool or lake, much closer to these areas is more convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CarolGeraghty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations At Orange Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Hello Carol. We appreciate you choosing us as your vacation host while in the Orlando area. Welcome back from your recent stay. We’re glad to hear that your check-in went smoothly but apologize for the inconvenience involving your room key. You’re right, our resort is cashless and there is room to leave gratuity in the majority of our registers. Leaving a tip for any of our staff is always at your discretion. Some of our amenities on site do come at a nominal fee, but many of our amenities such as pools, basketball, and kids’ golf are at no cost to you. We hope that you consider us in the future so we can show you just how fun a vacation with us can be.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,003)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,606 - 2,612 of 6,003 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014

These guys just don't have it together! We are owners here and have had issues every since! They gave us the wrong room. No one could help us. Go straight to Disney Club Vacations and it would probably save some stress!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank richfletch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations At Orange Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Hello Rich. We’re very happy to have to have you as an owner but it’s disheartening to hear you feel you’re not getting the most out of your ownership. We always welcome feedback from owners to let us know how we’re doing and ways to improve overall owner experience. In an attempt to learn more we have contacted you via private message. We look forward to hearing from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My wife and I stayed here with our little girl for 2 weeks between December 8th and 22nd 2013. What an absolutely stunning resort. sheer beauty from every angle.
The units we stayed in was a 1 story 2 bed Villa, very large in size, extremely comfortable and catered for every need.
There are a great number of bars and restaurants spread out between the 4 villages which make up this wonderful resort so you are spoiled for choice, and a large number of them will deliver to your unit. We frequented the Bahama breeze bar and grill most often. The staff were really friendly and made you feel right at home.
The whole resort is constantly being maintained, and there is a good security presence which lets you feel safe in your surroundings and just lets you get on with enjoying your vacation.
I would recommend to family and friends, and I most certainly will be returning.

Room Tip: Springer Circle is home to 1 and 2 bed villa's in a lovely neighborhood setting. Directly across...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bryanb82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon B, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations At Orange Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Hi Bryan! It’s great to hear from our guests and always appreciate their feedback. We’re glad you were pleased with your experience and that the resort’s service, accommodations, and overall quality met your expectations. Our team constantly looks for ways to make our resort the best it can be and seek to make it a real home away from home for our guests. We welcome you back from your visit and hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I posted this review to the Orange Lake Resort site but they chose not to post it:

It greatly saddens me to write this review. I checked in to Orange Lake on Friday, April 25th for my daughter's birthday. We had been planning a long weekend celebration for her for months. Because of work schedules, our entire party arrived in 3 separate vehicles at different times. When I got to the Security Gate on Friday I asked if I needed to provide the names of the additional guests for them to gain entry. I was told that they only needed my room number and my name at the gate. I had been to the resort as a guest last summer and this was the only information I provided so it made sense. When I checked in, I again asked the young lady at the Check-In counter the protocol for my additional guests to gain entry. She confirmed what the security guard had just said -- room number and the name the reservation is under.

I provided the information to the remaining guests and when the first car arrived they didn't even ask them for a room number let alone my name. They were permitted to drive right in. When the second, and last guest arrived, he provided the required information and was denied entry. He even produced the text message I sent him with all of the information on it. He was told to pull off to the side of the road and that he could not enter because his name wasn't on a list. They told him I had to go up to my room (I was no where near my room at the time) and call from there to confirm that he was permitted to enter the resort. My previous guest weren't even asked for a room number.

Here is the kicker.... the guests that were provided full access without needing to provide a room number were white. The guest that was humiliated and embarrassed and not allowed to enter was black. My daughter was in tears because her family member was denied entry. She is 8 years old and she knew the reason immediately.

When I reported the incident to Customer Care, I was met with extreme sympathy from the 2 ladies I spoke with. One of them was actually in tears with me. I was directed to go report the incident to the head of Security and he was less sympathetic. Although I could tell he wasn't thrilled by what happened, he was more concerned with getting the people who told me that I didn't need to leave the additional guest's names at the security station in trouble. When I told him 2 separate employees with Orange Lake told me the same thing, his response was "the people at check-in don't know the procedure". Huh?

I spoke with several Owners and they all stated that they have never had to provide the guest's names and that the guest providing their room number and name was the protocol they always understood to be true and was followed. They had NEVER had a guest rejected. They all stated, however, all of their guest's had been white.

When we were checking out today every person in line ahead of us was complaining to a staff member about a bad experience. When I told him mine his response was "Well, we don't know exactly what happened in that car." I guess I should have told my professional, 50 year old black family member who was excited to spend the day and celebrate with his daughter to make sure he hides his Skittles and Iced Tea so the security guard won't suspect him of harm.

This is one of those events that will stick with our family and will not be forgotten. Perhaps I should have clarified to security and the front desk that one of my guests was black. I might have gotten a different answer as to the protocol for gaining entry to a resort you have already paid for to spend time with your family.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Jodi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley U, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations At Orange Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

TripAdvisor review. We strictly prohibit discrimination of any kind. We provide consistent training to our employees and enforce our zero tolerance policy. In addition, we remain committed to providing the highest standards of customer service, and pride ourselves on exceeding our guests’ expectations. Should you wish to discuss your concerns directly, please respond to our private message with a telephone number and someone will give you a call. Otherwise, rest assured that we take comments such as these seriously. Again, please accept our sincerest apologies for the experience you described.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We bought this timeshare on line, and were very pleased. The unit which had 2 bedrooms, and 2 baths, dining room, kitchen, living room, patio, laundry, was excellent. The pools were well maintained, and beautifully decorated, with a lazy river and a beach type set up i. One of them. There was a shuttle that ran every half hour between villages, and to other pools and recreation areas. Wifi was strong and very good. There was a security guard at the gate to get in, and many restaurants on the same road.

I can't wait to return next year!

Room Tip: Room location doesn't really matter - you can either drive or take the shuttle to where you want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vacationkingCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley U, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations At Orange Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Hi there, we’re so happy to hear from you about your getaway with us. We especially love hearing from our owners. You give a great overview of what our guests can expect from a stay with us. We can’t wait to see you again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We have stayed in various places around Orlando area and I think it is the best. Everything is immaculate, we stayed in the West Village as we prefer a 'bungalow' as opposed to a condo. The interior and soft furnishing are of top quality. The facilites on site from the golf to the lazy river cannot be faulted. Wifi is easy - no passwords or just 1 device per condo rubbish. I cannot rate this place high enough; we did not want to leave and will be back as soon as we can!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouiseTraceyW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

My extended family and I set out for a vacation staying at Orange Lake, a resort we've enjoyed plenty before. While the resort is beautiful our day by the pool yesterday was cut short to find out that a pipe had burst in our building and much to our disappointment many of our things got soaked including electronic devices which are now ruined. The resort not so quickly shuttled us off to a different comparable unit with a few slight differences. My family (which required 4 different rooms) remained within the vicinity of each other, however it was no longer 4 rooms next to each other as we had enjoyed. Not only were the units not together, the new units we were brought to were not at all prepared for guests as the rooms we originally had; lacking toilet paper, an awful view, smaller master bed and bathtub, plugs that do not work, broken ice makers, lack of ceiling fans and an older unit in general. Due to this room swap our room keys which acted as credit cards for the CASHLESS resort were declined at dinner, rather embarrassing and caused quite the hassle to pay our whopping bill. Upon going to see what the resort was planning on doing for us, we were offered a measly free breakfast. A FREE BREAKFAST?!? That's all? I don't think so. This water damage has added a much unwanted and unnecessary time constraint on our remaining 3 days at the resort and a free breakfast is not going to suffice. Especially considering all the running around I now must do to make up for the damage I don't even have time for my stupid free breakfast. At check-in one of our guests had a difficult time with the reservation and the same guest had further more difficulties with her credit card and for her a breakfast was no where near sufficient. Although my family has already booked for next year, prior to all of these circumstances we will be strongly reconsidering, no matter how great of a rate we were offered. The resort may be beautiful, but the guest accommodation for such a massive curveball in our vacation is not nearly adequate. In the past we have never experienced they're awful guest accommodations which is why we have continued to return, but Orange Lake; you may have just lost faithful guests of your resort believing that such an atrocity could be made up for with a free breakfast.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Stephanie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kissimmee
Florida Center
Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort
Caribe Royale Orlando
#87 of 339 in Orlando
3,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Orlando
#53 of 339 in Orlando
5,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Club Vacations At Orange Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Club Vacations At Orange Lake Resort

Address: 8505 W Irlo Bronson Memorial Hwy, Kissimmee, FL 34787 (Formerly Holiday Inn Club Vacations Orlando - Orange Lake Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kissimmee
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
#16 Romantic Hotel in Kissimmee
#17 Family Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range: £82 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Club Vacations At Orange Lake Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 2478
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Premiere Family Vacation Resort in Orlando. The Holiday Inn Club Vacations Resort offers your family an unparalleled Florida vacation experience. Our Orange Lake Resort is next door to Walt Disney World Parks and Animal Kingdom. At our resort in Orlando you'll discover the wonders of a 12-acre Waterpark with a tropical lazy river, 7 pools and an 80-acre lake with watersports. You can even watch your little ones dance in concert with a dancing fountain. Get a head start on the fun with your own personal attraction ticket concierge located in the lobby at check in. Our 1450-acre Orlando resort hotel offers each member of the family interactive activities like the Gatorland Alligator Show where you can meet a gator face-to-face, 36 holes of fun at the West Village Putt-Putt Golf, a bowling alley, arcades and 54 holes of golf. What's more, we even provide a convenient shuttle to all our resort's activities. Our villas pamper you with the unexpected amenities like spa-inspired baths and fully equipped kitchens. Our deluxe Orlando resort provides a grocery shopping service, nine restaurants and did we mention free parking and high-speed Internet access? Your perfect Florida vacation begins at Orange Lake Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Club Vacations At Orange Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Kissimmee
Orange Lake Resort And Country Club
Orange Lake Kissimmee
Orange Lake Resort Country Club
Kissimmee Holiday Inn
Orange Lake Country Club
Orange Lakes West Village
Orange Lake Resort Florida
Orange Lake West Village
Orange Lake Resort Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing