We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst night EVER”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shining Light Inn & Suites
Ranked #123 of 152 Hotels in Kissimmee
Pensacola, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worst night EVER”
Reviewed 13 May 2011

I understand this is only like 25 bucks a night, but I at least expected it to be decent. We reserved 3 nights and checked out by the 2nd night. I rated it a 1 but it is definately a ZERO star. Why?

1. Bad smell in room
2. TV didn't work
3. Towels were dirty
4. Bed was dirty (We had to go to walmart and buy a blanket because it was too gross to sleep on)
5. Floors were filty (I had to wear shoes because it was so sticky)
6. Pool was green
7. Walls were dirty
8. The smell of the room made my clothes smell bad
9. Hardly any water came out of the faucets
10. Did not feel safe
11. Worst hotel I have ever heard about or stayed in
12. No hairdryer, phone, alarm clock, iron
13. The description says it has a fridge and a microwave....IT DOES NOT.
14. All of the furniture was ruined and/or chipped

Unless you don't mind all of this, stay here. We transferred to Springhill by Marriott and it was $30 more a night...WELL worth the extra money. The Marriott made us feel like royalty compared to Gold Star. Do NOT stay at Gold Star...it's beyond nasty.

Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank jocro22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    10
    6
    2
    25
See reviews for
18
16
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Celebration, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2010

I guess I've just been lucky when it comes to hotel rooms most of the time because everything about this hotel is good. Compared to Hyatt or Marriott it might be decent but it's a good place to stay at night nonetheless.

I got a double bed room, the room was very clean, beds were made, bathroom was clean. I love how spacious the room is compared to a lot of other better names hotel. The towels are clean, the bathroom counter is long, great for women since we have so much stuffs. There's a table and a chair in the room which is perfect if you have business to do. The A/C unit is fine, no loud noises.

There's a microwave and fridge included which is one of the reasons I chose this hotel. Other hotels would have charge a $10 fee a day to have just either the fridge or microwave and $20 for both.
It's a bargain. I got the room for $25 a night, couldn't ask for more. Everything is clean and I will definitely come back to stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crave4m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 November 2010

We'd never tried this motel before, but we decided to give it a try and booked a room online. Of course, we didn't expect a five-star place for $20 per night, but what we had to deal with was ridiculous. #1: Check-in was a long process (about 15-20 min.)--it was about 10:30 PM, and there wasn't a line in front of us. #2: When we got to our room, the lock and/or key cards were malfunctioning. It was cold outside, and it took several minutes to get in. #3: When we finally got the door unlocked, we noticed a bad smell in the room. Guess what? THE TOILET WAS UNFLUSHED AND LOADED WITH BLOODY TOILET TISSUE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! #4:The inside upper lock was half-ripped off the door frame . Hadn't anybody seen that?? We called down to the office, complained, and were given another room. When we got there, we encountered #s 5 through 11: the room had a strong, unpleasant chemical smell, the carpet needed vacuuming, the upholstery was stained and dirty, there was debris in the bathtub, the AC unit was VERY loud (difficult to sleep with that thing on), there were little splashes on the bathroom door that looked like urine, and there wasn't a SINGLE battery in the TV remote. Unbelievable. If our room had simply been CLEAN, it would have been an OK place to stay...the price was great, the location was good, and the exterior was well-kept. But that was our first and LAST time staying there. We don't recommend this motel to anyone until the housekeeping improves. There are many better budget motels in Kissimmee with comparable rates---you don't have to settle for this. Big disappointment.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LCS1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kissimmee hotels

Rowlett, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 21 September 2010

Do not book a vacation home with Gold Star Vacation Homes! They lock the temp control to 78 degrees after a long hot day at the parks this is not a fun thing to have to come home to. The homes are dirty and could use some painting!! If you have loved ones with you with heart problems most of you know that you cannot store some of the medications at that temp!! Very Dissapointed!!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennyb0523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 21 August 2010

This motel is not a 4 star but for the price it was great and better than I expected. The room was clean, A/C worked great, very quiet and housekeeping kept us supplied with clean towels and empty trash every day. Close to Walmart, restaurants and only 10 minutes from SeaWorld. My daughter used the pool every night. I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mimi547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2010

My wife and I stayed here for four nights at the beginning of May and paid $20 plus tax a night. For that price the Goldstar Inn is good value, it's location for the parks especially the Disney ones is great and is also near loads of restaurants to eat from at night. The rooms were clean and don't think for $20 we had any complaints at all

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank johnnywilko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ypsilanti, mi
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2010

We had 2 rooms $25 each, very clean& functional. Pool not heated. Has 2 one bedroom suites for families. Good place to stay for just one night on a budget. But no extras, no breakfast, no iron, older tv, no coffee pot.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chino53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kissimmee hotels
0.2 mi away
Sevilla Inn
Sevilla Inn
#79 of 152 in Kissimmee
165 reviews
2.0 mi away
Magic Castle Inn and Suites
Magic Castle Inn and Suites
#101 of 152 in Kissimmee
120 reviews
3.4 mi away
Roomba Inn & Suites Orlando
Roomba Inn & Suites Orlando
#106 of 152 in Kissimmee
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Maingate Lakeside Resort
Maingate Lakeside Resort
#96 of 152 in Kissimmee
2,533 reviews
2.1 mi away
Magic Moment Resort and Kids Club
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Kissimmee West
Days Inn Kissimmee West
#62 of 152 in Kissimmee
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shining Light Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shining Light Inn & Suites

Property: Shining Light Inn & Suites
Address: 4600 W. Irlo Bronson Memorial Highway, Kissimmee, FL 34746-5319 (Formerly Goldstar Inn & Suites)
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 152 Hotels in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shining Light Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Shining Light Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westmont Inn And Suites Kissimmee
Westmont Inn&Suites Kissimmee Hotel Kissimmee
Goldstar Hotel Kissimmee
Shining Light Inn & Suites Kissimmee, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing