We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for a family holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shining Light Inn & Suites
Ranked #124 of 154 Hotels in Kissimmee
Reviewed 4 September 2012

I never read the other reviews properly prior to booking.  Overall rating was impressive , I think.  We only wanted a place to sleep between hitting the parks so the extras didn't mean much so we stuck with it but won't be going back.  Reception was manned but locked when we arrived, 22:00ish. Booked in relatively ok no problems with the staff member but not an impressive greeting. Round the corner to the car park, should have known then, cars with no wings, flat tyres, older cars obviously not rentals most if not all were there for the 13  nights that we were there.  Ground floor room, a bit dated and not the cleanest.  Overheard interesting conversations that some of the other guests were having on their mobiles, highlighted that they were not holiday makers but people looking for a cheap bed for a while, certainly never encouraged us to stay there.  Someone else described it as more like a halfway house thas not too far away with the description.  House keeping was poor never changed bedding in the 13 nights.  Bins were not emptied on a daily basis so from that its safe to assume that house keeping was not done on a daily basis either.  We never paid a lot but quite sure that we could have got a lot better for very little more.  We will put it down as a learning experience so please learn at our expense and steer well clear.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SMac1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
There are newer reviews for Shining Light Inn & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2012

We were booked in for a couple of weeks, we stayed for one very sleepless night.. Dirty, no wardrobe, not the name advertised (is this legal?) it's called Goldstar Inn... it's a motel, shower head rusty, bath marked with cigarette burns, air conditioning noisy, curtains hanging off the rail.. bed felt damp, I was actually afraid to take off my clothes because the place had such an awful atmosphere, we thought we'd be murdered in the night....
Close it down.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Geraldine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

The Hotel name is Goldstar Inn. Is near everything but the MOTEL is dirty. The rooms have fridge and microwave but the rooms are old and dirty. The towels was dirty and have long hairs in it. The bath tub have mold and stains. Doors were damaged and the security lock of the door was screwed a lot of times. The lobby is in nice condition and in the mornings they have coffe. But this motel is too dirty to stay. In the weekends the motel get a little busy of people and you heard people talking and walking til 4 am. I will not stay here any more.

Room Tip: Rooms on the right side have more movement than the left side. Makes you feel more secure.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jose F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

hotel was rated three star but it is a one star tv did not work, air conditioner was loud, the name was different on sign overall not a very pleasant stay would not recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: do not recommend
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Makjeev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

This hotel was a NIGHTMARE!!! DO NOT STAY HERE!!!.. The room was disgusting dirty, The staff had an attitude when I arrived the room I had booked was not available. They said they were putting in the a better room. The cabinet was broken, carpet and bed appear as if they have not been cleaned..the towels where dirty along with the sheets, There were no safes in the room..no wifi connection that I could fine.. The room smelled and when I called expedia I was told we can try and get your money back. Expedia call the hotel and the person from the front desk call my room at 7:30 am in the morning with an attitude. This is the worse hotel I have ever stay at. no irons in the room. The clean the bathroom and made it look worse with stain.. I could not believe. DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL SAVE YOURSELF

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

The only thing that lacks is closet. Excellent customer service. Great air conditioner. Very clean. If you are in a budget, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ultimately
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2011

I understand this is only like 25 bucks a night, but I at least expected it to be decent. We reserved 3 nights and checked out by the 2nd night. I rated it a 1 but it is definately a ZERO star. Why?

1. Bad smell in room
2. TV didn't work
3. Towels were dirty
4. Bed was dirty (We had to go to walmart and buy a blanket because it was too gross to sleep on)
5. Floors were filty (I had to wear shoes because it was so sticky)
6. Pool was green
7. Walls were dirty
8. The smell of the room made my clothes smell bad
9. Hardly any water came out of the faucets
10. Did not feel safe
11. Worst hotel I have ever heard about or stayed in
12. No hairdryer, phone, alarm clock, iron
13. The description says it has a fridge and a microwave....IT DOES NOT.
14. All of the furniture was ruined and/or chipped

Unless you don't mind all of this, stay here. We transferred to Springhill by Marriott and it was $30 more a night...WELL worth the extra money. The Marriott made us feel like royalty compared to Gold Star. Do NOT stay at Gold Star...it's beyond nasty.

Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
5  Thank jocro22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kissimmee hotels
0.2 mi away
Sevilla Inn
Sevilla Inn
#73 of 154 in Kissimmee
166 reviews
2.0 mi away
Magic Castle Inn and Suites
Magic Castle Inn and Suites
#96 of 154 in Kissimmee
121 reviews
1.5 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Suites Lake Front Park Kissimme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Champions World Resort
Champions World Resort
#33 of 154 in Kissimmee
2,149 reviews
0.9 mi away
Seasons Florida Resort
Seasons Florida Resort
#16 of 154 in Kissimmee
601 reviews
2.1 mi away
Magic Moment Resort and Kids Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shining Light Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shining Light Inn & Suites

Address: 4600 W. Irlo Bronson Memorial Highway, Kissimmee, FL 34746-5319 (Formerly Goldstar Inn & Suites)
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #124 of 154 Hotels in Kissimmee
Price Range: £38 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shining Light Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shining Light Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westmont Inn And Suites Kissimmee
Westmont Inn&Suites Kissimmee Hotel Kissimmee
Goldstar Hotel Kissimmee
Shining Light Inn & Suites Kissimmee, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing