We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ICE at Gaylord Palms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center
Ranked #18 of 154 Hotels in Kissimmee
Reviewed 3 January 2014

The exhibit is really interesting and fun for the kids. There's an area where they have ice slides for kids & adults. It's 8 or 9 degrees inside and it's COLD. They do supply long parkas for everyone but I'd recommend bringing your own gloves & hat. I don't really think it's worth the $30 admission price ($25 FL resident). You are in there for maybe 20 - 30 minutes. You can stay as long as you want but it's too cold to be in there for any longer.

I really think they have missed the boat on this one. About halfway through they should put in a waiting room and sell small size coffee & hot cocoa. Instead you have to go all they way to the end and finish the exhibit before getting into the gift shop & coffee shop area.

Also be prepared to spend $18 to park. Yeah, I said $18. Now if you venture around the hotel and have your parking pass you can get it validated at one of the restaurants as long as you spend $25+.

I had a good time with the kids but for 3 kids & 3 adults, 30 minutes, it wasn't really worth it and not something you would do every year.

Room Tip: This is a review of just the ICE exhibit that they do every year!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SoLaurie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,605)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,351 - 2,357 of 4,605 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed at the Gaylord Palms back in summer of 2013 for my 50th birthday and were less than satisfied. At that time we decided that we were not interested in staying there again, but the place was so beautiful that we decided to give it another try. This experience was much better. We went during the Christmas season and the hotel and atrium were decorated beautifully. When we made the reservations we told them that we were not happy on our previous visit and hoped to have a better experience this time around. This time they hit the ball out of the park.
The front desk staff were happier and more helpful, the room was ready when we checked in, and had a wonderful view of the atrium. The staff was well informed of the events in the hotel and was happily ready to help with anything you needed. The facility was beautiful and the general housekeeping was much better. The restaurants were very crowded, but it didn't seem to stress the staff out. They maintained a great demeanor and continued to deliver service with a smile. In general the staff seemed happy to work at the Gaylord.
Specifically, Heidi at Soro (restaurant) was great, Justin at Wreckers (restaurant) was fun and personable, and Scott the audio-visual engineer at the Luminescence show was exceptionally helpful with our planning for the show schedule. The Luminescence show was fun and the music was a great way to celebrate the holidays. A nice added touch was the Reindeer scavenger hunt, it gave us a chance to see the entire hotel and see stuff we may have missed on our own.
We are glad we gave the Gaylord Palms another opportunity show us a better experience. We look forward to going back for another visit.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for an inside room overlooking the atrium. Make sure there is not a tree blocking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rcdeshong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

The Facilities here are AMAZING!! The day we checked into the Hotel we found that even though we had reservations months in advance our booking was not honored. We reserved a 2 queens sweet since we were bringing my wife's parents with us. What we ended up with was a single Queen and a COT that we had to argue not to pay for. In the conversation they told us that rooms were on a first come basis, BAD BUSINESS PRACTICE if you want me honest opinion. The management staff does not seem to know what any other manager is doing and or the managers are to lazy to make the proper notes on an account. Parking here was a bad deal as well. If you parked your own car there is only a few dozen spots that are actually close to the building other wise you WILL park back on the loading doc or completely behind the resort. Though I enjoyed my time in Florida I WILL NOT BE RETURNING to the GAYLORD PALMS ORLANDO

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Stayed here for ICE.... It was incredible!!! We didn't go to Disney, no need! So much to do here for the entire weekend! ICE was iTunes for all of us! The different themes inside, my daughter just loved walking around, especially the boardwalk!! Will be back next year!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JujuG8r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Ice! along with the Christmas tree and Luminescence show are good add-ons to a day in Orlando. Hotel is very nice, ice sculpting is impressive, service is average. Paying for parking is silly. Parking can be validated by eating at one of the restaurants inside. Parkas are provided, so no need to bundle up, however your own gloves can help. You can go into Ice! and come out to a warming room, then re-enter as much as you would like, however once you leave the area, you cannot reenter. The Ice! room took us about 30-45 minutes to walk through, with time for pictures and slides.

Room Tip: If staying during Christmas, choose a room that has a balcony on the inside so you can oversee the C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingMom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

So often when I travel for work, I don't get to see any of the local flair. The Gaylord Palms was a treat even just walking to the convention hall. Enjoy the different ecosystems of Florida underneath the dome. I was amazed and surprised by how fantastic this was. But, all in all, the hotel was a delight. Great service, great dining options. For once, not getting out of the hotel again on another business trip wasn't such a bad thing.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank hollibird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Overall, the Gaylord Palms is not as nice or as large as the Gaylord Texan or the Gaylord in Nashville. We have been to the other two Gaylord resorts at the holidays, and they were completely inundated in festive decorations and lights (trains, light shows, etc). The lights and decorations at the Gaylord Palms is underwhelming in comparison, and certainly not worth the high room cost in my opinion. Keep in mind that in addition to the high room rate, you will need to pay $20/night plus $18/night for self parking ($24 for valet). The hotel is lush with plants and small streams, but there is very little festive atmosphere.

In addition to being disappointed with the holiday lights and festivity, we had many complications with check in and our reservation - the person checking us in offered to upgrade our room for $100/night, and then she went to check with a manager. After waiting 15 minutes, we asked someone else to look for her. She just left! Someone else helped us check in, but did not offer the same "upgrade deal" and could not even get us rooms close together that we were told we could reserve for our two rooms (even after the disappearing hotel clerk, I spent over an hour with a manager trying to sort everything out - so frustrating!). The manager offered us free tickets to the ICE show, which was nice, but certainly the experience was not pleasant.

Self parking. This fills up quickly, and I had to park behind the convention center (a good 10 - 15 minute hike to our room in the St Augustine section. There are no sidewalks and the area is dark - very dangerous!! I was almost hit by a car. The resort really needs to fix this by offering a shuttle or putting on a lighted pathway.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank shivers10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kissimmee
1.0 mi away
Hilton Orlando Bonnet Creek
0.8 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#29 of 340 in Orlando
4,469 reviews
2.3 mi away
Caribe Royale Orlando
Caribe Royale Orlando
#85 of 340 in Orlando
3,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Villas of Grand Cypress
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 340 in Orlando
1,470 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
1.5 mi away
Orlando World Center Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center

Address: 6000 West Osceola Parkway, Kissimmee, FL 34746
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kissimmee
#3 Business Hotel in Kissimmee
#3 Spa Hotel in Kissimmee
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kissimmee
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
#12 Family Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range: £162 - £318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 1416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes from Central Florida's world-famous theme parks, including Walt Disney World, Universal Orlando and Sea World, the 1,416-room Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center is the ideal destination for leisure and business travelers alike. This spectacular resort in Kissimmee, Florida features 4.5 acres of beautifully manicured gardens and themed environments beneath a signature glass-covered atrium. On-site leisure and recreation opportunities abound with the Cypress Springs Water Park, featuring a double FlowRider and drop slide in addition to a multi-level treehouse water playground; the adults-only South Beach Pool; Forbes Travel Guide's Four Star Relache Spa & Salon; Wreckers Sports Bar, featuring a two-story sports screen; and a 24 hour fitness center. And with eight restaurants and lounges ranging from fine dining at Old Hickory Steakhouse to casual poolside fare at SandBar, Gaylord Palms offers something for every appetite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord Palms Hotel Kissimmee
Gaylord Resort
Gaylord Palms Resort Orlando
Gaylord Palms Orlando
Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center Kissimmee, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing