We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center
Ranked #18 of 152 Hotels in Kissimmee
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful Oasis”
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

What a great resort! Definitely pricey but it's what is expected at such a massive and upscale resort. Beautiful surroundings and accommodations. Staff is great once you have their attention. No need to go anywhere unless you want to find cheaper dining options. The iron in our room destroyed an expensive shirt and all we got was an apology which was a little disappointing. Only advice I have to future guests is be sure to note that there is a $20 resort fee applied to your account in addition to parking costs which are $20+. So be sure to utilize all the amenities the resort fee covers.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank alicia j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaylordPalms, Guest Relations Manager at Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We know you have many options when booking your accommodations in Central Florida, which is why we sincerely appreciate you choosing Gaylord Palms. We are disappointed that you were not informed prior to your stay, of our resort fee and parking charges. I have personally informed our Housekeeping Leaders of the iron incident during your stay. We hope that you will decide to stay with us again in the near future.

Jennifer Williams
Guest Experience Guru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,942
    1,384
    575
    317
    247
See reviews for
1,500
644
80
1,672
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,340)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lakewood, California
Level Contributor
93 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This was my fourth stay at this hotel, all four stays for conferences held on-site. The Gaylord Palms is an excellent conference hotel, with nice (albeit expensive) rooms and sufficient on-site dining (also expensive) for a property this size.

The Good: this is a beautiful, well-kept hotel with three lushly themed atriums within the hotel, all geared to Florida experiences; on each stay I have experienced clean, well-maintained rooms with good working space for the business traveler; and expect excellent service from hotel staff, from check-in to check-out.

The Not-So-Good: Pricey, considering other options in the area; dining is good but expensive - to be expected in a conference hotel; and tourist that are looking for vacation vibe may be disappointed by the high percentage of hotel guests that are at the Gaylord for business, not vacation. Family vacationers must expect atrium's full of badged conventioneers, and restaurants packed with diners in suits and business-casual attire, discussing lessons learned and other business. This can be daunting to the family vacation travelers, who were outnumbered 20 to 1 on my recent visit.

Overall a great hotel, but if I were traveling for pleasure instead of business, I would probably choose another hotel.

Room Tip: I recommend "atrium view" rooms, instead of outward-facing views. These rooms are typicall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaylordPalms, Guest Relations Manager at Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent experience at Gaylord Palms. We strive to provide an awesome experience to our convention and vacation guests (with families). We are constantly monitoring current offerings and practices in the surrounding area to make sure our pricing structure is in alignment with comparable hotels in the market. Thanks again for taking the time to express your opinion.

-Kanisha W.- Guest Service Guru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
217 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Property/landscaping were beautiful and we chuckled that the hotel is situated across from a large cattle pasture. Quite a contrast between the two sides of the highway! Our hotel room was nice but not the nicest we've been in. It was furnished with all of the basics and our room had a small balcony that opened onto the interior atrium. We stayed in the Everglades portion of the hotel so it was a very easy walk to the pool/spa area and to restaurants. The lobby area was beautiful and check in was efficient - everyone was nice/professional - but we had about a 25 minute wait....lots of folks checking in at the same time. We would have used valet service but did not because we were "IGNORED" even though there were multiples of -unoccupied- workers available. Being ignored helped us decide to self-park so that we would not have to wait an extended period of time for our vehicle when we were ready to "come and go". We stayed 4 nights/3 days and it was an easy drive to Universal Studios / International Drive etc. We did use/enjoy the resort pool...make sure you are poolside EARLY if you want a "good" poolside chair for the day. There are plenty of chairs but be aware that chairs are packed in---your chair will be touching your neighbors' on both sides....private cabanas are also available for rent. Our teen son enjoyed the 24 hour arcade - a nice surprise. As with all resorts, be prepared to pay $$$ for parking/internet/food/spa services.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agapeMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaylordPalms, Guest Relations Manager at Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words. It sounds like you and your family definitely took advantge of the vast amenities we offer at Gaylord Palms Resort. Thank you for your feedback on our valet service as well- we want to ensure that our service can be great for all Guests that choose to valet with us. We hope to see you again soon! -Linda P., Guest Service Guru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We were there for my husband's conference. We were checked into two queen room when we were guaranteed a king room. I called to see about switching but all their king rooms were sold out. Consequently, my husband and I slept in our own beds for the duration of our stay. The place is very expensive and is far away from anything else to eat or visit. You are stuck there. Plan on spending a lot of money on the restaurants and shops on-site. The room was not as nice as expected, but it was comfortable. I disliked being there with our toddler with the company of business people everywhere and no families there on vacation. The staff was nice enough, but we did choose to check out early and go to a different hotel where it wasn't as uppity.

Room Tip: Our friend had a corner room and it was very nice and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duckgirl78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaylordPalms, Guest Relations Manager at Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We are deeply disappointed to hear that you were not satisified with your experience. We accept the challenge of changing your impression of our resort and hope that you will consider Gaylord Palms upon your return to the Orlando area. -Linda P., Guest Service Guru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
112 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

This resort is very nice along with the rooms, but the price of the food and drinks is very high. If you have a family, I suggest you go to the store to get drinks and snacks. The waterpark feature in the family pool is nice too. That pool is heated, but the adult pool is freezing. No problem getting chairs by the pool. Food was good at Wreckers and the Java Coast. A soda in the machine is $2,00 and in the store it is $3.48.

Room Tip: get towards the convention center that overlooks the pool or something that overlooks the inside atr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gunkelj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaylordPalms, Public Relations Manager at Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We know you have many options when booking your accommodations in Central Florida, which is why we sincerely appreciate you choosing Gaylord Palms. We are glad that you were able to enjoy the family pool. Thank you again for being our guest.

Jennifer Williams
Guest Experience Guru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Attended a conference at this facility last week (28MAR2014). The accommodations were excellent, the service was superb, and the amenities were significant in their quality. Under normal circumstances I have found most "on-site" restaurants to be "acceptable", but not outstanding. At Gaylord Palms I was more than pleasantly surprised to find that the quality and service were excellent in ALL instances. I was initially not pleased when the professional organization hosting this event changed the venue, but I am certainly glad they did. Hats off to the Gaylord Palms....GREAT JOB!

Room Tip: Any room facing "inside"
See more room tips
Green Features: Really nice to be inside the "biosphere". They do a great job of regulating the environment to avoid extremes.
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaylordPalms, Guest Relations Manager at Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you very much for taking time from your busy schedule to write a review of our property. We are very pleased that you enjoyed the various resort amenities and dining options on site. We hope to welcome you back in the near future! - Steven Tubbs - Guest Service Guru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

A good friend was attending a conference at the Gaylord Palms and she invited me along. In checking tripadvisor prior to leaving we were both concerned as the hotel had received some scalding reviews on their customer service in the month prior to our arrival. We have nothing but praise for the hotel and their staff! We utilized many of the amenities throughout our stay, including the Relache Spa, the pool area and several restaurants. The spa was incredible! We both had mani's and Pedi's, I also had a massage and my friend had a facial, the staff was professional and personable. I spent several days at the pool while my friend attended her conference and received superb customer service from the wait staff. Throughout both days at the pool it was kept clean and the wait staff was at the ready. One day after a run I 'got lost' looking for the exercise room, the pool manager (I didn't catch her name) found me wandering, asked if I needed help when I told her what I needed she offered to take me there, when she was obviously headed in the opposite direction. The exercise room was on the opposite side of the hotel.

Room Tip: Our room was on the outside of the hotel, I would have preferred to be on the atrium side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaylordPalms, Guest Relations Manager at Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you for your kind words! We know you have many options when booking your accommodations in Central Florida, which is why we sincerely appreciate you choosing Gaylord Palms. We’re thrilled that our Relâche Spa provided an incredible experience when you needed time to relax! We look forward to welcoming you back! - Steven Tubbs - Guest Service Guru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kissimmee
1.0 mi away
Hilton Orlando Bonnet Creek
2.3 mi away
Caribe Royale Orlando
Caribe Royale Orlando
#86 of 337 in Orlando
2,986 reviews
0.8 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#24 of 337 in Orlando
4,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Orlando Lake Buena Vista South
4.2 mi away
Villas of Grand Cypress
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 337 in Orlando
1,408 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center

Property: Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center
Address: 6000 West Osceola Parkway, Kissimmee, FL 34746
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kissimmee
#3 Business Hotel in Kissimmee
#3 Spa Hotel in Kissimmee
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kissimmee
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
#12 Family Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 1416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes from Central Florida's world-famous theme parks, including Walt Disney World, Universal Orlando and Sea World, the 1,416-room Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center is the ideal destination for leisure and business travelers alike. This spectacular resort in Kissimmee, Florida features 4.5 acres of beautifully manicured gardens and themed environments beneath a signature glass-covered atrium. On-site leisure and recreation opportunities abound with the Cypress Springs Water Park, featuring a double FlowRider and drop slide in addition to a multi-level treehouse water playground; the adults-only South Beach Pool; Forbes Travel Guide's Four Star Relache Spa & Salon; Wreckers Sports Bar, featuring a two-story sports screen; and a 24 hour fitness center. And with eight restaurants and lounges ranging from fine dining at Old Hickory Steakhouse to casual poolside fare at SandBar, Gaylord Palms offers something for every appetite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord Palms Hotel Kissimmee
Gaylord Resort
Gaylord Palms Resort Orlando
Gaylord Palms Orlando
Gaylord Palms Resort & Convention Center Kissimmee, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing