We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for families with sense of humour!!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Disney's Art of Animation Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Disney's Art of Animation Resort
Ranked #7 of 153 Hotels in Kissimmee
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect for families with sense of humour!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stayed for 10 nights with husband and 8 year old daughter. We stayed in the Mermaid block and although it was approximately a 10 minutes walk from the main reception area and big pool, we thoroughly enjoyed it. The Mermaid block has its own pool, which is more than adequate for early morning or late afternoon swim.

Food court is typical of a Disney hotel, but the food was quite nice. Extremely bright and colourful hotel. If you are travelling with someone who is a bit of a 'Grumpy' though, this may not be the hotel for you!!! Staff were really helpful during our stay and happy as always!

Loved the Magic Bands received on arrival and they are a great reminder of our holiday (personalised with our names too!)

Room Tip: If you want to be near to the amenities, you'll need a suite but this will cost more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kirstie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,607 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,448
    2,250
    648
    160
    101
See reviews for
5,146
404
30
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,660)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

We recently stayed at the AoA resort and had a great experience. We did online check-in, but did not see that there was a specific desk for guests who had already done online check-in. Even going to the regular check-in desk, the process went pretty quickly and all of the cast members were friendly. It was our first time and one of the cast members kept my 3 year old entertained, telling her about the parades and even bringing her two fresh flowers before we left for our mermaid rooms.
There were 6 of us in our party, so we requested adjoining mermaid rooms (which we received). The mermaid rooms were pretty far from the main lobby/bus pickup. It is fine for healthy adults, but not ideal for tired toddlers. The rooms were small and our single Bob stroller was a tight squeeze, but we did manage to cram it into the corner. I'm glad we did not bring the pack and play for our infant because it would not have fit. The size didn't bother us, though, because the rooms were clean and we really only used them for sleeping. Be sure to shower at night or early in the morning - after about 7:30 you can expect a cold shower. The single rooms do not have a coffee pot, so we threw a cheap coffee maker and some coffee in our suitcase. This is a must for anyone requiring caffeine in the morning, because the cafeteria is extremely busy in the mornings and it is not worth the walk/wait (especially when you haven't had your fix yet!). It also worked out nicely because we left the coffee pot behind and that freed up space in the luggage for our souvenirs.
More on the cafeteria: there are several places inside the cafeteria that offer different types of food. The selection is great and the quality is okay. They were doing some construction in the cafeteria during our visit, so it was smaller than usual and we probably didn't experience it at its best. As mentioned earlier, it is busiest in the morning because everyone is getting ready to head out to the parks. Plan on at least 30 minutes to get your breakfast. The wait is much shorter in the afternoon/evening.
The bus stops are outside the main lobby and there is supposed to be a bus departing to each park approximately every 20 minutes. We never had any trouble in the mornings - the buses ran regularly and there was always room for everyone. This was not the case for Magic Kingdom in the evenings - the line was always long and sometimes you would have to wait on a second bus, which took longer than 20 minutes to arrive. The Magic Kingdom dock is also not in the shade in the late afternoon/early evening so everyone was pretty sweaty. The nice thing about AoA is that the buses don't make stops at any other hotels, so you are on your way to the park as soon as the bus leaves.
On our final day, check-out was at 11 am and our Magic Express bus was scheduled to leave at 2 pm. We were going to go to Downtown Disney to kill some time, but our exhausted toddler was *finally* getting some sleep. The cast member at the desk checked availability and kindly gave us a free late checkout for 1 pm. Thank you, AoA! We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stacie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saline, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Disney's Art of Animation offered a great suite for our family. Great food court nearby and helpful staff made for a great week at Disney. All of the pools were nice. We will definitely consider studying here in the future.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JiminMich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
102 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Yes this a value resort. The towels are small and no very soft. There is no table service restaurant, no spa or fancy rooms. For those who complain about those things spend more money and stay at a different resort. But if you are traveling as a family and wanting to save some money then this is a pretty lovely resort. If you stay in a Little Mermaid or Lion King room you will have a bit of a walk to the buses and front desk. The Nemo rooms are at the center of the resort. We stayed in the Nemo rooms it was great! Never had any problems with noise. Our room was always clean. The two bathrooms were fantastic especially getting ready for the day. Some of the staff has a bit of attitude though which you get anywhere. The restaurant was getting a bit of a makeover while we were there so it was a bit cramped and hectic during meal times. Overall it was a good stay and we will be back!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank grlnxtdor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We visited May 1-10 and stayed with my family, 3 kids ages 2-8. We took the magical express there to the hotel that was fine since we were the first stop of the route. The girls loved the hotel and were excited the minute we got there.

Checkin was immediate since they have so many people working the front desk. They were helpful and checkin was a breeze. We got to our room (Nemo) and it was exactly like it is pictured online. Loved that there was 3 beds for everyone to spread out in and it is so helpful to have another bathroom especially with kids. Our room was always cleaned every day we were there and plenty of fresh towels and blankets were available.The pool is great kids loved it but we only used it once since my kids were got ill during the vacation.

I did a LOT of research prior to booking our trip and I knew exactly what to expect being that our hotel is a value resort. I also knew in advance that the Nemo rooms are the closest to the main building for the pool, arcade, and food court. Really liked the convenience of having a mini fridge and a sink in the room. We had groceries delivered(GardenGrocer) before we arrived and they were already put away when we got to the room. All in all you can't beat the price for the size of the room you get. Granted the downside is the only way to get to the parks is via shuttle bus, it was still ok especially with young kids.

Room Tip: If you want to be close to animation hall pick a Nemo room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gin2902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed at Disney's AoA in a little mermaid room for 5 nights/6 days. We went to celebrate our daughter's sweet 16 and she has always loved the little mermaid, so it seemed like the place for her special celebration. We were floored with the room themeing! We all ran around giggling and snapping photos! While the rooms are on the small side with 2 full size beds, the sink area has a curtain divider and the shower and toilet area are seperate with a door. This allowed plenty of space for everyone to get ready for wherever we were headed. The room had a fridge but no microwave. Important to know for snack planning. It was quiet and we slept well. Our room faced the little mermais pool which we really enjoyed. The court yard was really fun to explore amd had many wonerful photo opportunities.

The little mermaid pool was enjoyable but the water was cold. My daughter was bummed that she was not allowed to wear her mermaid fins in the pool but we understood and it was fine.

The main hall was also well themed and we had fun exploring it and the other areas of the resort. They offer art classes throughout the day in the main hall, for free, and we really enjoyed that experience. The staff all throughout AoA were very helpful and friendly.

The little mermaid section is the farthest from the main hall and bus stops but we found the walk to be enjoyable as we walked through the lion king section to the main hall in the nemo section. Bus wait times were about every 20 minutes.

The Lanscapes of Flavors food court was much nicer and tastier than I expected. We especially enjoyed the create your own pasta area. You pick your pasta, sauce, protein and veggies and they cook it up fresh for you then and there. We had the Disney dinning plan and were able to make good use of our selections. Again, the staff were very helpful and friendly.

We had pre ordered a custome 2-tier mini birthday cake to be delivered to our room one evening. Unfortunately the cake collapsed during transport. The cake creation staff called me to let me know what happened, they were very upset about it and wanted to make it right. They delivered the collapsed cake, refunded the cost, also delivered a second basic cake that they decorated for my daughter along with candles, matches, plates, forks, a ballon and a very nice letter to my daughter applogizing for the mishap and wishing her a happy birthday. I was very happy with how the situation was handled and resolved.

We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We like staying on the top floor. Its quiet and we love the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank abigaled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

From the beginning to end we loved this hotel and we will definitely be returning on our next visit.
It was my husband our 3.5 year old twins and I. Checking in was a breeze it was super quick. The concierge staff was extremely friendly and nice and helpful in every absolute way. When we walked inside our 'Cars suite" we all loved it. it was spacious, my husband and i really enjoyed having our own bedroom and full bathroom. Every time we would leave our suite and walk past an employee they always had huge smiles on their faces waved and made our kids giggle. Always asked if we needed anything. Room service was great, they always kept our suite clean. The food court is a little pricey so i really suggest purchasing a meal plan. *keep in mind a meal plan can only be purchased ahead of time before check in* a meal plan will really help save some money especially when traveling with a family of 4 or more.
the pool and kids splash area is amazing. There is always staff at the pool playing games and interacting with all the kids.
The arcade area is also great... a lot to do there.
love the buses that take you to the parks, so convenient. they come around every 10-15 minutes so you never have to wait.

All in all we really enjoyed it and we will definitely be returning next year when we go back to Disney world.

Room Tip: the suites have microwaves and refrigerators so feel free to bring your own food and drinks with you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gianna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kissimmee
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Art of Animation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Art of Animation Resort

Property: Disney's Art of Animation Resort
Address: 1850 Animation Way, Lake Buena Vista, Kissimmee, FL 32830-8400
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kissimmee
#4 Family Hotel in Kissimmee
#12 Business Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Disney's Art of Animation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 1984
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be surrounded in the artistry, enchantment and magic of Walt Disney and Disney•Pixar movies. Stay at a Disney Resort hotel that invites you to explore the storybook landscapes seen in such classics as Finding Nemo, Cars, The Lion King and The Little Mermaid. From delightfully themed family suites to wondrously detailed courtyards, Disney's Art of Animation "draws" you and your family in to become a part of some of your animated favorites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Southall Travel, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Disney's Art of Animation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney's Art Of Animation Resort Kissimmee, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing