We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Potential”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kissimmee
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Boggy Creek Resort and RV Park
Akron
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Potential”
Reviewed 27 February 2013

East Lake could be one of the best resorts in central Florida with the proper management/ownership. We have stayed there many times through the winter months only because of the location. We have first hand knowledge of the indifferent attitude of the entire staff. Of course, since 90% of them are family, that is not unexpected. The managers make it clear they don't care if you are a paying guest or not and are more of an inconvenience to them than not. The entire campground is unkempt and in dire of major upkeep and upgrading. The pool is kept locked and is not heated. I understand from friends who are there now, that this winter, you can't even get a key to the pool, so it isn't even avaIable for sunbathing. The food in the restaurant leaves much to be desired. All in all, if you don't mind airplanes flying over from OIA, air boats from dawn till dusk and rude staff, this is the place for you!

Room Tip: For RVers. Watch for low hanging branches. They do not maintain the trees either.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1Buckeye2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    9
    5
    6
    22
See reviews for
25
6
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

The staff at East Lake Fish Camp have made good progress in turning around from the poor ratings of the past. Big improvements in customer service and overall friendliness of the workers. You can see that the effort is paying off and I felt it only right to post a follow up review noting the changes. We have had lunch in the restaurant several times and the quality of the meal was very good. The serving staff has been pleasant and attentive. So, in closing I would say that the overall experience at East Lake Fish Camp has improved considerably and the staff should be praised for making the needed changes in attitude and service

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quickh2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

We stayed in our 5th Wheel last winter (DEC-MAR 2012). This is an old Fla resort that could be brought back to it's former glory with the right owners. In the campground you need to be very careful of the lower hanging branches on the giant oak trees. How you're treated by the front office management is hit or miss. It's run by various family members and others that for the most part are rude and not customer service friendly at all. You get the impression that these people hate working there and could care less if you stay, come back or not. During our 90 day stay the campground experienced numerous power outages and loss of cable TV service. That may or may not be corrected now. Because of the dense treesline it's difficult to get a shot for satellite TV. In house cable system is pretty noisey and picture quality varies. The electricity at each site is metered and added when you rent by the month. I thought the bills were too high as they averaged $110+ per month. You will get nowhere discussing with the office. This is not a quite park setting as they run an air-boat ride concession on the property. Loud, very loud.. Also, this site is directly in line with one of the landing patterns for the Orlando airport just to the north. That pattern is not used 24/7 but it's used enough to be noticable.

For $400 a month it's a pretty good deal since you won't find anything in the area with as much space between RV sites for that kind of money. The shade these big oaks provide is a plus. I had some decent meals at the restaurant and just depends on who's cooking that day.

There is a good group of snow birds that have been coming here in RV's for years. Very friendly and fun group.

In a way, I feel sorry for the staff. They seem so unhappy with life in general.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank quickh2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

The boating area is very nice and super clean. No problems there. The front desk employees aren't very accommodating. The place was not busy and we stayed in one of the cabins, which are clean and big, but the AC is so loud and comes on every 5 minutes or less even when you have it set at 80. It is so loud that you are unable to sleep. I mentioned this to the girl at the front desk (she may have been the owner daughter) and all she said is "I'm Sorry". I said you had plenty of cabins for rent that in the future you should use the ones with the best AC and again all she said was "I'm Sorry." I said to be honest I won't come back, being able to sleep is the most important part. Bottom line, the staff just doesn't care,

Room Tip: Ask for a cabin with a newer AC and a flat screen tv.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Penny2459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

The people running the fish camp have the personality of a rock verry unfriendly they dont have a clue how to treat people or run a business east lake has allways been a nice place for fisherman to go until they started running the place they think it is a resort in disney and charge to much for everything and the food sucks for tast and the amount this use to be a nice place to go but they are running in the ground and pissing off a lot of people example boat ramp fees where 5.00 now they are 8.00 to launch and they raised the prices in the store how stupid the place stayes empty they should have kept the boat fees at 5.00 then people wouldnt mind paying a little more for stuff in the store and at least get them in the door wake up this is a fishing camp not a depressing horse rescue the money used on animals should be put on customer service you know the people that pay your bills

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gw112071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

the people in the restaurant are kind,thoughtful and helpful as far as the so called help in the office they are so disrespectful and arrogant their customer service skills are vary poor they show no acknowledgment to there customers. i was buying some chips and a drink and i gave the person be hind the counter a twenty dollar bill did not give me my change and when i asked them for my change they ask me if i really want my change back. i don't understand why these people act like this.

Room Tip: think twice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bob a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

My husband and I and several friends stayed at the East Lake Fish Camp for 2 months this winter. From the end of Janurary to the end of March. The cabins are basic, but clean. It's a fish camp folks. A maid came everyday except Tues and Thurs and always left extra towels.
The boat dock is great and the cabins each have space to park your fishing boat.

The menu is basic. Unfortunately they don't have the same cook everyday. So even with a basic menu, sometimes you get a not so pleasant meal. However; fisherman don't seem to notice this, just their wives. :] Also a very filling Friday night seafood buffet, and a nice Sunday breakfast buffet.

The camp is also an RV, mobil home park. They have a big clean pool, although not heated.
A clean laundry, and post office boxes for rent for long term residents. They offer bingo on Sat. night and a Texas Holdem tournment on Thurs. night. during the winter months.

Overall we found this a perfect winter get away.......if your a fishman.

Room Tip: The cabins have 2 beds, both double. However; they do Not have a stove, there are some nice picnic a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cornfarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kissimmee
3.2 mi away
Residence Inn Orlando Lake Nona
3.2 mi away
Courtyard Orlando Lake Nona
Courtyard Orlando Lake Nona
#101 of 336 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
4.6 mi away
Budgetel Kissimmee East
Budgetel Kissimmee East
#76 of 153 in Kissimmee
3.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Hunter Arms Hotel
Hunter Arms Hotel
#4 of 4 in Saint Cloud
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
12.4 mi away
Sherwood Forest RV Resort
Sherwood Forest RV Resort
#8 of 59 in Kissimmee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
5.6 mi away
Polynesian Inn
Polynesian Inn
#3 of 4 in Saint Cloud
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boggy Creek Resort and RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boggy Creek Resort and RV Park

Property: Boggy Creek Resort and RV Park
Address: 3705 Big Bass Rd, Kissimmee, FL 34744-9329
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 59 Speciality Lodging in Kissimmee
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boggy Creek Resort and RV Park is a diamond of natural Florida beauty that should be a part of your next Orlando Florida vacation. We're only a short drive to all the Orlando attractions, yet far enough away so you are able to escape the hustle and bustle of all the theme parks. Our RV Sites and cabins are nestled in Florida's natural beauty on over 100 acres of beautiful lakefront, secluded walking trails and beautiful sprawling Oak trees. Our large, paved, pull thru sites are just what you are looking for, and your big RV rig is always welcome! If you're looking to find that spot "away from it all" you've found the right place! Reserve Your RV Site Today! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Boggy Creek Resort And RV Park Kissimmee, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing