We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where's the "Resort and Spa"?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Orlando - Kissimmee Maingate
Ranked #23 of 154 Hotels in Kissimmee
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

The outside looks like a regular motel. I didn't see the "Resort and Spa" here. But the rooms were clean and updated nicely. My only complaint was the restaurant Angel's bar and Cafe that's attached to this hotel, it had horrible customer service. Worse part, it's considered closed under this app. So, if you like this hotel for the free breakfast. Don't bother, head to Denny's or McDonalds instead.

Stayed: August 2014
2  Thank Ingrid D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twiltsie, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Orlando - Kissimmee Maingate, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2014

Thank you for taking time to share your comments. Please accept my apologies for the lack of service you encountered in Angel's Rock and Roll Café. There was an Angel's Seafood Buffet that was also located here in the past. That is the location that is showing closed. I do hope you will give the Maingate Resort and Angel's Café another chance on your next visit to this area. We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,452)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,047 - 1,053 of 1,452 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2014

My family and I stayed here last week and we had an amazing time ! It was close to Disney and other locations . The hospitality was great . Steve at the front desk was awesome . He checked us in and made sure we were satisfied with everything . He went above and beyond , which is something that isn't so common these days. The rooms were great and spacious for my family . The only complaint I do have is, whoever the girl is that worked the night shift wasn't that pleasant . I wish I would have paid more attention to what her name was. Anyways, we waited at the front desk while she smoked her cigarette . We had a few questions but we had to wait because I guess we were on her time . She also wasn't as presentable as I think she should have been with her overall appearance. She kind of gave off an I don't care vibe. Other than that our stay was great !

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lindseyyyyy79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twiltsie, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Orlando - Kissimmee Maingate, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2014

Please accept my apologies for the lack of caring by one of my team. Please be assured that was an isolated incident. Steve was so happy to hear your comments on his service. We do pride ourselves on providing great service to all of our guests. I do hope we ill see you back again soon. Until then happy travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We started our trip with 2 horrors, Expedia and Hertz renta cars. I figured at this rate the hotel would turn out to be a dump. We pulled up to the hotel which from the front looked more like a motel. We had a nice suprise for a change. The hotel is huge, very misleading from the front. The employee's were great, the hotel was clean service was awesome. One of the very few places that have several pools which appear to not have any standard hrs. We decided to try the pool after 11pm. Not sure it was open or not. One of the employees saw us and turned on all the pool and outdoor lights. The rooms are clean and pretty much standard with Kurig coffee maker and fridge. Its close to everything. I would definately stay there again

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank greeneyes0859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twiltsie, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Orlando - Kissimmee Maingate, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2014

Thank you for your kind comments. Our pools are scheduled open from 6a to 10p, but if you are quiet, we will extend that time to a little later. I do hope we will see you again very soon at the Maingate Resort. Happy travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

I arrived at the hotel at around 1pm. Check in is 4pm. I was unaware. They checked me in anyway and gave me an upgrade. The place is big. Clean. Bathroom was small but no big deal. Pool looked clean however I didn't have time to swim. There is a restaurant attached to hotel. They food was very good and reasonably priced. I would stay there again. You can buy your park attraction tickets in the lobby. On the left side of the tourist counter. On the right side is a time share sales. Stay away from that. Wifi was really good. Only a cpl of drop offs. There are plenty of gift shops, restaurants, stores in the area. Was only 10 min drive from Disney and about 20 to Universal. Approximately 30 to airport in Orlando. Staff was very nice. The old guy at the time share counter was nice and did not put pressure on me when I told him I wasn't interested. He did however give me a lot of tips on where to eat, go, see etc. Nice guy.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank cardkleener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twiltsie, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Orlando - Kissimmee Maingate, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2014

Thank you for your great comments. Besides helping with directions and places to eat, park attraction tickets the counter in the lobby is also the place to book your free shuttle to the Disney Parks. With two departures each morning, it is very convenient. Like us on facebook to keep up on our progress as well as any special offers we may have. Happy travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

I will definitely be staying here again. Rooms are clean, and the beds are very comfortable unlike some other that I've stayed in, in Orlando. First night however, the sheets were moist, went to front desk to notify them and they sent someone immediately to change the sheets. They were checking the a.c, said it could have been because the outside vent was open. From the front desk staff, to the room service staff to security were all very welcoming and nice. They do have security 24 hours and do drive by parking lots at night. All the pools are heated!! They have a gameroom, it's small but Hey my kids were not complaining Lol. The diner right next door on the other hand ugh food was not good! The food was not hot when it was brought out to us, had me sick to my stomach that night. But that's my opinion. We stayed in building 7 towards the back which was super quite. So Yea I would stay here again, having a clean room is a must for me, and this place met my expectations.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Veronica V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twiltsie, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Orlando - Kissimmee Maingate, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2014

Thank you for your great comments on my hotel. I am very sorry to hear you were not happy with the food at Angel's Rock and Roll Café and Bar. I will make sure I pass along your comments about the food not being hot to my restaurant team. Please be assured this is not a common occurrence. I will make one correction to your comments, we do not have 24 hour security. They are here 10p to 6a every day. I do hope we will see you again at the Maingate Resort soon. Happy travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Excellent hotel for the price. Newly remodeled rooms and very clean. Beds were very comfortable. Every staff member that we encountered was very helpful. Front desk upgraded us to an inside pool view room first night. I asked for it on our second visit and there was no problem accommodating us. We stayed one night before going to Disney and I went down and booked immediately for two nights after Disney. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Missy134339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twiltsie, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Orlando - Kissimmee Maingate, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2014

I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay so much you have already become a return visitor. Please like us on facebook to keep up with our progress and for special offers only to our facebook friends. We are looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

found this hotel on hotels.com, reviews were accurate. This hotel is very convenient to interstates and Disneyworld. Hotel looks like an old motel from the outside, but rooms are renovated with new bathrooms, comfy beds and linens. Pool area is very large and clean. We had the pool to ourselves in the afternoon. Staff were all very helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twiltsie, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Orlando - Kissimmee Maingate, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Again, we are glad to hear our guests rave about the renovations at the resort. We thank you for staying with us and hope to see you again soon. Keep posted on our progress as well as special offers in the future, by friending us on facebook.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kissimmee hotels
6.8 mi away
Seasons Florida Resort
Seasons Florida Resort
#22 of 154 in Kissimmee
631 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites By The Parks
0.5 mi away
Galleria Palms Hotel
Galleria Palms Hotel
#9 of 154 in Kissimmee
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Champions World Resort
Champions World Resort
#33 of 154 in Kissimmee
2,188 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Maingate
Comfort Inn Maingate
#31 of 154 in Kissimmee
776 reviews
2.9 mi away
Destiny Palms Hotel Maingate West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Orlando - Kissimmee Maingate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Orlando - Kissimmee Maingate

Address: 7300 Irlo Bronson Hwy, Kissimmee, FL 34747
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range: £31 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Orlando - Kissimmee Maingate 3*
Number of rooms: 516
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a magical getaway at Red Lion Hotel Orlando - Kissimmee Gateway, a top choice among hotels near Disney World®, and featured on Lifetime's Military Makeover. Situated in the heart of the action, our guests enjoy the easiest access among Orlando hotels. Vacation on 16 spectacular landscaped acres featuring three pools, two fitness centers, and comfortable accommodations. Our hotel near Disney also has onsite hotel amenities to make your stay even better. Host your event or wedding reception in one of our four event rooms, then head to our landscaped courtyard for a picturesque photo op. Take advantage of our specials and packages to get the best value during your vacation. Whatever brings you to Orlando, we have accommodations and amenities to meet your needs. Our Disney World hotel and the area's best attractions ensures you'll enjoy a memorable vacation. FEATURES AT OUR ORLANDO HOTEL NEAR DISNEY WORLD: Free onsite parking Free high speed Wi-Fi Located in the heart of the Walt Disney World Resort® attractions Free Walt Disney World® Resort and area theme park shuttle Walt Disney World® Resort tickets available for purchase in the lobby of the hotel Three Outdoor heated pools Two fitness centers GET LOCAL AT NEARBY ATTRACTIONS Located in Disney's Maingate West, we are 2.7 miles from Disney's Animal Kingdom® Theme Park and within 6 miles of Disney's Hollywood Studios® and Disney's Blizzard Beach Water Park. Providing easy access to Walt Disney World® Resort's Magic Kingdom park. The Red Lion Hotel Orlando is a convenient option for travelers wanting to experience all of the magic. Enjoy our free Walt Disney World® Resort Hotel Shuttle on your next adventure. Upscale shopping, prestigious golf courses, theaters, and more area attractions are waiting for you in Orlando and Kissimmee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Alpha Holidays Limited, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, getaroom.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Orlando - Kissimmee Maingate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Orlando - Kissimmee Maingate Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing