We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Choice!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Clarion Suites Maingate
Ranked #29 of 152 Hotels in Kissimmee
OH
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Choice!”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Upon arriving at midnight, we were provided a room with a distinct odor, from which we were promptly removed from the next a.m. The next room was perfect with an elevator to transport our luggage. Rooms had good soundproofing and I would definitely choose a room facing the pool. The fridge was large enough to hold our dinners for the week, which we heated up in the microwave provided. The rooms were very clean and the beds comfortable. Due to our early departures each a.m. for the parks, late arrivals back to the hotel at night, and slightly chilly temperatures we did not use the pool but it looked awesome! The pool hours are conducive for a swim after a day at the parks. The breakfast remains the same each a.m. with plain or bacon and cheese scrambled eggs, toast, bagels or English muffins, pancakes, sausage links, rice and beans and either apples or bananas. In the lobby, there is a café where one can buy poundcake, cupcakes, mickey mouse waffles, muffins, etc. for a reasonable price. We chose to buy a treat there some days to take into the park rather than pay the prices for treats in the park. We learned to get to breakfast by 8:00 to beat the crowd and there is the option to sit outside under cover of a large awning.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the pool, large enough for a sitting area and two queen size beds, microwave and f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank justanohmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
comfortsuites7888, General Manager at Clarion Suites Maingate, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry about the odor in the first room. It has been addressed. I am happy to hear that our staff was able to assist you with this. Please visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    405
    145
    63
    48
See reviews for
479
253
18
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belleville, Canada
Level Contributor
151 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Positives about the Hotel:
Nicely laid out and maintained with no internal hallways (which means less doors being slammed all night). All doors open to a covered "verandah" and staff allow you to take chairs from the pool area to sit outside as long as you return them. Reasonable price. Our room had two queen beds plus a loveseat/pullout bed, which is good for watching tv or reading ( I can't do either while laying on a bed), and is one of the reasons we chose to stay here.
Great pool, splash pad and hot tub area, which is laid out to receive sunshine all day. Buffet breakfast is free and should have enough items to satisfy anyone's need for variety.
We took oranges and grapefruits that we had picked at an orchard up the road to breakfast with us, and used their silverware to cut them up with our breakfast. Happy hour 5:00pm to 8:00pm is REALLY happy if you like $1.00 draft beer (which we do).Great laundry facilities, very clean and good quality machines (for under $4.00 you can do 3-4, days laundry in less than an hour, while you enjoy the hot tub).The rooms have TV's with a lot of available tv channels. Great bathroom in the room, spacious and lots of mirrors.
There are many, many dining options very close by, a supermarket a stone's throw away (buy cases of water, beer, chilled wine, snacks, rotisserie and fried chicken, salads of all types, vegetable trays, racks of ribs, etc, etc. All stuff you can take to your room and eat, store in the refrigerator and re-heat in the microwave, eat at the in-room dining table.
The outdoor pool has a lift chair for handicap access, the hot tub would seat 20 people easily but there was never more than a dozen any time we were there.
There are always people working at cleaning and tidying up the building and grounds.
TIP: Rooms #'d 339 up to about 351 overlook the pool area, and do not get the sun shining in their windows (this might really be a plus in the hotter months)
Rooms have plenty of pillows, that can be made firmer or softer simply by adjusting the pillowcases.
There is 30 minutes daily access to a computer and printer, so you can check in for you return flight and print boarding passes before leaving for the airport.
Negatives about the Hotel:
Very few. For an older building, as you'd expect the air conditioners can be noisy, and there are some room to room noises, (but we had much worse in our pre-flight hotel stay in Toronto).
DO NOT get suckered into the timeshare scam at the Attraction tickets kiosk. There is little truth in what they tell you. There are teams of high pressure sales people who take far more of your time that they say they will, and it is "buy now, or leave now" (would anyone buy a house where they live without a legal opinion let alone buy one while on vaction ? That's what they expect you to do).
I'm still P***'d off about that. It's to the point of being unethical and the hotel should really put a stop to it.

I would return without hesitation, and would recommend as a family friendly place close to Disney
and many other family oriented attractions, at an affordable price.

Room Tip: Ask which rooms get the sunshine (and heat) in the morning, afternoon, or not at all. The third flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
comfortsuites7888, General Manager at Clarion Suites Maingate, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you for writing such a detailed review. We really appreciate the feedback. I am happy you didn't have any problems with our hotel. But I'm sorry to hear that you have problems with Latitudes Sales & Marketing timeshare presentation. I will be sure to pass your comments along. We hope you visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We stayed for a week in February to tour the theme parks as well as the Kennedy Space Centre. We were visiting from Vancouver, Canada. This was our first time to the Orlando area.

I will agree with most of the reviews about this hotel already listed below. This hotel is basic and offers good value for money. The breakfast daily was adequate. People complaining of lack of variety should not eat the same thing every day. One day eat the pancakes, next day eat cereal, next day eat eggs and sausage. Just because it is a breakfast buffet doesn't mean you have to take everything in front of you. If you are going to eat breakfast there all week, then use some common sense and create variety for yourself.

The little coffee counter in the lobby also makes great coffee. Prices are reasonable for a cup of coffee there if you don't like the coffee in the breakfast buffet.

I do have 2 complaints:

1. The walls of the rooms are incredibly thin. We could hear our neighbours showering, flushing the toilet, and even talking to each other. Our neighbour had children and they would be loud until put to bed. Thankfully they settled down by 10 pm every night otherwise this would have been a problem.

2. There is no lunch to be had at this hotel. We decided to spend a day by the pool and tried to get lunch at the restaurant at this hotel, only to be told by the front desk that it was closed until 5 pm. We also asked about the little coffee counter but were told it closed from 11 am to 5 pm. We ended up going hungry except for some chips we had on hand. At no time did the front desk tell us that there was a Subway Sandwich shop across the street which we only noticed a couple of days later. Why the front desk (knowing we were trying to find food) not point us to the Subway? That was rather disappointing.

Otherwise, I would recommend this hotel. It was clean. Everyone was friendly. The pool was well maintained. The bus schedules to the theme parks worked well for us.

We also took advantage of the free shuttle to the shopping mall.

As to the comment of the person below about "Just don't buy tickets here". The authorized theme park ticket salesperson in the lobby is open until 12:00 noon. Thereafter, the ticket counter is manned by a representative for a time share company. The time share company will offer discounted tickets to the theme parks but you will have to give them 2 - 3 hours of your time. Buyer beware. Otherwise, the morning authorized ticket counterperson sells theme parks tickets at the same price as if you purchased them at the main gates - you just won't have to stand in line when you get to the park - which makes it more convenient.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Suzanna1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
comfortsuites7888, General Manager at Clarion Suites Maingate, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thanks for your comments. I am glad your chose our hotel for your week long stay in Kissimmee. I'm sorry you didn't know about the Sub shop next door. There is actually a variety of restaurants all withing walking distance. These are on the hotel map provided at check in. We also have coupons for the restaurants in a display in the lobby. Mid day, our own Jumbo's Eatery is closed as most of our guests are at the theme parks. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto Alegre, RS
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Rooms are clean, comfortable and spacious; offers a very good deal for the price. I have no complaints about the hotel itself. Just do not buy tickets from the concierge!! You'll be offered discount tickets to Disney or Universal parks; later, when you're about to pay, they'll tell you that you have to go to a breakfast somewhere, to see about a new property someone is selling. The guy said it would be quick, and if we'd arrive by 8 a.m, we would be at the park by the time it was open (at 9 a.m.). To cut a long story short, after insisting a lot, we were able to leave the property at 10:30, only because we promised we would come back later that week to complete the tour of some awful time sharing deal.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RKieling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
comfortsuites7888, General Manager at Clarion Suites Maingate, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you for your kind words about the hotel. I am sorry to hear about your frustrations with Latitudes Sales & Marketing. I will be sure to pass your comments along. The tours are fine if you have time for them and can save you a lot of money. But for future reference, you may buy tickets at regular price without the tour. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

When I hear the term "Suites" associated with a hotel, I assume two distinct rooms - a sitting/living area and a separate bedroom with a proper door separating the two (eg. Embassy Suites, Homewood Suites, Staybridge Suites, Springhill Suites, etc.). I booked Clarion Suites for our recent family trip to Orlando partially for the "Suites" layout, so that we could put our daugter to bed in a quiet room. I guess I should have reviewed the online photos more closely but we were somewhat surprised to find a basic standard hotel/motel room - a sofa, two queen beds, dresser, and TV all in one room, with the bathroom at the back of the room -the only division between the queen beds and the sofa was a 4' high partial wall across half of the room width.
Apart from the misleading "Suites" designation, we were satisfied with the hotel. WiFi was fast and reliable, the free breakfast was adequate (although zero variety day-to-day), and the room was generally comfortable and clean. Shower water pressure and temperature was a little hit-and-miss. I have had better hotel beds than those here (I found a little soft, lumpy, and squeaky frames) but they were acceptable.
Location was convenient to the main Orlando attractions.
Staff helfulness was also a litte hit and miss - some great people who were very helpful, and some that were less so. Not terrible, but not consistent high customer service standards.
Would I return to Clarion Suites Maingate? If travelling without kids, maybe. With kids, probably not, as I would rather choose someplace else with a true "Suite" layout.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carguy71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
comfortsuites7888, General Manager at Clarion Suites Maingate, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
I apologize we failed to meet all your expectations. Our rooms are approximately 300 square feet, a bit larger than most of the onsite attraction hotels. We are committed to high customer service standards. I will be sure to share your comments with our staff. I hope you visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Attleboro, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Stayed here a week. We were schedled for just a Sunday but arrived on a Friday and they placed us for 3 days in a queen suite, but we decided a king suite in another section may be better. Away from children w/ families. Rooms were very nice, although we had to request housekeeping, as it wasn't done before 3 pm. We were gone every day and usually came back after 1 pm and waited for housekeeping, usually had to go to front desk to request help. I am sure they were just so busy. The laundry room was huge and so clean. Met some very nice people there!. The staff were so friendly and always busy. Very clean grounds, pool, parking lot always clean of debris. Breakfast was the same everyday, but eggs had no taste. Nice place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DandK110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alpena, Michigan
Level Contributor
69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Have been staying here for parts of our vacation for 7 years, and it still is a great hotel to stay. However, recent name change and cost increase seems to be taking away from some of the amenities. Still a good hot breakfast, but no variety from day to day. In the past, they offered something different every morning, but recently menu has stayed the same, and when you spend 5 nights here, that gets a little humdrum. Seems that the rooms haven't been upgraded, with the increase in price, but still quite nice with very comfortable beds and pillows. Front desk staff (2 people) seemed like the right hand didn't know what the left hand was doing. Overall, it took about 25 minutes to get checked in.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UnortH32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kissimmee hotels
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Maingate
Comfort Inn Maingate
#28 of 152 in Kissimmee
723 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites By The Parks
8.0 mi away
Seasons Florida Resort
Seasons Florida Resort
#15 of 152 in Kissimmee
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Orlando - Kissimmee Maingate
0.9 mi away
Galleria Palms Hotel
Galleria Palms Hotel
#9 of 152 in Kissimmee
243 reviews
5.0 mi away
Quality Suites The Royale Parc Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Suites Maingate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Suites Maingate

Property: Clarion Suites Maingate
Address: 7888 W Irlo Bronson Memorial Hwy, Kissimmee, FL 34747-1738 (Formerly Comfort Suites Maingate)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Kissimmee
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Suites Maingate 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located two miles west of the Walt Disney World entrance. This Award winning hotel offers Complimentary breakfast, Free Shuttle to major theme parks and Free wireless Internet. Studio Suites sleep six people with two queen beds and sleeper sofa, refrigerater, microwave, coffee maker. All rooms refurbished in 2007, tastefully decorated with new furniture, carpet, bedding, linens. Oversized heated pool, Jacuzzi and poolside Cabana Bar. Eleven restuarants within walking distance as well as shopping center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Suites Maingate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Maingate Hotel Kissimmee
Maingate Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites Kissimmee
Comfort Suites Maingate Resort
Kissimmee Comfort Suites
Clarion Suites Maingate Kissimmee, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing