We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HORRIBLE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oak Plantation Resort
Ranked #89 of 154 Hotels in Kissimmee
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Don't stay here. Dirty, moldy, worn and just plain gross. The room had cockroaches Complained to the staff only to find out there was no record of our complaints. The maid threw away our food from the fridge and they didn't even try to compensate for the loss of money. You were warned... buyer beware!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kristy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,082)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

349 - 355 of 1,082 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2013

I stayed here in a two bed apartment booked through Virgin Holidays.

The apartment was dirty. the top of the fridge had never seen a clean in months. We did advise reception and they said they would have the room cleaned again, but it never was. In the end we had to spend 4 hours cleaning to bring it up to some sort of standard. We had booked a non smoking room, but all that you could smell was stale cigarette smoke.

We also encountered my daughters favorite soft toy stolen from the apartment. The whole complex is secure and nothing else was taken so we were guessing that it was taken by someone who had access with a key, namely the housekeeping. When we advised the management they showed no concern. We also advised the Virgin Holiday rep who also showed no concern. We even complained to Virgin Holiday when we returned to the UK, but again they showed no concern and wanted nothing to do with it.

Take my advice and don't book to stay here with Virgin Holidays.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mark b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPRGuestExperiences, Manager at Oak Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2015

Thank you for your review. Your feedback is very important to us.

We are disappointed that we did not meet your expectations, and would like to take this opportunity to sincerely apologize for all of the challenges encountered. It is hard to vacation in Florida and experience lizards in the unit, but that is part of Florida s nature. You leave the door open for one minute and in they come.

Your comments are important to us, your comments have been forwarded to our management team. Also, you may contact the resort and ask to speak with our Director of Operations to discuss your issues further as your feedback is more than welcome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We travel for the first time with our children and initially we were concerned after reading such negative feedback. We were pleasantly surprised that all the bad reviews were not we experienced. We were looked after by staff and if we asked for anything it was done without hesitation. I would return to this resort again and would recommend to those who are thinking of booking not to read to much into the negative. Overal excellent value, polite and helpful staff in particular the manager who was able to allow us the use of a room to freshen up before we returned to the uk. Thank you to all the staff. See you soon

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alby g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPRGuestExperiences, Hotel Staff at Oak Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

Dear Alby G,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your visit and for giving us a chance to see what we are all about, which is you the customer. It is great to see that our team's hard work is paying off.

Thank you again for staying with us!

We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Oak Plantation Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Our family of 4 stayed here for 2 weeks in July.
Orlando parks are only around 15 mins away, perfect. The pools were clean, very nice, one heated one not. Theres also a jaccuzi, very small but okay kids play pool, and a Tiki bar, where you can have a meal if your not wanting to go out. If you need internet, (who doesn't) Try to get a room as close to the pool as possible, because the pool wifi works there in some rooms. There is also wifi in the internet cafe and reception. The internet cafe is a nice place to go, with 2 computers you are free to use, (Im using one now :) There is also Ping Pong, free range of soda's, and picture coloring and games for kids too. the bad things about this place are -
1. The toilets beside the pool are horrible, only 1 toilet has a lock, tissue all over the floor etc.
2. Ping Pong balls were rarely there, usually broken ones if they were - but one at walmart for 50c. if you want to play.
3. We had not so nice experience with a lady at the in Internet cafe. There was no good ping pong balls, so we asked with there was a ball that wasn't broken. As we were at the desk, we could all see that there was a ball right beside her in an open drawer, we found this very deceiving.
4. The general store shuts at 3pm, I think it should stay open alot longer, if not 24hrs.

Over all it was a good experience, but I hope that Oak Resort will look at these points and try to fix them as soon as possible.

TIP: If you have kids (or teenagers) under 15, ask for a kids activities planner from the front desk. There are things for 3 yrs - 21 and over activities.

P.S - You have to pay for breakfast.

Room Tip: Choose ones near the pool to get in room wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bethany H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPRGuestExperiences, Hotel Staff at Oak Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

Dear BethanyTheBest,

Thank you for staying with us. It is great to see that you are writing to us from our own internet cafe.

Our entire team is thrilled to hear the positive feedback, and will continue to work hard at improving the areas mentioned like the bathrooms located in the swimming pool area, the ping pong balls, etc.

Please do not hesitate to stop by our Front Desk and speak either to one of our agents or Manager on Duty should you have any challenges.

Sincerely,
Oak Plantation Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

I stayed at Oak Plantation from 7/20-7/27 and all I can say is DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THIS EXCUSE THEY CALL A RESORT. First of all the Internet was a big problem you can only get wifi in certain places and it barely ever worked ever. 2nd of all the maintainence is horrible. Our toilet which was coming out of the ground got clogged in the middle of the night and we called for plunger around 9:30 pm and it didn't get there until 10:30 the next morning. Maids took all of our towels to clean then and only returned 2. My grandmother constantly complained about the noisy people upstairs who like to move furniture at 3:30 in the morning and no I'm not kidding and nothing was done. Some of the staff was very pleasant to be around others not so much. The pools were disgustingly dirty and the one day there was a piece of poop that no took care of. The hot tub wasnt hot it was the same temperature as the pool. The game room was horrible half the games were broken and even both token machines were broken so you couldn't play anything anyway the rooms smell really bad and I went to the bathroom one night and there was a cock roach the size of my hand. This place absolutely horrible the only time I really enjoyed was talking to Angel at the front desk he was so nice<3

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Stevesfirstprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPRGuestExperiences, Hotel Staff at Oak Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Dear Steves First Princess,

We would like to thank you for your comments and for visiting Oak Plantation Resort.

We are extremely disappointed that we did not meet the quality standards that you had anticipated. Please accept our most sincere apologies.

Your review is important to us and a copy has been forwarded to our Upper Management Team for further review, and investigation of the challenges mentioned like the plunger, the towels, the cleanliness of the pool and the game room.

We take everyone's complaints very seriously and we will do everything that we can to make it better.

A copy of your review has been given to Angel and his name will be included in our staff incentive program.

Kindest Regards,
Oak Plantation Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

I apologize that it took so long for my review, but I just now got a TripAdvisor account. Better late than never, right? My girlfriend and I stayed here for a week last August (2012) and couldn't of been happier. From the moment that we booked the hotel, we knew that we were going to be pleased. The hotel was clean, the staff was friendly, and the bartender was very kind/decent deals on screwdrivers (certain nights). The breakfast buffet was amazing and the place made you feel at home. I would definitely recommend it to anybody staying in the Orlando area. Kissimmee is literally right in the middle of all the attractions and Orlando is only a 15 minute drive! All in all, just can't say a negative thing about this place. It made finding our next hotel a challenge and now we feel like we can't settle for anything less than how amazing Oak Plantation was. A+

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tucksedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPRGuestExperiences, Hotel Staff at Oak Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Dear Tucsedo,
Thank you for staying with us and for your kind words.

We are happy to hear that you had a good time and enjoyed the hotel facilities from the tiki bar, to the breakfast and the location of the resort. Our staff was happy to hear the positive comments mentioned on your review.

Again, thank you for a wonderful review!

Cordially,
Oak Plantation Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

This was the worst Timeshare that we have ever been in. Interval International should immediately take them off their List and we are going to write to them and tell them that.
Our 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom unit (#810) was not anywhere near clean and had a bad musty odor. The place had multiple artificial plants covered in dust, and my wife is asthmatic. The flooring in the main bathroom was cracked and concave near the toilet so we had to step carefully. The bathtubs in both bathrooms were so fragile and flimsy that they creaked and gave way as you stepped closer to the drain. Totally unsafe and I only weigh 190. The kitchen was a nightmare. The drain racks in the dishwasher were almost totally rusted thru in multiple spots. Also, just above the dishwasher, the front side of the kitchen counter was broken away. The ancient kitchen shelving had particle board that was deteriorating and crumbly. It was so bad that the shelving sagged in the middle. We refused to use the oven because the inside including the racks were gross with crud.
Because we were 2 families totaling 7 people, we couldn't easily make other arrangements and ended up staying 3 nights of our intended 7 night stay. Even so, we basically just slept there for the 3 nights. We ended up at a hotel and had to pay $500 for that plus meals in restaurants.
This was easily the worst travel experience that we have ever had.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JRGMAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPRGuestExperiences, Hotel Staff at Oak Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Dear JRGMAG,

Thank you for your review. Your feedback is very important to us.

We are disappointed that we did not meet your expectations, and would like to take this opportunity to sincerely apologize for all of the challenges encountered with the upkeep of the unit from the bathroom floors to the kitchen appliances.

Your comments are important to us, your comments have been forwarded to our management team. Also, you may contact the resort and ask to speak with our Director of Operations to discuss your issues further as your feedback is more than welcome.

Kindest Regards,
Oak Plantation Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kissimmee hotels
1.9 mi away
Seasons Florida Resort
Seasons Florida Resort
#19 of 154 in Kissimmee
614 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ramada Kissimmee Downtown Hotel
4.8 mi away
Quality Suites The Royale Parc Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Orlando SW - Celebration Area
8.8 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Resort & Conference Center Orlando
12.9 mi away
Liki Tiki Village
Liki Tiki Village
#27 of 154 in Kissimmee
2,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Plantation Resort

Address: 4090 Enchanted Oaks Cir, Kissimmee, FL 34741-2928
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range: £47 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oak Plantation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a secluded hammock of majestic oak trees, Oak Plantation is quiet and comfortable, yet close to everything-a distinct advantage among resorts in the Orlando/Kissimmee area. Walt Disney World® Resort, Universal Studios/Islands of Adventure® Orlando and SeaWorld® are just minutes away. There's so much to see and do in beautiful Central Florida, no matter how many vacations you've spent here you can keep coming back - and never be disappointed. At our Orlando Kissimmee resort, you're right in the middle of all the excitement.Oak Plantation Resort offers children's activities, a playground, a video-game room, a fitness center, and picnic areas furnished with barbecue grills and tables.A Wednesday night "dive-in" movie by the pool with complimentary popcorn is available to all guests. The hotel also provides daily pool activities.The resort provides complimentary scheduled transportation to and from the Walt Disney World® Resort, Universal Studios®, and SeaWorld® theme parks. Power up with a full breakfast buffet everyday from 7:30 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. for only $7.95 (Adults) and $5.50 (Children ages 4-9). Free Wireless Internet access is available throughout the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Oak Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Plantation Hotel Kissimmee
Oak Plantation Kissimmee Florida
Oak Plantation Villas Resort
Oak Plantation Resort Kissimmee, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing