We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great base at VFM price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oak Plantation Resort
Ranked #96 of 153 Hotels in Kissimmee
Sussex, England
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great base at VFM price”
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

Second time I've stayed here with my daughters. It's not glitzy or polished, but it's good vfm, a handy place on the map, felt safe, clean and friendly, pool area was good and the diy waffle breakfasts were great. I would come back again

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank modwolf63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,047 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    302
    162
    134
    252
See reviews for
543
196
23
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Bend, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2013

When I read these reviews sometimes Im always surprised and have learned that you cant always depend on others to form an opinion. I have stayes here both times I have visited the area. The most recent time was in June 2013. Each time I have NEVER seen one roach bed bug etc.. Yes the rooms are not as updated as some of the resorts. But Hello people how much a week did you pay for your room? The staff was nice my kids enjoyed activities and swimming n the evenings after returning from amusements. I even got a great discount on Disney Park tickets. My biggest negative is the need to upgrade to WIFI. Having to go to the Internet Cafe was a tad much and I did have to call a few times to get towels. All in all for the price it was just fine for me and my family. We are even considering leasing from an owner for short term while we relocate if an opportunity open. I would definitely stay here a 3rd time.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crystal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisburn
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed in the one bedroom villa (apartment really) and for £33 a night it was great value. The staff are friendly and accomodation was well equipped with full sized stove, fridge/freezer and dishwasher. Our washing machine wasn't working but there was a laundry room on site with free use of the washing machine and tumble dryer. The resort had lovely gardens and pool area, a tennis court, basketball court and gaming room. Wifi was only available in the foyer and also the inernet cafe (free drinks supplied while surfing) and if you felt the need there was even a car wash bay with vacuum. Also there was a free shuttle to theme parks. The bedlinen needs to be up-graded and wifi would be a bonus in the rooms but certainly great value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeaMist6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

This place is horrible. Everything is in disarray, broken down, out of order, etc. If you want towels or a DVD player, expect to wait hours and have to call multiple times. Bestvacations ever.com sucks, rips you off and scans you. Their vacation package includes this resort and we ended up booking another out of our own pocket, eating a bunch of fees because it sucks so bad. The pool is okay and the bartender seemed nice. Please pay the extra thirty bucks and get a real place. You'll be pissed if you don't.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank K-TOWN-KEVIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPRGuestExperiences, Manager at Oak Plantation Resort, responded to this review, 31 August 2015
We would like to thank you for your comments and for visiting Oak Plantation Resort.

We are extremely disappointed that we did not meet the quality standards that you had anticipated. Please accept our most sincere apologies.

Your review is important to us and a copy has been forwarded to our Upper Management Team for further review, and investigation of the challenges .

We take everyone's complaints very seriously and we will do everything that we can to make it better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kissimmee hotels

Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

My husband booked our 3-night stay here I think through TripAdvisor for like half-off. It was the end of our 10-day Orlando vacation and funds were tight. We had read all the reviews on TripAdvisor of course, and knew what we might be getting into, but the place had good price and great location so off we went.

The pros: it's super close to several family attractions like Gator Land, shopping, across the street from Pirate Golf (can't remember if it's Island or Cove), and bonus for us, a few minutes from Steak 'n Shake (we don't have one where we're from). It was also an easy drive to Disney too, maybe 20-25 minutes. They gave us two free admission coupons to a FL safari ($18 each) but when we learned it was at least an hour south and nowhere near where we'd be going, we didn't use them. Other pros (that didn't really make or break the deal) were peacocks were everywhere on the property in the mornings, and the pool area was nice. Our son loved the little water "park" which was nice to have but it too was old and rusty and needed attention. We still spent nearly an hour just with the 3 raining "park" pipes because he wanted to.

There were two spacious pools, one was heated and really nice and the other one I guess wasn't temp controlled? I don't know, didn't use it. I did like that they played music in the pool area and it wasn't too loud or too quiet. The "resort" (I use that term loosely) offered many daily and nightly activities if you wanted, but we were always out and about and pretty much just slept there so I have no idea how they were. They give you paper copies of the calendar schedule, but it would have been more convenient to have them already on the fridge in our room. They did offer a kids' tye-dye session our son would have loved but we were out when they had it. There was a hot tub in a gazebo we also didn't use, and a tiki hut snack bar in the pool area. It isn't really a swim-up one like we had the impression of, you had to walk out of the pool and go up to it like any other snack bar. No biggie. They did have their prices (pretty affordable, comparable) conveniently listed on the fridge in the room.

Most things in our 1BR apartment (room 1201) appeared clean... but definitely old and in need of an update or to be replaced. We did not dare use the oven because the heating coil came up out of the oven and prevented it from closing all the way. Scary! It didn't look really clean inside either. The stove top was also really old, as was the cabinetry, which was broken and chipped in most places. We never did see any bugs inside our apartment, thank goodness, but there was plenty of other wildlife outside our door and often ON our door waiting for us to get back- frogs and lizards and the like. We were surprised they hadn't powerwashed the outside walls or doors or sidewalks, most places do just to keep things clean and looking nice.

The living room/TV room/dining space/kitchen area was one big room together, and the seating was old but comfy I guess. The remote worked half the time, but we were really surprised to see old boxy CRT TVs instead of the flat ones most places have now, but what really really surprised us was even though they had a movie rental place on site, there was no DVD or even VHS player in the apartment! We thought about getting a movie one night but on what would we have watched it? So weird. We did appreciate that the apartment came with a free washer/dryer, but most places that do give you one or two things of soap, but this place did not. Also, we did a few loads and though the washer was great, the dryer (lint cleared) always took two cycles, probably because like everything else it was OLD.

The bed, king size, was comfortable enough and the bedroom also had a CRT (boxy) TV in it. The furniture was really old too, the style was like from the 70's, something my grandmother had. The phones were also old, the really old, heavy, creamy colored CORD style phones, and the one in our room DIED the last night we were there- no dialtone or anything. The previous night it kinda worked, but was super hard to hear. Of course we hard our own cells, but still, c'mon, you can't update PHONES? The bedroom had a goodsize walk-in closet which our 3 year old son slept in his "PeaPod" blow up tent. He also liked using it as a playroom.

The bathroom... again was OLD. It was smaller than we expected, average size of most hotels, but smaller for most timeshare/villas/"resorts." We didn't dare use the tub as a tub but just showered. The shower leaked all the time, and the toilet sounded like the tub was running after we flushed it each time. No biggie, just odd. We opted out of daily maid service which saved us $6/day I think but could've used more towels.

Overall, the place was just OK. I don't know if I'd stay there again, we are coming back to Orlando in two years... we have the time to perhaps find someplace better next time. I realize not everyone can afford a super nice villa/resort (we usually can't either, we picked this place in a pinch) and it wasn't THAT terrible like other reviewers had experienced. That may be why it was really quiet though, which was nice- no rowdy partiers or tons of people hanging around, which we appreciated. We've been in much better places but also much worse. The staff we did interact with seemed nice and pleasant. Oak Plantation "Resort" really, really needs a serious upgrade in the near future... just replacing the basic stuff like phones, furniture, cabinetry, appliances, TVs would really really make this place shine a little more and make you go "hmm" a little less. It does have a lot of potential, but that's not what travelers are looking for is it?

So in a nutshell, it was ok, but old.

Room Tip: Ground floor corner was nice, never heard our neighbors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adje1124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oranjestad, Aruba
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2013

The resort is great for kids. The staff at the front-office was very friendly. The rooms are a bit outdated. The pool area is very nice.
The only thing that is terrible is the towel service. Don't expect any new towels when they take along your used ones. It happened us three times. We needed to call frontoffice, but it took hours before getting new ones.
The same thing with toiletpaper. It was not refilled automatically. Calling for it takes hours, but after going to the frontoffice personally they give me some.
Many people complain about the outdated rooms. Yes, they are outdated. But on the other hand the price of the resort isn't that high. Don't expect to be in a kingdom if you don't want to pay for it. If you want luxery book at Marriots or another high priced resort.
In all we were very content with our stay and certainly go back another time.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Remco L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joliet, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Don't stay here. Dirty, moldy, worn and just plain gross. The room had cockroaches Complained to the staff only to find out there was no record of our complaints. The maid threw away our food from the fridge and they didn't even try to compensate for the loss of money. You were warned... buyer beware!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kissimmee hotels
1.9 mi away
Seasons Florida Resort
Seasons Florida Resort
#14 of 153 in Kissimmee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
11.6 mi away
Champions World Resort
Champions World Resort
#35 of 153 in Kissimmee
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,055 reviews
4.8 mi away
Quality Suites Royale Parc Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Flamingo Waterpark Resort
Flamingo Waterpark Resort
#72 of 153 in Kissimmee
3.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
3.1 mi away
Legacy Vacation Resorts
Legacy Vacation Resorts
#13 of 59 in Kissimmee
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,125 reviews
13.0 mi away
Liki Tiki Village
Liki Tiki Village
#22 of 153 in Kissimmee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Plantation Resort

Property: Oak Plantation Resort
Address: 4090 Enchanted Oaks Cir, Kissimmee, FL 34741-2928
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Oak Plantation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a secluded hammock of majestic oak trees, Oak Plantation is quiet and comfortable, yet close to everything-a distinct advantage among resorts in the Orlando/Kissimmee area. Walt Disney World® Resort, Universal Studios/Islands of Adventure® Orlando and SeaWorld® are just minutes away. There's so much to see and do in beautiful Central Florida, no matter how many vacations you've spent here you can keep coming back - and never be disappointed. At our Orlando Kissimmee resort, you're right in the middle of all the excitement.Oak Plantation Resort offers children's activities, a playground, a video-game room, a fitness center, and picnic areas furnished with barbecue grills and tables.A Wednesday night "dive-in" movie by the pool with complimentary popcorn is available to all guests. The hotel also provides daily pool activities.The resort provides complimentary scheduled transportation to and from the Walt Disney World® Resort, Universal Studios®, and SeaWorld® theme parks. Power up with a full breakfast buffet everyday from 7:30 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. for only $7.95 (Adults) and $5.50 (Children ages 4-9). Free Wireless Internet access is available throughout the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oak Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Plantation Hotel Kissimmee
Oak Plantation Kissimmee Florida
Oak Plantation Villas Resort
Oak Plantation Resort Kissimmee, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing