We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oak Plantation Resort
Ranked #90 of 154 Hotels in Kissimmee
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The good: staff, especially gymmy at the bar and the lady in charge of activities.
The very bad: cockroaches and mouse in room. Everything about our room was bad. This is a very old and outdated resort.
The pillows had no pillow cases so I had to call and request some, also the kitchen only had a couple of dishes and only two glasses.
There was no water or AC at the gym was not working and the thermostat read 95 degrees.
It's too bad, this place has lots of potential.

The pools were nice and the outside was well maintained.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alvaradoana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPRGuestExperiences, Manager at Oak Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2015

We would like to thank you for your comments and for visiting Oak Plantation Resort.

We are extremely disappointed that we did not meet the quality standards that you had anticipated. Please accept our most sincere apologies.

Your review is important to us and a copy has been forwarded to our Upper Management Team for further review, and investigation of the challenges .

We take everyone's complaints very seriously and we will do everything that we can to make it better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,075)
There are newer reviews for Oak Plantation Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

299 - 305 of 1,075 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed here on a girls trip to Florida. 5 girlfriends, we rented a 2 bedroom unit for one week. Nice apartment, full kitchen and washer and dryer. Pool area was beautiful, hot tub, cold pool and heated pool. Loved the tiki bar and Jimmy the bartender! Planned activities every afternoon or evening at the pool area. Bingo, hotdog BBQ, movie night, Happy Hour every afternoon at the pool bar, with 2-4-1 drinks. Staff were friendly and very helpful. we had a great stay, and I recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ianthe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Lincolnshire uk
1
Reviewed 21 April 2014

On arrival the room smelt very damp which seemed to soften slightly over our stay. Until however we had a thunder storm and came back and the blinds where full of rain water.
However the day we were leaving their maintenance where doing repairs

If your going literally for a bed and breakfast it's ok. We went out first thing and came back late, apart from one night where we went to the bar by the pool. It seemed to have a good range of cocktails, beers and soft drinks.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I'll start with the good.
1. Pool area is beautiful and clean. Lots of chairs and tables, plenty of space.
2. The breakfast was great! Excellent selection, attentive employees and good value.
3. Units are large and sunny.
4. Good location for us. Away from the parks but not too far.
5. The peacocks are entertaining.

That's it for the good, now on to the bad.
1. Guy tending the Tiki Bar was cranky and unfriendly.
2. Pool towels ran out fairly quickly, rarely replenished.
3. Grounds can use some sprucing up.
4. The units are stuck in the 80's. I understand they are renovating and really, the decor is the least of the issues. But the appliances are quite old, the dishwasher pulled out from under the counter when we tried to open the door, the fridge was really noisy and the ice maker didn't have a shut off so filled the bin and a good portion of the freezer with ice. The controls on the range didn't work properly either.
5. The tv was hard to watch (not that we spent a lot of time in front of it) because it kept "popping" and then the picture would freeze.
6. The wifi was indeed free, however it would bomb out and we had to log in again. An annoyance for sure, but not a show stopper.
7. Housekeeping was non-existent. They came in the first day, made the bed, took all of our towels and never replaced them. I have no idea why this place has such a towel problem, but be warned. I had to ask 4 times to get the towels replaced, then the next day there was another bag of towels + sheets by our door
8. We used the sleeper sofa, which was queen sized, with a full size mattress on it. Luckily only 1 person was using it. The bedding was old and sketchy, good thing we drove and had blankets in the car.
9. Had to get toilet paper from the front desk.
10. The walls are PAPER thin. We could hear conversations in the other units, heard a child throwing up all night and the golf carts cruising the property. (I assume they were the security people)
11. Next to our unit, in front of a garage was a broken down golf cart, 4 flat tires. The garage door was often open with washers/dryers in various states of repair. There is just a general air of dishevelment throughout the resort.
12. The units are VERY sparsely supplied with kitchenware.

This was a Groupon, so the price was fine, but I am kicking myself for not reading more reviews. It wasn't a horrible stay, we basically slept here and had breakfast, but I would not recommend this "resort" until some renovations are done and the housekeeping is majorly improved. It's a shame because the place has good bones.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cory D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPRGuestExperiences, Manager at Oak Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
Here at Oak Plantation we take every review seriously. As you mentioned we are in the process of remodeling our units but that is no excuse for us falling short during your stay.
Please accept our apologies. Your review has been submitted to upper management for review.

Again, thank you for your time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We purchased a weekend reservation a month ago through groupon. I called a day ahead of time to confirm reservations. They did not have us in their system. I had to call groupon to have them resend the booking info. Quick fix by Groupon!

The location is good, the front desk staff is friendly. The outside looks nice from what I can see at night. Fast check in, the lobby is very nice, the place seems secure and safe area. The AC works great and there is a full kitchen which is great when traveling with babies/toddlers.

The rooms are dirty, out dated, and gross. The place smells like smoke and the carpet, the furniture, and bathroom are nasty. I will not even let my three year old walk without socks or shoes. He took a shower because the tub is gross. The beds and linens are disgusting. I am going to see if I can find a place to buy some pillows and sheets. We checked in late with small children so no time to change. My husband wants to check out asap!! Bring your own pillows, blankets, and sheets.

The pull-out sofa looks like a worn old shoe! The tvs do not work well as they make a crackling sound every few minutes and the picture is fuzzy. You can hear your neighbors above you. People are loud and running around outside. (It is now midnight) it is waking my son up, whos pack and play os by the window. The lamps do not work and the shades almost fell down when I closed them.

The place needs a serious update inside and some fresh paint! If it was clean and freshened up this place would be perfect!!! I would mot mind paying more for a cleaner place. We tried this as a groupon since it was a new place. We are looking for a place to stay on a regular basis with the family and this will not be it if this place is not updated.

I am dissapointed because another website gave them good reviews so I purchased the groupon. I wish I would have read tripadvisors reviews first. :(

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mmdr41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We spent the first week in March at Oak Plantation and enjoyed our stay very much. Our 1 bdrm apt. was large, and clean. The pool area was excellent, and we took advantage of the buffet breakfast each morning, choosing to sit outside in the shade. Although there was a shuttle bus to Disney World from the resort, we rented a car for the duration of our stay. The resort was filled with families, young couples (one on their honeymoon), and older couples; everyone we met was friendly and pleasant. Not a fancy resort, but very good value for the money. No complaints, we will return to this resort in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPRGuestExperiences, Manager at Oak Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2015

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your visit and for giving us a chance to see what we are all about, which is you the customer. It is great to see that our team's hard work is paying off. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay.

Thank you again for staying with us!

We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

Worst place I ever stayed. The room is so disgusting and it smells like a old dump. Housekeeping is a joke, basically they just came in take out the towels, not even bother to leave the clean ones. Had to call front everyday ask for clean towels. The dryer doesn't work. The kitchen doesn't have enough kitchenware. The refrigerator sounds like a train. Avoid this place no matter how cheap it is.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Cindy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPRGuestExperiences, Manager at Oak Plantation Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

We would like to thank you for your comments and for visiting Oak Plantation Resort.
We are extremely disappointed that we did not meet the quality standards that you had anticipated.
Please accept our most sincere apologies.
Your review is important to us and a copy has been forwarded to our Upper Management Team for further review, and investigation of your complaint.

Again, please accept our apologies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kissimmee hotels
4.8 mi away
Quality Suites The Royale Parc Suites
1.9 mi away
Seasons Florida Resort
Seasons Florida Resort
#16 of 154 in Kissimmee
605 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ramada Kissimmee Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Park Inn By Radisson Resort and Conference Center Orlando
2.8 mi away
Star Island Resort and Club
Star Island Resort and Club
#23 of 154 in Kissimmee
2,416 reviews
12.9 mi away
Liki Tiki Village
Liki Tiki Village
#27 of 154 in Kissimmee
2,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Plantation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Plantation Resort

Address: 4090 Enchanted Oaks Cir, Kissimmee, FL 34741-2928
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range: £44 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oak Plantation Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a secluded hammock of majestic oak trees, Oak Plantation is quiet and comfortable, yet close to everything-a distinct advantage among resorts in the Orlando/Kissimmee area. Walt Disney World® Resort, Universal Studios/Islands of Adventure® Orlando and SeaWorld® are just minutes away. There's so much to see and do in beautiful Central Florida, no matter how many vacations you've spent here you can keep coming back - and never be disappointed. At our Orlando Kissimmee resort, you're right in the middle of all the excitement.Oak Plantation Resort offers children's activities, a playground, a video-game room, a fitness center, and picnic areas furnished with barbecue grills and tables.A Wednesday night "dive-in" movie by the pool with complimentary popcorn is available to all guests. The hotel also provides daily pool activities.The resort provides complimentary scheduled transportation to and from the Walt Disney World® Resort, Universal Studios®, and SeaWorld® theme parks. Power up with a full breakfast buffet everyday from 7:30 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. for only $7.95 (Adults) and $5.50 (Children ages 4-9). Free Wireless Internet access is available throughout the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Oak Plantation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Plantation Hotel Kissimmee
Oak Plantation Kissimmee Florida
Oak Plantation Villas Resort
Oak Plantation Resort Kissimmee, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing