We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Affordable, Nice Location, Could Use Updating” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rodeway Inn Maingate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rodeway Inn Maingate
Ranked #51 of 153 Hotels in Kissimmee
Walla Walla, WA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very Affordable, Nice Location, Could Use Updating”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Great Location but very antiquated rooms without many amenities. Very old TV, no mini fridge or microwave. The price is the saving feature. Breakfast area not air conditioned and signs telling you not to leave the area with any food or drink even to take it to your room. My wife was very unimpressed when a large cockroach ran over her when she was lying on her bed. We did only see one, however, and they are very prevalent all over the southern states. It would though be hard to get her to stay here again. The personnel were very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JesseGriffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    254
    260
    91
    110
See reviews for
314
236
55
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gilbertsville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Booked through Internet travel site and paid in full. On arrival had to pay additional "resort fees" and when I questioned it the desk attendant was less than nice about it. The card keys had to be reprogrammed at the desk and they even messed up my checkout date. Free breakfast was instant oatmeal and bagels served in a meeting room.
TV was old school tube type with maybe 10 channels. Not at all what I expected from some of the other reviews.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kissimmee hotels

Winter Haven, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

the room I had did not have any wash cloths in the room , called desk and it took 4 hrs to get any.. and the tub was not clean, there is a lot of pot holes in the drive around the motel. this room had an old tv

Room Tip: if you stay here and want internet ask for building 8 for it gets the best service there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 420rogersj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Hi this is my first time writing a hotel review so I'm sorry if its not very helpful but um! Wow. This is gonna be lengthy so I'll try to make it as entertaining as possible.

My sister, her boyfriend and I were staying here for 2 weeks. It was just a meet up sort of thing, since my sister and her boyfriend are in a long distance relationship. I tagged along to take pictures and junk. We planned on going to the amusement parks in the area. We weren't looking for a high maintenance hotel or anything, just a place to sleep and eat some meals.

On the first day, the first thing I noticed when we entered the room was the smell. It was like I was smelling a old damp towel or something, it was wild. But, as soon as we turned the AC on it went away. I don't think we turned the AC off once during the whole trip to be honest? I don't think anyone else did either. In fact, the ACs were running so much that they actually started to leak water, which would make the floor REALLY slippery and I saw dozens of people slip/fall down (including myself haha). Its not anything serious, you learn to avoid the water puddles, but it could be dangerous for a child or an elderly person.

Next, THE ROOM. The room was really strange. First of all, I think our room (7205) is /literally/ the only room in the entire place that does not have a peephole. I walked around a little to check the rest of the rooms, and didn't notice any other peepholes missing. It was really confusing. We had to yank the curtains back every time, which would completely expose the fact that there was someone in the room. Second, our bathroom lock didn't work. Not that it mattered, we are mature enough not to walk in on someone else. Next, the hairdryer just fell off the wall??? for no reason? in the middle of the night? I don't know what the staff did about that, lmao we just left it on the counter before we checked out.

NOT ALL OF THE ROOMS HAVE FRIDGES AND MICROWAVES!! If you're staying for a long period of time, you definitely need to clarify with the hotel that you /need/ both the fridge and microwave. We wasted so much money on restaurant food because there was no way to keep it fresh / heat up frozen or cold foods. The receptionist told us to go buy a cooler and fill it with the free ice to substitute for a fridge, but that didn't do the job.

A LOT of the outlets were broken! One of our lamps didn't have a light bulb! We informed the front desk but they didn't do anything about it. And I feel like its a little bit ridiculous to have to plug in a wall light in order for it to work. Like, there was a switch on the wall, but in order for the light to work, you needed to plug it in first. That took up some of our open working outlets. Also. The table was literally broken and it was just standing up on its own and supporting itself with those poor, poor, broken table legs. So saddening. I'm surprised it didn't just collapse.

There are three washing machines and three dryers. Two of the dryers didn't work, and the working one was almost always taken. That is all.

The complimentary breakfast was really poor, just warm oranges, packets of instant oatmeal, shrink wrapped bagels, coffee and juice. I'll admit though, the free juice was pretty cool. I went by almost every morning to get some. And by some I mean a lot. I consumed so much juice. Thank you for the juice. It's set up in a kind of hard to find corner connected to the main building. A hall with about 13 long tables and a TV playing the news on one end.

The pool was probably the best part about this hotel. It has a convenient shape so like 3-4 different families can share it at once. However, there are almost never any pool towels, the whole floor of the pool area is always wet, kids are always running around, people dive despite there being dozens of signs saying not to dive, and there's no lifeguard. There was an incident when I was staying where someone dove into the water when there was a child underwater where they couldn't be seen, and the child got injured pretty bad. Plus there's usually bugs floating around in the water.

While I'm on the topic of other people, the staff here is very friendly but? uncomfortable. There's always a handyman or repair guy walking around and just watching the guests. My sister overheard another person yelling at a staff member, claiming that she had seen him break into her car.

We never had any trouble with housekeeping taking or misplacing our things. The people at the front desk were very helpful, especially when our card got messed up several times.

The location of this hotel is perfect though, there are several convenience stores in the area, a grocery store across the highway, an outlet mall, and its very close to a lot of bus stops (TAKE THE BUS. The parks are nearby but its about $25-$40 one-way by taxi [not including a tip]. Sure, it'll take a little longer, but the bus is $2 per person, or you can buy a day pass for $4.50).

AS MUCH AS I JUST TRASHED THIS HOTEL I still liked it. It wasn't even close to living up to my expectations but it was still enjoyable. For the price, its definitely worth it, but I might suggest finding a little more expensive hotel, just so the atmosphere and experience is better. I almost regret not getting a better hotel just because this one was so.. well. Jank.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Anisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katowice
Level Contributor
91 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

this motel is near main Orlando attraction Disney Park,
comfortable, little old,but soap in the bathroom, fridge,mini express, coffee, tea, hairdryer,clean towels,clean sheet,for this price and location is super

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joanna z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
192 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

we stay at "our" little Rodeway several times a year. It is not new, it doesn't look pretty from the outside but it is ALWAYS clean and comfortable. The staff is always cheerful and helpful. We have stayed at hotels that literally cost 7 times as much and the handicapped accessiblitly can not hold a candle to our Rodeway. It has a roll in shower, a removable shower head, bars based appropriately by shower and toilet. We have been staying here for years and will continue to do so.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norther Central PA
Level Contributor
138 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

I booked 2 rooms. I traveled with my daughter and 5 of my grandchildren. We stayed for 7 nights. Front desk staff was very friendly. The reason for only 3 stars is the fact that I had to keep requesting towels for the 4 of us staying in our room....maids kept leaving only two. I kept writing notes requesting service for 4 but that request usually got ignored. I don't think the maids could read English....because one of the couldn't understand English when I asked her a question.

The beds were comfortable and the linens clean, the room could have been a little cleaner as the carpet and tile bathroom floor made the bottoms of our feet black. I had a small spill in the bathroom and wiped it up with a tissue....the tissue turned black leading me to believe the floor rarely, if ever, gets scrubbed. However, the room was quiet and right off the pool, which was beautiful, clean and enjoyed a bunch by my grandchildren.

There were roaches all over outside every night, but I don't think there was a problem in the rooms because I got up every night to use the bathroom and did not once see a roach anywhere. And my daughter never saw a hint of one in her room. However, having said that, there was a dead roach (I said dead) in the bathroom light fixture and one morning there was a dying roach on its back in front of our dresser. And on the next to the last day, there was a huge roach in our tub. But like I said...I don't think there was an inside infestation. I think these pests must have come in under the door. I used to live in SC and that's what would happen occasionally to us.

There was a mini fridge and microwave in our room as well as a tv, alarm clock and free wifi (which was slow). Breakfast consisted of plain bagels and cream cheese, oat meal, coffee, tea and juice. Adequate for the price we paid for the rooms.

There was a Golden Corral 3 doors away from us on one side, and an iHop just next door on the other side. There was a nice gift shop attached to the motel. It was easy to find and very easy to get to the Disney Parks. We were able to get there in 5 to 10 minutes, depending on traffic.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ladymedonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kissimmee hotels
0.4 mi away
Super 8 Kissimmee/Maingate/Orlando Area
0.4 mi away
Roomba Inn & Suites Orlando
Roomba Inn & Suites Orlando
#107 of 153 in Kissimmee
3.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
2.9 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Suites Lake Front Park Kissimme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Seralago Hotel and Suites
Seralago Hotel and Suites
#88 of 153 in Kissimmee
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,371 reviews
3.8 mi away
Ramada Kissimmee Gateway
Ramada Kissimmee Gateway
#40 of 153 in Kissimmee
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,386 reviews
4.3 mi away
Maingate Lakeside Resort
Maingate Lakeside Resort
#94 of 153 in Kissimmee
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn Maingate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn Maingate

Property: Rodeway Inn Maingate
Address: 5995 W Hwy 192, Kissimmee, FL 34747
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 153 Hotels in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Rodeway Inn Maingate 1.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Rodeway Inn Maingate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Maingate Hotel Kissimmee
Maingate Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn Kissimmee
Kissimmee Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn Maingate Kissimmee, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing