We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nightclub or resort???”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Star Island Resort and Club
Ranked #23 of 152 Hotels in Kissimmee
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nightclub or resort???”
Reviewed 5 September 2011

After trading in our home resort for years, we recently stayed there for the first time this year. We were pleasantly surprised with the accommodations after all the bad reviews on this site. Room was very clean, nice new flat screens and furniture, and the grounds were nice.

What I wasn't pleased with was the outdoor nightclub they provide for guest 'entertainment'. Our unit is across the lake an we could here the music clear as day over our TV. It goes on until midnight or later.

Stay clear if you are thinking of bringing a family or just like to sleep. If your looking for spring break with a bunch of 40+ year olds in September- this is your place!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ceteinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    836
    767
    380
    184
    175
See reviews for
1,238
546
43
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (586)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

The rooms we had were ok. But there is no cleaning service during a week long stay. Towels are exchanged once on request. People are friendly and helpful, but the property is old and needs updating. Has a low rent feel. Pool suffers from dirt from the trees, which is never cleaned out. There are much better places to stay in this area. Bar area is depressing. No resturant. Lots of moskito's bitting in the evening.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveMorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

I read all the bad reviews and got worried about staying here. Myself and 18 members of our family stayed for two weeks for a once in a lifetime holiday in florida. The apartment was clean, extremly spacious, well presented and exceeded our expectations. Loved the jacquzzi bath(swimming pool) in our master room, washer dryer dishwasher were a bonus. All the staff were lovely, especially ashley ra in the spa, get her to give you a pedicure its amazing. If your booked here you will have q great time, wish we were still there.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jill b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

My family has a timeshare with Wyndham but it is at Bonnet Creek Resort and we always stay there, but this time we had to work around the kids school schedule, so we went with Star Island Resort. Bad mistake...Even though the rooms were very spacious...we had Roaches bad, and I don't mean small like beetles, I mean Huge like June Bugs. We did call the office and went down to the office and noone seemed to be the least concerned, I guess because they weren't the ones staying there. I did not unpack my luggage as I was scared one of those bugs would want to come home with me. Nobody ever did anything about the bug situation. Also the elevators were so slow, I guess it was because of the SNAKE that was lying there when my Grandchildren opened up the door. Also again nobody bothered to attempt to correct that situation either, after being told several times by many people. I was afraid to get in the elevators, you had to jump up and down to make it work. The shower and larger tub was nice, except you need steps to get in and out of it. This could be very dangerous. The pool area was a long way from our room, and very over crowded and not very clean at all. We did not go there often, They need more pools or quit overbooking. The kids were very disappointed in that area as they are water freaks.. The bar and karoke area really needs to be updated, with also someone that is a bit more friendly than the one that did it. You guys need to go over to Bonnet Creek and see how they do things. This place is outdated and really nothing to do there. I was very disappointed in the whole adventure of Star Island. I say don't waste your money or time, when there are other places close to Disney that can make your Disney experience one to remember.

Room Tip: Go to another Resort!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TStrickland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

A mistake in booking put us in a deep dark hole in the wall. You would think that after realizing that ther had been a mistake made, it would be corrected. Think again, the management was very unapolagetic, and resolutly opposed to moving us to the room we had originall booked. This room was empty at the time but subsequently booked to someone else, who was mistakenly given a key to our room and unknowingly waled in on us. They had aloso been booked into the wrong accomodations. Never the less, I assume to have only one upset guest, refused to do anything to correct the error, and we checked out after two days completely destroying out one vacation for the year. Never again! I would not recomend this place under any circumstance, at any price.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
central florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

We were a little hesitant after reading some of the reviews on site, but I am pleased to say that those fears quickly disappated as soon as we saw our room. There was of course the obligatory "Would you like to take a 90-minute tour of one of our properties?" at check-in but a simple "no" and you were on your way. Our room was on the fourth floor of building 22. The room was immaculate and the furnishings were modern. The only thing that seemed out of sorts were the grecian columns which flanked the jacuzzi tub in the master bedroom. We had a nice porch complete with its own ceiling fan which is very necessary in the state of Florida. The grounds of the resort were well-maintained for a property that is nearly 20 years old. Only two minor disappointments. The advertised fishing as my husband put it "sucked" as the lake was filled with grasses. And the advertised "Live Entertainment" at the main bar during the evening was a bit of a letdown. (You can only hear the Macarena and the Cha-Cha song so many times and we heard them three times in two hours). I know the point was to get people out and dance but we cut our evening short and headed back to our room for cocktails. All in all, minor issues. If you are looking for a clean, spacious, well maintained stay, close to everything touristy in Orlando (four miles from Disney) Star Island is the place to be!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mastertraveler73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garland, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

I had a three bedroom villa. It was so spacious and clean. The kids loved it because they always had something going on at the resort, because of this we did not spend as much money as we thought. We went outside the resort 3 days out of the 6 days we stayed.
The only complaint that I have is that there is no on-site restuarant and to be a resort there should be one. TGI Fridays, Cici's Pizza, Taco Bell, Arbys is all in walking distance of the resort.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MekaBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kissimmee
2.2 mi away
Quality Suites The Royale Parc Suites
0.5 mi away
Magic Moment Resort and Kids Club
0.8 mi away
Wyndham Cypress Palms
Wyndham Cypress Palms
#150 of 338 in Orlando
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Seasons Florida Resort
Seasons Florida Resort
#16 of 152 in Kissimmee
584 reviews
10.5 mi away
Liki Tiki Village
Liki Tiki Village
#24 of 152 in Kissimmee
2,788 reviews
0.9 mi away
Polynesian Isles Resort
Polynesian Isles Resort
#2 of 152 in Kissimmee
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Island Resort and Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Island Resort and Club

Property: Star Island Resort and Club
Address: 5000 Avenue of the Stars, Kissimmee, FL 34746-5310
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Kissimmee
#5 Spa Hotel in Kissimmee
#7 Business Hotel in Kissimmee
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
#21 Family Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Star Island Resort and Club 3*
Number of rooms: 466
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Star Island resort is a Mediterranean styled resort and spa located just minutes from all of central Florida's major attractions, while still offering the quiet relaxation of luxurious accommodations with a multitude of amenities and activities. Relax in one of our spacious suites or villas with all of the comforts of home. All units include a full kitchen or mini kitchen and our largest unit can sleep up to 8 of your family and friends. Amenities include water sports, tennis, driving range, basketball, supervised family and children's activities and so much more. Visit Star Island for your unique vacation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Star Island Resort and Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Island Resort And Club Hotel Kissimmee
Star Island Hotel
Island Star
Star Island Resort Orlando
Fairfield Star Island Resort
Star Island Resort And Club Kissimmee, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing