We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very helpful front desk agents”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Star Island Resort and Club
Ranked #22 of 154 Hotels in Kissimmee
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 15 February 2014

These two ladies , Mildred Alvarado and Veronica Luna
Both worked very hard to make sure I could stay in the same unit for the whole 6 weeks I am there, normally I am having to move apartments every week , these ladies made sure I did not have that problem .
The hospitality was very professional , kind and courteous
I stay here all the time and always will, rooms are very clean if you need anything just call it is seen to right away !

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smudge5965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubWyndham, Social Media Team at Star Island Resort and Club, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We appreciate your kind words regarding Mildred and Veronica. We find it so important to recognize when Count on Me service has been provided. We are glad you have always found our units to be clean and our service satisfactory. Again, thank you for reaching out and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,446)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,451 - 1,457 of 2,446 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2014

Resort was beautiful. Sadly we were there in December so not much was open. We wanted to go on the paddle boats one afternoon but literally no one was there to help us. The front desk staff knew nothing about the amenities; such as they advertise TGI Friday delivery but they don't know any of the details, along with they messed up our check in so we got a call one day asking if we even checked in. We loved how close it was to all the major attractions. Literally all we had to do was drive down the road and we were at Disney World. Plus there were a lot of different places near by to eat at. Our room was AMAZING! Clean, well kept. Depsite staff not knowing much were very pleased with our stay. We are considering returning for our honeymoon because it is so close to Disney World.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubWyndham, Social Media Team at Star Island Resort and Club, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Hi Jenny,

Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We are disappointed to hear you were unable to use some of the resort activities offered in warmer weather. We also apologize for the issues with check-in. We know these things caused an inconvenience during your vacation. With your feedback we can continue to improve the guest experience. It’s great to hear you enjoyed your unit accommodations and many of the activities nearby. We hope you come back to stay with us for your honeymoon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We have multiple weeks booked here. Mildred Alvarado at the check-in desk took extra time to see that we got the same really nice room for the entire five weeks, set up the key cards for the entire time, and was very pleasant to us.
We have stayed at this resort several times and have always had a good experience.

Room Tip: Higher floor with elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubWyndham, Social Media Team at Star Island Resort and Club, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Hi Barbara,

Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We appreciate your kind words regarding Mildred at check-in. We feel it is important to recognize when great service has been given. It’s great to hear you have been able to visit us many times and that you have enjoyed every vacation. Again, thank you for reaching out and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I have stayed at many windoms resorts and was I disappointed. My room wasn't much different from a dorm room, including a dorm size fridge, cracked cheap chairs and the stove was two burners on the counter. Our bedroom was two full sized beds that must have been 30 years old sagging in the middle. We checked out a two days early and went somewhere else!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gjsvanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubWyndham, Social Media Team at Star Island Resort and Club, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We are sorry to hear you were unsatisfied with the room accommodations. Based on your description provided, it appears you were booked into one of our 1 bedroom suite-A units. This type of unit consists of a partial kitchen, 1 bathroom, and a whirlpool tub. They are around 650 square feet in size. We strive to provide this information to the guest through our website, pre-arrival letter and confirmation letter. We apologize for any confusion and will work to better communicate this through additional channels in the future. Please feel free to reach out to the manager during your stay if this occurs in the future. Again, thanks for reaching out as we greatly value your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Resort is beautiful. Really nice pool area . Could use a second one though . My only complaint is we were asked to go on a timeshare tour , were assured it would only be 90 minutes and once we said no that would be accepted .. no high pressure. None of this was true we were taken to another resort , felt at there mercy .The tour guide played with there phone in the car and at the resort while we were walking. Once we told her we would not be purchasing she became upset with us , was not taking no for an answer . When we were finally taken back to our resort ( the drive back was very uncomfortable ). We thought it was over .Wrong we were taken to another part of the resort where another Wyndham rep was there to try to make us change our mind . Three hours later we were finally free to go . Will never go on another one.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Ronald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubWyndham, Social Media Team at Star Island Resort and Club, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Hi Ronald,

Thank you for taking the time to provide this great feedback. We appreciate your kind words regarding our resort and pool area. We are disappointed to hear tour experience did not meet your expectations, as this is not part of the Count On Me service we take pride in. We know that while on vacation it is imperative that our guests feeling completely comfortable. Please rest assured that we will be taking action to ensure that this is not an issue for future guests. Again, thanks for reaching out and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

First, I am reviewing this as a Wyndham owner. We understand that currently only a portion of this resort is currently owned by Wyndham, but that W. is in the process of purchasing the entire resort and has plans to upgrade the units when the sale is complete. We stayed in two different buildings currently owned and already renovated by Wyndham on 4 occasions. We stayed 3 times for just a night or two on our way further south and then for a week this time. For Wyndham owners who wonder about the "pitch", see further below.

Positives: the place is very clean; the two buildings we stayed in are pretty quiet with nice views over green areas; the common areas are landscaped well; the pool area is nice with plenty of chairs (not always true at FL Wyndham places); there is a cute little shop to buy basic groceries and snacks; the reservations people are polite and efficient; there is enough space to take some nice walks around the resort and the resort has sufficient green areas; there is an outside play area for small children; and it is very convenient to all of the theme parks; while there is no golf course, there is a driving range and putting area and golf courses nearby. All appliances worked and there is a nice large shower with good water pressure!

Not so positives: The units have been freshly painted, granite counters put in, nice new carpet, BUT the furnishings are like something out of the 1960's complete with tacky faded (but new) turquoise upholstery on the only seating (L shaped couch) in the living room (please a comfy lounge chair), cheap plastic chairs on the tiny decks, and the huge bathtubs centered in the bedrooms with Greek pillars--and you have to walk through the bedroom to get to the bath in the one bedroom deluxe. It was pretty quiet here, but it's true we could hear the 3 young women when they were in the adjoining unit --that would be part of the lock off if you had a two bedroom deluxe.

Tip: if you have mobility issues, make sure you ask for a building with elevators. HIgher floors are quieter.

Wyndham owners--You will check in at the reception desk--great people, but you cannot get your parking permit until you go to the concierge where you are "encouraged" to participate in a Wyndham session. Be prepared for a wait. We have had to wait 25 minutes for our parking permit at 7 p.m. while people discussed purchasing excursion tickets --annoying. We Wyndham owners have all had to submit to the pitch. We were offered a $100 American Express gift card for "an hour of our time." We were promised it was a workshop and not a sales pitch and there were new things to learn. Ok, we are here for a week, we can spare the time at 8:00 on a Monday morning. We arrived at 8:00 and were given time to eat a breakfast of eggs, bacon and juice and coffee from a steam table. Not bad for these things. Twenty minutes gone. Then a 40 minute presentation by a corporate man who reviewed the levels of membership, benefits, new things coming to Wyndham Worldwide. Nice, pleasant, relaxed. We didn't really learn much new as we keep up on these things pretty well, but it's useful, particularly if you are new and want to make sure you are using your points well. ok, one hour later, we are escorted to a small table in a noisy room and given our very own rep--he didn't try to sell us more points per se (we are Gold VIP already) but to convert to Access. We had already had that pitch last year and decided against it. We listened, nodded and said "no thanks." We knew enough not to get into a lengthy discussion as we didn't want to spend hours. Ok, not too bad--another 35 minutes transitioning from the group to the completion of the individual presentation (yes, I wrote down the times as I wanted to know) when we were told we needed to wait to "check out." We waited 15 minutes and then a lady appeared. She had more offers including buying points for a limited time. Sorry not interested. Time to get our card--we were given the paper to go pick up the gift card, which had to be picked up at the building by the TG Friday's down the street. Not counting the time to do that, total time was 2 hours including breakfast time. It would have been longer if we had asked more questions which we did not need to do having gone through the Access previously. Was it worth it for the $100 card--maybe but I always am annoyed at the tactics used by the sales pitch and the way they scratch numbers around on paper. I think they are trained to do that to obfuscate the real numbers involved!

Room Tip: Higher room in a building with elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Torte_Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubWyndham, Social Media Team at Star Island Resort and Club, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. It’s great to hear you enjoyed the pool areas and resort grounds. We appreciate your suggestions regarding the unit furnishings as we are always looking for ways to improve. Our goal is to create a satisfactory vacation experience for all our owners and guests. Again, thanks for reaching out and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Marta G. and Michael K. at the front desk were so helpful in checking us in and making sure we had everything we needed. The staff has been so friendly. The rooms are clean and spacious and we are having a great vacation! We would highly recommend Star Island!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank corryandamanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubWyndham, Social Media Team at Star Island Resort and Club, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Hi Cory and Amanda,

Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We appreciate your kind words regarding Marta and Michael. It’s so important to recognize great service. Enjoy the remainder of your vaction. Again, thanks for reaching out and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kissimmee
2.1 mi away
Quality Suites The Royale Parc Suites
0.9 mi away
Seasons Florida Resort
Seasons Florida Resort
#19 of 154 in Kissimmee
616 reviews
0.8 mi away
Wyndham Cypress Palms
Wyndham Cypress Palms
#154 of 340 in Orlando
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Magic Moment Resort and Kids Club
10.4 mi away
Liki Tiki Village
Liki Tiki Village
#26 of 154 in Kissimmee
2,839 reviews
0.9 mi away
Polynesian Isles Resort
Polynesian Isles Resort
#2 of 154 in Kissimmee
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Island Resort and Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Island Resort and Club

Address: 5000 Avenue of the Stars, Kissimmee, FL 34746-5310
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Kissimmee
#5 Spa Hotel in Kissimmee
#7 Business Hotel in Kissimmee
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
#21 Family Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range: £61 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Star Island Resort and Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 466
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Star Island resort is a Mediterranean styled resort and spa located just minutes from all of central Florida's major attractions, while still offering the quiet relaxation of luxurious accommodations with a multitude of amenities and activities. Relax in one of our spacious suites or villas with all of the comforts of home. All units include a full kitchen or mini kitchen and our largest unit can sleep up to 8 of your family and friends. Amenities include water sports, tennis, driving range, basketball, supervised family and children's activities and so much more. Visit Star Island for your unique vacation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Star Island Resort and Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Island Resort And Club Hotel Kissimmee
Star Island Hotel
Island Star
Star Island Resort Orlando
Fairfield Star Island Resort
Star Island Resort And Club Kissimmee, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing