We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“August 2013 trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Star Island Resort and Club
Ranked #23 of 152 Hotels in Kissimmee
GreenLeadersSilver level
Walhalla, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“August 2013 trip”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Loved the place. Close to disney parks. Pool was big and my kids wanted to go every day. Rooms were spacious and had everything we needed. Very convenient. Close to restaurants, disney shops, Walmart, and flea markets. Everything was wonderful. Can't wait to go in July 2014. :).

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    836
    766
    380
    184
    175
See reviews for
1,238
545
43
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (586)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellandport, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Our family along with two other families stayed at Star Island Resort for a week during March break 2014. The accomodations were great and we all had an awesome time!!! We seriously did not feel the need to leave the resort during the entire week. There was so much to do for all of the kids and they kept busy every day from morning till night. From numerous sports and pool activities during the day to dancing and Karaoke at night.
All of the staff was great.
A special mention goes out to Paul at the driving range.... super nice guy who gave all of us some great tips.
Also a special mention goes out to DJ Dustin who provided some awesome Karaoke and made the nights super fun and entertaining for all of us. Certainly a highlight.
Mike + Arlene + family

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mike V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romeoville, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Hubby and I traveled here with our 2 year old son and my inlaws for a week. They booked through their RCI timeshare. Read a bunch of horrible reviews beforehand and was nervous about what we would get! But we were pleasantly surprised.

We had a 3 bedroom condo. My inlaws took the master bedroom with the jacuzzi tub. My boys and I shared the lock-off -- one bedroom with 2 double beds and a kitchenette with a sofa. We turned the sofa around so the open end was against the wall and it worked PERFECTLY as a bed for our rambunctious toddler. The rooms were super clean and we had everything we needed. We enjoyed time outside on our patio -- which overlooked the new free mini golf course, near the pool. The karaoke goes late in the night but luckily we couldn't hear a note!

My son loved the pool -- especially the zero entry and the fountain he repeatedly swam under. The pool deck had a big variety of chairs and it was clean too.

One night, we discovered ants on our bedside table (I left a cookie out by accident, whoops!). We called the front desk at 9pm and someone actually came to help us out. He took the furniture out of our room, cleaned it up, sprayed it down and then set up an outside spraying for ants for the next day. We never had any more problems. Better than expected customer service!

My inlaws were upset that they were pressured into a presentation at check-in but they refused to sign up for one. We never heard another word about it on our visit.

We also had a rental car and drove every day to Disney. It was not far away at all -- but sometimes hard to find a parking spot next to our room.

We will still choose the condos at Lighthouse Key over Star Island but we were pleased with our visit.

Room Tip: request to be in a building away from the pool so you don't have to hear the terrible karaoke!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jamie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We booked this resort through a RCI timeshare exchange, with the primary purpose of using it as a base to explore the theme parks. And for this purpose it was perfect. WDW was 10-15 minutes away, and Universal about 20. Kennedy Space Center was just over an hour away.

We had a one-bed "B" unit on the 5th floor of one of the hi-rise buildings at the back of the property (Building 23) which could possibly be newer than other lower-rise buildings nearer the entrance. Given the overall size of this resort - it is big - I can see that it was built in phases and can imagine, based on some of these reviews, there is a wide range in the accommodations.

The amenities in our unit were as promised, but the layout and the photos were not quite as seen on the web site. There was only one very small balcony off the living room, with a plastic table and 4 chairs which would have been snug to seat 4 at the table. The view was of a courtyard, and a peek of some tennis courts through the trees. There is no privacy on the balcony and it felt like with an outstretched arm you could pass items to your neighbors (really you couldn't but they felt really close). You could sleep 4, accommodated in a king-bed and a pullout sleeper in the living room, but the only access to the bathroom is through the master suite. The glass shower, hot tub, and double sinks are open to the master suite. Only the water closet provides any privacy. This layout works just fine for a couple, or maybe a young family but does not otherwise provide enough privacy for 4 teens/adults. In addition to a stacked washer/dryer, our unit included a well-appointed kitchen with full refrigerator with ice maker, glass top stove, dishwasher and microwave. We also used the toaster and coffee maker. We appreciated receiving 7 coffee filters rather than having to buy a package and only using a week's worth as well as a small bottle of dish washing liquid and garbage bags (nice touch, thanks.) Cutlery, glasses and seating at the dining room table for six. There were two flat screen TVs; one in each of the living room and bedroom. The furnishings were adequate although the living room had the sleeper sofa (not particularly big) and only one armchair, so living room seating for four would also have been a problem. A second chair or love seat would have been nice.

Overall the unit was clean. We cannot comment on the housekeeping as we did not elect to pay extra for it. There were enough towels for four people and we were only two. Maintenance did respond within 24 hours to our request for service to a blown fuse in the kitchen.

We did not use the pool, spa services or tennis. The facilities looked nice and the grounds well kept. The entry drive has a guardhouse.

We shopped at the neighborhood Publix, and spotted both a Target and Walmart. Lots of value restaurants, fast food, take out options, and discount souvenir shops very close by on Hwy 192. There is also a tuck shop on site with snacks and basic provisions.

Finally, we were very firm upon check-in/arrival that we were not interested in attending any sales presentation. Based on these reports, were somewhat surprised that no one even attempted to follow up during our week-long stay. Not that we are complaining! Perhaps our profile (timeshare owning, childless couple from Canada) did not fit their target audience. If you are not interested, just say "no", as it worked for us.

Room Tip: This is a fairly large resort with several different room types in both low-rise and hi-rise buildin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LakeONsailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Our family stayed at Star Island Resort in February for a week. Here are our thoughts:

Pros:
Beautiful resort and pools and tennis courts at no extra costs.
Lots for kids to do: playground, inflatable bouncy castle, great pool, etc.
Clean and well maintained
High security
Cash free resort
Our 3 bedroom condo was lovely.
Situated well away from highways so you really feel on vacation
helpful and responsive staff

Cons:
The karaoke… It's been mentioned in previous reviews and I must say as much as I love a good sing-along, to hear the drunken folk loud and clear over the lake (sound carries, trust me) until way past 11PM at night was no fun after the 3rd night. My youngest had the hardest time getting to sleep all week, even with doors and windows closed and A/C on. A huge annoyance. Also, why do hotels feel they must play loud music all-day-long pool side? Surely the 70+ crowd isn't appreciating it. I enjoyed it at first but by end of day - headache...

If you are in Orlando to go to the parks, just know that Vineland road, the main thoroughfare to get to the resort, is often one long traffic light. That being said, we discussed it as a family and preferred to be a little further away from the main highways.

Tennis courts: we had expected to play everyday but the courts are pretty much booked all day by a local academy. Make sure to reserve in advance and be ready to play early AM or early evening when the kids are gone.

We had booked a 3 bedroom condo expecting washer and dryer in the unit. Our building only had a laundry room on the 1st floor and it got very busy mid week.
Also, please know the 3rd bedroom in a 3 bedroom condo is actually a den with a sofa bed, not a real 3rd bedroom.

We were also surprised that even if the hotel has a "green" policy, there were no recycling bins in the units?...

In summary:
All in all we are mostly happy about our week at Star Island but I do hope the management minds the comments about the music (fewer nights? End at 10PM?). It would definitely be something to think about before we chose to return. Hope this helps!









though a tad long to get to from the parks (Vineland road is one long traffic light…)

Room Tip: Ask to be far from the bar area if you are not there to party and/or have young kids (and the sound...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bustl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

Star Island Resort is a good family resort. It has a lot of activity for the the kids. It has two nice heated swimming pools.the staff is great,and they try to help you any way with your request at check in time.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Scheister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flanders, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 March 2014

From the time we got there until the time we left we had an excellent stay. Although some of the room showed signs of being slightly worn the room we had was great. It overlooked the pool with a wonderful balcony. My daughter plays college tennis and her matches were at the courts in sight of our balcony and a mere 3 minutes walk from our room. The staff there is also friendly and excellent. There is plenty to do there with no additional costs unlike some places that try to extort additional cash from you. Nice weight/work out room, tennis courts rackets and balls were free, the game room however was ripoff where many of the games took your money without working. My guess is this was outsourced. 1 pinball game would have been nice. The karaoke was loud practically every night but was entertaining listening to drunks slur Bob Segar songs. We did stop up there one night and the drinks were not too expensive (we're from NY so they were actually cheap). Overall a great stay and if I am in the Orlando/Kissimmee area again would stay again.

Room Tip: Room service is an additional fee. We decided not to use it to save cash and it worked out well. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kissimmee
2.2 mi away
Quality Suites The Royale Parc Suites
0.5 mi away
Magic Moment Resort and Kids Club
0.8 mi away
Wyndham Cypress Palms
Wyndham Cypress Palms
#149 of 338 in Orlando
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Seasons Florida Resort
Seasons Florida Resort
#15 of 152 in Kissimmee
584 reviews
10.5 mi away
Liki Tiki Village
Liki Tiki Village
#25 of 152 in Kissimmee
2,788 reviews
0.9 mi away
Polynesian Isles Resort
Polynesian Isles Resort
#2 of 152 in Kissimmee
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Island Resort and Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Island Resort and Club

Property: Star Island Resort and Club
Address: 5000 Avenue of the Stars, Kissimmee, FL 34746-5310
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Kissimmee
#5 Spa Hotel in Kissimmee
#7 Business Hotel in Kissimmee
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
#21 Family Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Star Island Resort and Club 3*
Number of rooms: 466
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Star Island resort is a Mediterranean styled resort and spa located just minutes from all of central Florida's major attractions, while still offering the quiet relaxation of luxurious accommodations with a multitude of amenities and activities. Relax in one of our spacious suites or villas with all of the comforts of home. All units include a full kitchen or mini kitchen and our largest unit can sleep up to 8 of your family and friends. Amenities include water sports, tennis, driving range, basketball, supervised family and children's activities and so much more. Visit Star Island for your unique vacation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Star Island Resort and Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Island Resort And Club Hotel Kissimmee
Star Island Hotel
Island Star
Star Island Resort Orlando
Fairfield Star Island Resort
Star Island Resort And Club Kissimmee, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing