We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“an all round excellent place to stay & just unwind”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Star Island Resort and Club
Ranked #20 of 153 Hotels in Kissimmee
GreenLeadersSilver level
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“an all round excellent place to stay & just unwind”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

this place was amazing, the accommodation was 1st class, the grounds were always kept clean & tidy & the staff were so very helpful, but in particular the resort manager & was always on hand to help if there were any little issues that needed sorting. I would very highly recommend this place to couples & families. It is very close to all the main attractions & there's lots of shops etc just a 5 min drive away.

Room Tip: don't stay in the blocks near the pool unless u like to be in the thick of it as they have music...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louthster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    815
    754
    365
    172
    171
See reviews for
1,193
532
42
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (575)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Did a time share exchange from our home resort of sheraton visitant to try something new. Would NEVER recommend this place to anyone! When assigned to our room, we were highly disappointed in the dated decor. Not that we couldn't live with that but the fact that our room was barely cleaned before they gave it to us was disgusting. We found used baby bottles with formula still in them, hair clips left behind, a massive red stain on the carpet, a non-working safe, non-working jacuzzi tub and blankets that smelled as if someone had wiped their behinds with them! Just awful. Resort staff informed us that they are being taken over by Wyndham, so not sure if this has anything to do with the conditions but still unacceptable. They moved us to a new room, on the third floor, with no elevator, get up there and realize the fridge does not have a freezer so we are moved once again, having to lug all of our luggage and groceries a 3rd time, once again to the 3rd floor. We were also given a 2 double bed room instead of our usual king bed room, which left us to move the furniture around to push the beds together, kitchen was limited, when our usual exchange includes a full kitchen, and only the 2 bedroom units apparently have laundry, which we were not informed of before hand. You can do your laundry by driving to the back of the resort to buildings 21-22, but then you have to leave your clothes and go back and forth all day to change them and each laundry room only has 2 washing machines. Pool is ok, nothing spectacular. Resort is crowded and limited chairs around pool, so unless you get there early you will be stuck on the sand. Everyday the dj would make an announcement about some 120 ft water slide in the parking lot, we saw it, but not one day of our week long stay was it inflated. They do have 2 computers in the lobby available to print your boarding passes for free, which we tried to take advantage of, however the computers are so old and dated that their systems don't support the necessary plug-ins to actually print the boarding passes out. Overall there is nothing spectacular to say about this resort. Would never recommend it to anyone and would never stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubWyndham, Social Media Team at Star Island Resort and Club, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Hi Lauren,

We are so sorry for your experience at our resort. Vacation is a time to relax and we realize you did not get the opportunity to do so. Our staff should have assisted in moving your belongings to the other units. We will be sure to speak with our housekeeping staff to ensure all units are reviewed before being approved for occupation. We are always working to improve our resort units and your feedback will help us to do so. Thank you for reaching out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend & I stayed here the first week of March. We got it fairly cheap due by using a rci timeshare through a friend. The resort is nicely landscaped. The pools are nice sized. When we used them they weren't too overly crowded or anything. We stayed in a B unit with the one bedroom and whirlpool. The lake and the sand areas were nicely kept up. Overall, our room was nice for the price we paid for it but we probably wouldn't have paid the original price for it. The two things we didn't like about this resort was how there was only one smallish outdoor whirlpool on the whole property and also the salesman was very pushy to my boyfriend to take a timeshare tour, he would not take no for an answer but my boyfriend just ended up not going on the tour! Overall, this place definitely grew on us by the end week of the week, and we didn't want to leave!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mandapandababay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

This is the most "interesting" of all the properties I've reviewed since joining TripAdvisor several years ago, and I am "torn" about what to write.
Overall, I actually liked Star Island. It is located in a "good" area (not "very good" or "excellent"....but "good). The grounds are well landscaped and groomed. The accomodations we had were comfortable and (for the most part) clean. The service staff were polite and responsive, and the amenities were somewhere between better than average and very good.
But, there were some "problems" which I'll explain, and there is one particular "theme" at Star Island that they need to do something about.
First off, it's located on the western end of Irlo Bronson Hwy, 10-20 minutes away from all Disney attractions. Convenient, if there's no traffic. There are a number of eateries (fast food, and "sit down" restaurants) all within seconds of the property.
Next, the property itself is well maintained with lush green grass, and weeping willow trees adorning most, if not all of the grounds.
The rooms are large, and the beds are "firm" and comfortable. There was also a "homey" back porch overlooking a well groomed back yard.
While it's location provides a lot of food options, the western end of Route 192 can become jammed up with Disney/rush hour traffic in the mornings and the afternoons. That can turn your ten minute drive to Disneyworld, into a 20-30 minute trek thru' heavy traffic.
Also, the main building, the pool, and most of the recreational facilities are located a good 3-5 minute walk from some of the units.
What's more parking is a problem. We had to park on the grass in front of the maintenance building more than once.
Also, they advertise a golf driving range, and water sports that include wave runners. Well, the driving range is only open until 1:30pm, and there are no waver runners. They are located all the way over on the other side of the lake.
On the good side of this, there is a miniature golf course at the pool, and they have a DJ during the day to compliment the pool bar.
There is also a convenience store which is well stocked, and provides deli style sandwiches for the lunchtime crowd at the two pools.
Now, here are the two big negatives we encountered during our stay. One afternoon I washed my hands after a bathroom visit, took down a hand towel to dry myself, and found several long brown streaks on the folded-in side of it. EEEEEESH!
We were on our way out at the time so I just re-washed my hands, used another towel, and packaged the soiled towel up in a plastic bag. The lady at the front desk gave us free towel service, and a free room cleaning when I brought the dirty towel up to her.
(That's another negative, by the way. There is no daily towel exchange, and no maid service unless you pay for it.)
But, there was a washing machine in our unit so, we were able to clean our own towels.
The other thing was the mysterious 2" hole in the kitchen wall. Which appeared after we checked in. Never did figure that one out.
There is a karaoke bar upstairs over the main desk which has nightly events such as ladies night, gentlemen's night, etc., the pools stay open until 11pm. Also, this place would be excellent for tennis nuts.
The facilities for tennis are excellent.
BUT.....and here Their ATTITUDE about MONEY. They don't take cash in their convenience store, the pool bar, the upstairs bar, or the hot dog cart which they have set up at the pool. Because of this, people don't "see" what they are spending until its time to check out.
What's more, they automatically add an 18% gratuity (tip) onto all drinks that they serve at the poolside bar, and the upstairs bar. They do the same at the hot dog cart.
Frankly, I find that OFFENSIVE.
A tip is something that is EARNED with the type of service you give. The better the service the larger the tip.
But, the customer should always have the option not to tip if they don't feel service was up to their standards.
I'll tell you how bad it is.....I went to get a hot dog from the cart at the pool one day. The girl reached into a compartment and pulled out a cold / uncooked dog which is unusual for a hot dog cart.
Usually, the cooked dogs are kept in a steam heated compartment which keeps them hot and retains their flavor. She told me they "cook" each hot dog individually because they go bad if people don't buy them. Then she proceeded to dip my hot dog in some lukewarm water, and THIS is Star Islands idea of a hot dog?
RIDICULOUS! They'd get laughed off the streets of NY.
But, it gets even worse. The girl then writes me up a bill for the hot dog, upon which she writes "hot dog - $3.50 / TIP ________"
So, how much is the going rate these days for serving up a cold hot dog from a cart they arent even utilizing correctly?
Once again, it was OFFENSIVE. It makes you feel as though they don't care about providing service, and that they are only out to get your money.`
Overall, it's a good place to stay. Not "very" good, or "excellent.
Just good.
They need to provide more value, and better service (without having service providers give you a drink with one hand, while extending their other hand outward for a tip) in order to make it better.

Room Tip: Tell them you want a room overlooking the pool, the tennis facilities, and/or the front desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank Family-Traveling-Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

After booking our "Romantic Getaway" room for a week for our honeymoon, we called twice to be sure everything was all set. Room was paid for about 6 weeks prior to our vacation. We arrived and were told that we didn't have the "Romantic Getaway" and instead had a 2 double bed room. No jacuzzi....no rose petals...not very romantic! We paid for the Romantic Getaway and recieved a musty smelling room with the most uncomfortable beds ever. Even after I presented my email with the confirmation on it they said they didn't have any of the rooms available. I will NEVER return to this resort nor recommend it to family or friends traveling in this area. And seriously....they charge you $9.00 to bring you clean towels!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Missi642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bath, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

My husband and I and our 2 daughters are here on our first ever family vacation. We were very disappointed when we got to our room as it smelled terrible. It smell is musty and dirty. We asked to be moved to a different room and Mildred was so accommodating and kind. She gave us a different room however this room smells just as bad. I am absolutely grossed out with this room. We have been here for 2 days and have 5 more days to go and I seriously don't know how I can stay in this room for 5 more day. I am so disappointed

Room Tip: Dont rent the 1 bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LHall508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubWyndham, Social Media Team at Star Island Resort and Club, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
We are so sorry to hear about your disappointment in the units at our resort. There is a certain level of satisfaction expected when staying at a Wyndham resort and this has not been provided. We will have management look into this. Thank you for making us aware of this issue so that we have a chance to make it right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walhalla, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Loved the place. Close to disney parks. Pool was big and my kids wanted to go every day. Rooms were spacious and had everything we needed. Very convenient. Close to restaurants, disney shops, Walmart, and flea markets. Everything was wonderful. Can't wait to go in July 2014. :).

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kissimmee hotels
2.2 mi away
Quality Suites Royale Parc Suites
0.5 mi away
Magic Moment Resort and Kids Club
0.8 mi away
Seasons Florida Resort
Seasons Florida Resort
#14 of 153 in Kissimmee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Orlando Lake Buena Vista South
6.9 mi away
Westgate Town Center Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Polynesian Isles Resort
Polynesian Isles Resort
#2 of 153 in Kissimmee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Island Resort and Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Island Resort and Club

Property: Star Island Resort and Club
Address: 5000 Avenue of the Stars, Kissimmee, FL 34746-5310
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Kissimmee
#4 Spa Hotel in Kissimmee
#7 Business Hotel in Kissimmee
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
#21 Family Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Star Island Resort and Club 3*
Number of rooms: 466
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Star Island resort is a Mediterranean styled resort and spa located just minutes from all of central Florida's major attractions, while still offering the quiet relaxation of luxurious accommodations with a multitude of amenities and activities. Relax in one of our spacious suites or villas with all of the comforts of home. All units include a full kitchen or mini kitchen and our largest unit can sleep up to 8 of your family and friends. Amenities include water sports, tennis, driving range, basketball, supervised family and children's activities and so much more. Visit Star Island for your unique vacation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Star Island Resort and Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Island Resort And Club Hotel Kissimmee
Star Island Hotel
Island Star
Star Island Resort Orlando
Fairfield Star Island Resort
Star Island Resort And Club Kissimmee, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing