We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Happily Suprised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Star Island Resort and Club
Ranked #20 of 153 Hotels in Kissimmee
GreenLeadersSilver level
Jekyll Island B
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Happily Suprised”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Honestly, I was dreading this trip! Went 5/24 - 5/30/2014, meeting up with my sister in law so she could take my son on a cruise. I had stayed at Star Island in the past and was not impressed, but due to this last minute cruise for my son and the fact Star Island had availability (at a low timeshare points value & able to upgrade my room) I booked here.

We had a 2 bedroom lock off unit 2811A&B, this combination gave us lots of room and privacy when all 4 of us were there. The unit also felt safe when I was there a few days by myself. The unit was clean, and bug free! The stove had a small crack on its face, it worked fine, and I reported it to the front desk.

The A side of the unit had the tiniest galley kitchen, not really for cooking, but would be fine for heating up leftovers. It had 2 double beds, and a pullout sofa bed. This is a small unit and NOT for a family staying a week, a few days would be fine. The B side is the bigger unit. Good kitchen, washer & dryer, large living room With sleeper sofa & dinning room. The bedroom has a king bed. The only thing I did not like about the bedroom is that the Jacuzzi tub is next to the bed! Weird!

Pool, gym, and grounds were all nice. Enjoyed walking to the lake and just hanging out! Several restaurants, grocery, shopping nearby. This was a good trip and was an unexpected surprise!

Room Tip: The 1 bedroom A units are very small, the 1 bedroom B units have much more room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie T, Guest Relations Manager at Star Island Resort and Club, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Greetings from Star Island Resort,

Thank you, Trph (Jekyll Island B) for the kind words. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and was happily surprised :) We pride ourselves in our accommodations, activities and our property for all of our guest to enjoy!

Again, thank you for reaching out and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    815
    752
    364
    172
    170
See reviews for
1,190
531
42
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (574)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Wales
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Returned today 31st May 2014. Could not fault the property or the grounds. Had a wonderful holiday. Our apartment was a two bed two bath,with a jacuzzi in the main bedroom, had the lock off as well, which meant an extra living area/ which we used as a bedroom plus /bathroom. we Had a problem with air conditioning unit in the lock off, was fixed immediately. Requested a kettle, arrived shortly after my request . The grounds are beautiful and well kept. The DJ by the pool plays requests all day and entertains the kids an adults. The only thing I was shocked about was the 18% added to the bill even if you purchased in the shop/bar. But having an ice machine by the pool meant you could take drinks down with you. Lively bar at night with karaoke going on, we could hear it but once our doors were shut it was only background noise. It was nice to have something going on as visiting florida for 21 years I have never found evening entertainment , so thumbs up. Would definitely stay there again and would recommend for great family accommidation.

Room Tip: We were in building 25 room 2563, could here the music but wasn't a disturbance.
See more room tips
Green Features: Was surprised that there were no facilities for recycling waste materials .
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cherub190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie T, Guest Relations Manager at Star Island Resort and Club, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Greetings from Star Island Resort,

Thank you for this great feedback cherub190. This will allow us to continue to enhance the vacation experience at our resort. We are especially happy to hear that you were comfortable in your unit and your requests were handled in a timely matter.

Please let us know if there are opportunities to make your stay better in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I have visted star island more than a dozen times.... I am always happy here and the staff is amazing! I always know the suites I like to stay in and they are ALWAYS accommodating, but this time I'm here Geisha at the front desk went over and beyond, she is AMAZING. I highly recommend enjoying a stay at Star Island.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amazingspa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie T, Guest Relations Manager at Star Island Resort and Club, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Greetings from Star Island Resort,

Thank you for this great feedback Amazingspa. This will allow us to continue to enhance the vacation experience at our resort. Thank you for the compliment to Geisha at the front desk, we will be sure to let her know that you were very happy with her helping you.

Please let us know if there are opportunities to make your stay better in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West End, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2014

The area was nice, rooms clean. BUT, the Jacuzzi tub/shower was a nightmare. You had to step over a 36" wall to get in. Very dangerous for falls and injury. Had to ask for clean towels every day, thanks

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie T, Guest Relations Manager at Star Island Resort and Club, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Greetings from Star Island Resort,

Thank you, Lisa Y for the kind words. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay except for the jacuzzi in your unit. We are happy to hear your request for towels was handled.

Again, thank you for reaching out and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Rooms were nice. Second time here. My son won the pop warner national championship in December and we were in a room far away from the lobby and had no issues. We were now here for an aau basketball tournament. This time I got a room close to the lobby. Unless you are a night owl and like loud music, be sure to request a room as far as possible away from lobby. The music and karyoke went on until about 12:30. It is very loud and should be moved indoors to the conference room. This was my only complaint.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rome02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie T, Guest Relations Manager at Star Island Resort and Club, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Greetings from Star Island Resort,

Thank you, rome02 for the kind words. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Congratulations to your son winning the pop Warner National Championship in December and good luck to him in the AAU basketball tournament! We are in the process of working on something so the music does not disturb our guest.

Again, thank you for reaching out and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

If you want a great place to stay,not far from the attraction,look no further than Star Island.The facility is very well maintained,The staff can't do enough for you,and the entertainment is great.
The d.j., Dustin, who runs the Karaoke is a show by himself.Very entertaining and his song selection is amazing.
If you are bored going to this resort you have nobody to blame but youself.

Room Tip: the older part of the resort is nearer the pool,but don't hesitate they are very well maintained
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gary s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie T, Guest Relations Manager at Star Island Resort and Club, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Greetings from Star Island Resort,

Thank you, Gary for the kind words. We will share this with our staff. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Everyone loves Dustin!

Again, thank you for the great review and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Acworth, Georgia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We did an exchange there years ago and it was lovely, so when we exchanged there the last week in April/1st week in May of this year, we expected the same. We had gotten a 3 bedroom since my daughter, her husband and my 2 granddaughters from Denver were joining us for a week at Disney World. Disappointment doesn't begin to describe it! I was embarrassed to have my family there. The unit itself was dated, but that sort of thing doesn't bother us. However, it was filthy, and that does! There were stains on the living room rug and couch and it smelled. Made you not want to sit on the couch and wear sox for sure! The kitchen area was somewhat grimy as well. Both of the bathrooms had mold and mildew in the showers. The shower in the master bedroom was clogged and there was a big wad of hair on the shower wall that did not belong to us. The other bathroom had the toilet clogged for 3 days even though we called several times on it. When calling about the problems, the front desk was not only argumentative, but didn't respond. When we spoke with management, they said they had already taken care of it, which they had not, but did we want to take a presentation? Needless to say we answered no to that one! On the third call when my son in law threatened to call the Board of Health, they finally sent someone to fix the toilet and shower clog. The maintenance people were very good and very nice. It was at that point I called complaining to the place we exchanged from since it's rated highly and thought they should know what we were experiencing. We would have left and gone elsewhere had they been able to find another place for us, but that was impossible. They offered to talk to the manager and did. The Manager refused to move us to another unit, disputed everything I had told them was wrong and told them to have me call him. Since we had already done that to no avail and received argumentative and abusive treatment on 3 different occasions, I chose not to call again knowing it would get me no where. I will say the pool area is nice and there are good activities for the children. However, the karaoke band and heavy drinking noise at night made sitting out on the balcony not as pleasant as in the past. I don't recommend this place at all and would never go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mmomom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paola R, Guest Relations Manager at Star Island Resort and Club, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologize that you experienced difficulties with unit maintenance during your stay. Please know this is not our standard for guests satisfaction. Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission. We work hard to make our resort a home away from home and provide satisfactory facilities and accommodations. We want you to know that we truly enjoy sharing our passion for our destination with our guests and want you to walk out the door feeling refreshed and satisfied with your stay. We will ensure that our maintenance and housekeeping crew completes a full inspection of our units to ensure they are up to our standards. Thank you for taking the time and informing us, we can use this information for further improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kissimmee hotels
2.2 mi away
Quality Suites Royale Parc Suites
0.5 mi away
Magic Moment Resort and Kids Club
0.8 mi away
Seasons Florida Resort
Seasons Florida Resort
#14 of 153 in Kissimmee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Orlando Lake Buena Vista South
6.9 mi away
Westgate Town Center Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Polynesian Isles Resort
Polynesian Isles Resort
#2 of 153 in Kissimmee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Island Resort and Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Island Resort and Club

Property: Star Island Resort and Club
Address: 5000 Avenue of the Stars, Kissimmee, FL 34746-5310
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Kissimmee
#4 Spa Hotel in Kissimmee
#7 Business Hotel in Kissimmee
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
#21 Family Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Star Island Resort and Club 3*
Number of rooms: 466
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Star Island resort is a Mediterranean styled resort and spa located just minutes from all of central Florida's major attractions, while still offering the quiet relaxation of luxurious accommodations with a multitude of amenities and activities. Relax in one of our spacious suites or villas with all of the comforts of home. All units include a full kitchen or mini kitchen and our largest unit can sleep up to 8 of your family and friends. Amenities include water sports, tennis, driving range, basketball, supervised family and children's activities and so much more. Visit Star Island for your unique vacation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Star Island Resort and Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Island Resort And Club Hotel Kissimmee
Star Island Hotel
Island Star
Star Island Resort Orlando
Fairfield Star Island Resort
Star Island Resort And Club Kissimmee, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing