We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disney Area Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Star Island Resort and Club
Ranked #23 of 152 Hotels in Kissimmee
GreenLeadersSilver level
Houma, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Disney Area Resort”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Part of this resort is privately owned and part is owned by Wyndham vacation resorts. We booked through Wyndham. When we arrived the desk clerk could not initially find our reservation After a few attempts she found it. We we off to the room. It was a one bed room deluxe The sofa was worn and dated. The refrigerator was missing a glass shelf which they replaced. There was a sleeper sofa that had sheets with a spot on them. Looked dirty. The elevator was broken in the building. The good news is that there was a rapid response to the service/housekeeping calls. The bad news is that housekeeping should have checked those items before returning the unit to the desk for customers. We stayed there before and had a very different room much nicer. Once past the room the resort was great. Very entertaining. The staff was excellent and so was our waitress at the bar. We spent several hours by a very clean pool. The location was great. Eas

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Medcare2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie T, Guest Relations Manager at Star Island Resort and Club, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Greetings from Star Island Resort,

Dear Medcare2005,

We are sorry you had to spend even a minute of your vacation dealing with locating your reservation and the issues with your unit.. We know there is a certain level of satisfaction expected when staying at our property and you did not receive this. Please rest assured we will have our housekeeping staff address these concerns moving forward to avoid any future occurrences of this nature. We are happy to hear after you got past your issues you had a enjoyed your stay!

Thank you for making us aware.

Debbie Todd
dtodd@star-island.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    835
    765
    380
    184
    175
See reviews for
1,236
545
43
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (586)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham UK
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

I have just returned from a weeks stay, the appts are fabulous, excellent value for money.
Pool area has plenty of sunbeds, towels supplied too.
Pool and evening bar staff were lovely. George looked after us very well.
We popped up to the karaoke bar a few times, Dean who hosts it made us feel very welcome from the moment we sat down.
Thank you all for a lovely stay.
Sharon (uk)

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank sunnyBirminghamUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie T, General Manager at Star Island Resort and Club, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Greetings from Star Island Resort,

Thank you sunnyBirminghamUK for the nice review. You are welcome :) We are happy to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your vacation with Star Island.

Looking forward to your return!

Debbie Todd
dtodd@star-island.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Star Island was a choice from our time-share agreement. It was a perfectly fine place to stay while adventuring at Disney or Universal. The decor felt very early 80s, with kind of a gawdy showing of the king-bed and jacuzzi tub with lighting and mirrors. Everything worked and everything was clean.

We did have a few things we were dissatisfied with, which is why I am giving only an average review:

- The water tasted slightly swampy, so we went to the Publix just down the road and bought a case of water.

- Signage directing you to things like elevators isn't good. We found it eventually, but we were checking in after a long day of travel and were unhappy that it wasn't clearly marked.

- We had a nice patio area, but all you could hear when out there was a ton of air-conditioning units running full blast.

Room Tip: One side of the building has parking lots, and the other air conditioner units so that doesn't m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigRedGeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie T, Guest Relations Manager at Star Island Resort and Club, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Greetings from Star Island Resort,

Thank you for this great feedback BigRedGeek. This will allow us to continue to enhance the vacation experience at our resort. Please let us know if there are opportunities to make your stay better in the future.

Sincerely,
Debbie Todd
dtodd@star-island.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This was a thoroughly enjoyable week of leisure. The grounds of the resort are really beautiful and have well maintained gardens.There was always some activity going on around the resort to keep people entertained and with a driving range, tennis courts, basketball courts, gym and water activities for hire as well as a good sized swimming pool with something to do for kids and adults. For those that enjoy karaoke you will have a field day as it appeared to be on more less every night. We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite the rooms were a decent size and well kept, the suite included fridge, microwave, 2 tvs, and hot plates. Everyone that worked here seemed super friendly with security around the premises at front entrance checking passes. As another bonus you aren't more than 20 minutes away from the theme park attractions.

Room Tip: Try to stay in a building a bit further away from the upstairs bar if you want a bit of quite in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingPiglets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie T, Guest Relations Manager at Star Island Resort and Club, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Greetings from Star Island Resort,

Thank you TravellingPiglets for the wonderful review. We take great pride in our accommodations, property and activities at Star Island and you enjoyed all of them. That makes us very happy to hear that you and your family had such a nice vacation.

Thank you again and we look forward to your return,

Debbie Todd
contact info: dtodd@star-island.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lavon, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Lodging and unit were great. We would suggest a bit lower tub edge for ease of entry for the A side unit.,as it is a bit tall for those with mobility issues, the B side had a walk in shower which was fine. Really nice employees very friendly. Quick response time to minor issues. Smoke detector battery, and ice maker.

My husband has been an owner for over 20 years so we have been on lots of the owner tours. But NEVER treated as poorly as at this one. We were asked to bring our guests to the tour..begged was more like it. We were called 4 times to be sure we were coming. Once there we were told to get our breakfast..stale pastry! And cold bagels. Not exactly breakfast. After the talk then we were told we would get the promised $100 gift card but our guests would not....Why? We all had the same paper work..we all listened to the same talk? The people offered instead $75 each in dining dough....mind you our paper work on both was $100 AMEX cards for each party. Not acceptable! And the rudeness of all employees was UNBELIEVABLE! When I snapped a photo of their supreme customer service to add to what I will be sending the Dept of Business Profesionals Regulations we were finally told we would receive the gift on our paperwork. By the way at the redemption place again they tryed to revert to dining dough...this was a horrible start to our vacation, and one I NEVER care to repeat! I was mortified for our guests! We were not even going to bring them for the tour but were asked to please bring them! This above process took nearly 4 HOURS! My husband also has brothers that are owners . And AGAIN Never on any of the tours in the many places we have stayed with Wyndam have we run into the rudeness of this one! Wyndam Shame on you, your employees and your club mgr! Not a visit to be proud of!

Room Tip: We were by the tennis courts. Very nice and quiet. Room was well stocked with towels, kitchen items...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZDoyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, KY
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We have stayed at 3 condo/timeshare resorts in the Disney area this year, and Star Island is the nicest one at which we've stayed, by far.

We rented a 1 BR/1 BA condo through Armed Forces Vacation Club. The front desk did not have our reservation and the staff had never heard of AFVC, so I was glad I'd printed a copy of our reservation and confirmation. After some looking through their records, they put us in a unit in Building 24 (farthest back from the front building).

It was a very nice condo. It was clean and well-appointed. They had 2 flat-screen TVs that worked nicely. There was a DVD/VCR (!) combo player in the living room that did not work properly, but that was not a big deal. There was a washer/dryer combo in our unit that worked well. The full kitchen had a stove, microwave, full fridge and dishwasher, as well as a full complement of dishes, cookware and utensils. We've stayed at other condos where the kitchen stuff is worn out and junky, but that was not the case here. The bed was very comfortable and the jacuzzi tub was nice, too.

They provided housecleaning every day, including fresh towels, toiletries, trash bags and cleaning supplies. We've stayed in condos throughout Florida and have always received a "starter" set but was otherwise responsible for our own throughout the week. This was a nice surprise.

The facilities are very nice. The pool area is pretty, the hot tub works well and has a nice temperature, and there are lots of lounge chairs (no need to play the "towel game"). They have many activities onsite such as a driving range, water sports, tennis and miniature golf. The pool bar is nice and they have another bar for after-hours that does karoake. They have security at the front entrance, so we had a nice feeling of security.

The staff was very nice and super helpful throughout our stay, and check-out was a breeze.

With the exception of a small hiccup on check-in, our experience was outstanding, and we look forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PrayingColonel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie T, Guest Relations Manager at Star Island Resort and Club, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Greetings from Star Island Resort,

Thank you PrayingColonel, for the wonderful review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations and activities at Star Island. We take great pride in our accommodations, activities and surrounding property for our guest. I am sorry to hear that you had a hiccup but happy to hear it was taken care of to your satisfaction.

I will pass this information on to our staff and look forward to your return.

Debbie Todd
dtodd@star-island.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucker, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We have been enjoying Star Island Resort for four years now and really appreciate all the planned activities-meals, games,Bingo,etc.
We especially appreciate an employee named Brittany Cordero who always has a smile, is willing to do anything you ask, or help in anyway. She always has a smile and is an asset to the resort.

Room Tip: Get a room in a building where there is an elevator
See more room tips
Green Features: no smoking, recycling, local plants in garden, trees for shade, local foods
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie T, Guest Relations Manager at Star Island Resort and Club, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Greetings from Star Island Resort,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are very happy that you have been enjoying your stay at Star Island for the last 4 years. We take great pride in our accommodations and activities and really appreciate the kind words.

That was a very nice compliment to Brittany Cordero. I will pass this information on to Brittany Cordero and her manager.

Thank you again and we will look forward to seeing you again,

Debbie Todd
dtodd@star-island.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kissimmee
2.2 mi away
Quality Suites The Royale Parc Suites
0.5 mi away
Magic Moment Resort and Kids Club
0.8 mi away
Wyndham Cypress Palms
Wyndham Cypress Palms
#149 of 338 in Orlando
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Seasons Florida Resort
Seasons Florida Resort
#16 of 152 in Kissimmee
583 reviews
10.5 mi away
Liki Tiki Village
Liki Tiki Village
#25 of 152 in Kissimmee
2,788 reviews
0.9 mi away
Polynesian Isles Resort
Polynesian Isles Resort
#2 of 152 in Kissimmee
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Island Resort and Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Island Resort and Club

Property: Star Island Resort and Club
Address: 5000 Avenue of the Stars, Kissimmee, FL 34746-5310
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Kissimmee
#5 Spa Hotel in Kissimmee
#7 Business Hotel in Kissimmee
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
#21 Family Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Star Island Resort and Club 3*
Number of rooms: 466
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Star Island resort is a Mediterranean styled resort and spa located just minutes from all of central Florida's major attractions, while still offering the quiet relaxation of luxurious accommodations with a multitude of amenities and activities. Relax in one of our spacious suites or villas with all of the comforts of home. All units include a full kitchen or mini kitchen and our largest unit can sleep up to 8 of your family and friends. Amenities include water sports, tennis, driving range, basketball, supervised family and children's activities and so much more. Visit Star Island for your unique vacation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Star Island Resort and Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Island Resort And Club Hotel Kissimmee
Star Island Hotel
Island Star
Star Island Resort Orlando
Fairfield Star Island Resort
Star Island Resort And Club Kissimmee, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing