We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, but not a traditional hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Star Island Resort and Club
Ranked #20 of 155 Hotels in Kissimmee
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Star Island is a timeshare resort, not a traditional hotel. That means you get a larger room/suite than most hotels, but not as many of the traditional hotel services. We had the one bedroom suite, which featured a bedroom, a good sized living/dining room, and a full kitchen. The bedroom included a large jacuzzi tub, which seemed very strange and was pretty much a waste of space. The closed was small and a little awkward, and the living room furniture was not the most comfortable I've ever encountered, but none of those were really problems for us. If you have the two bedroom unit, the second bedroom is really separate - there's a small lobby connecting the two units with the true exterior door beyond that - not a problem unless you're concerned about smaller children, I suppose. The pool area is well maintained and has lots of lounge chairs available. The on site food service is quite limited (typical of timeshare resorts) and the nearest option is TGI Friday's. The resort is located just a a main highway, so there are lots of chain restaurants and a grocery store nearby. It's quite a bit farther to any higher quality dining. Location is pretty convenient to the them parks. Overall, the resort seems to be well maintained.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank West52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie T, Guest Relations Manager at Star Island Resort and Club, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Greetings from Star Island Resort,

Thank you West52 for the review of your accommodations and the surrounding property. This will allow us to continue to enhance the vacation experience at our resort. Please let us know if there are opportunities to make your stay better in the future.

Sincerely,
Debbie Todd
dtodd@star-island.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,603)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,489 - 1,495 of 2,603 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014

We came to the Orlando area for the fourth of july. The resort celebrated on the 3rd and had lots of activities around the lake including fireworks. Our room in bldg 20 is spacious and a great view of disney and epcot fireworks. The resort is VERY Large so almost impossible to walk to TGIF. We went to timeshare presentation and our sales representative was "BIG HAIR". Lovely woman , and very helpful answering all our questions. One of the most pleasant sales experience I have encountered. Golf cart driver Mike was pleasant too. No hassles!
This is a very nice resort and would definitely return.

Room Tip: Get a room on the top floor. Great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovetotravel0075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie T, Guest Relations Manager at Star Island Resort and Club, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Greetings from Star Island Resort,

Thank you lovetotravel0075 for the nice review. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed all aspects of our resort. Every year is a success for our 4th of July celebration with fireworks and many other fun things to do! Glad you were here to enjoy it.

Looking forward to seeing you again,
Debbie Todd
dtodd@star-island.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed there because it is in our timeshare program other wise we not have known about it. I am glad we did. We didn't want to stay in pricey Orlando but wanted to visit Disney and it is just a few miles away (like 8) The photos on the web site do not do it justice. It is a lovely well maintained large property. We obtained lots of fun things in the giant flea markets there in Kissimmee. We visited Gator World which was a lot of family fun too. The amenities were great except they don't have room service. They have kitchenettes and Jacuzzi tubs in the rooms too. The TGIs at the end of the long drive to the road delivers and so do some other places. The big vultures nesting on the roof were a little disconcerting and I had my doubts as to whether the pond might have gators in it but it was very beautiful there. I would recommend this place highly to people who want to have fun and relax. Being in the time share system saved us a lot of money on the room which was actually a one bedroom suite, I would stay there again anytime I go to FLA. We are not in the Wyndam time share system rooms we are with another timeshare system so I am not sure how the rooms look on that side of the property but w loved ours.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor and it was peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie T, Guest Relations Manager at Star Island Resort and Club, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Greetings from Star Island Resort,

Thank you, Lynda D for the kind words. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your accommodations and the surrounding area.

Again, thank you for reaching out and we look forward to your next visit.

Debbie Todd
dtodd@star-island.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Extremely bad! We were put into the worst room we have ever seen in our lives! It smelled horrible. We could hardly breathe!! It had old small cheap furniture and was extremely small. What an absolute insult, especially after we spent all that money! It took 3 hours on the phone to get in contact with a Wyndham representative who eventually convinced us that they would give us a better room. They did, thank to a manager named Mr. Sobiesky. Also, the young man named Oskyo who handles the presentation representatives helped to calm us down. I was hyperventilating to say the least. What a horrible experience. We did, however go the the owners presentation and we eventually purchased more vacation time. This is not a first rate resort. It is very outdated and has lots of problems. Wyndham should have never attached any of this to their name. We are still very afraid to stay in another Wyndham resort for fear that this might happen to us again, but we must give credit to the men who worked things out for us.

Room Tip: This is the rating we are giving for when we first came into the resort. We just stayed at the Shera...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vincent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie T, Guest Relations Manager at Star Island Resort and Club, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Greetings from Star Island Resort,

We are sorry to hear you experienced some difficulties with your unit and had such a hard time contacting us. We will have our maintenance team look into these issues to eliminate any future occurrences. We strive to provide top of the line accommodations for all our guests and your feedback will help us to do so.

We are very happy to hear that Star Island's representatives were able to help you.

Sincerely,
Debbie Todd
dtodd@star-island.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Went back to Star Island Resort in Kissimmee June 2014. Again another wonderful time. Had units A and B. Loved the King size bed, large kitchen etc.. Great pool and bar area. The decor and coach are a bit dated. Resort landscaping is pristine. Easy to travel to Universal, Disney, Medieval Times and more

Room Tip: Restful and close to all attractions
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pkbehappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie T, Guest Relations Manager at Star Island Resort and Club, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Greetings from Star Island Resort,

Thank you pkbehappy for your nice review. We are happy to hear that you were happy with your accommodations, our property and the surrounding area.

Sincerely,
Debbie Todd
dtodd@star-island.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Star island is beautiful! So clean, rooms are big. We have 6 people in our family. And we were very comfortable in a two bedroom unit! The pool was so much fun for us adults and the kids! I've recommended this resort to my family and friends!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lizmarie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie T, Guest Relations Manager at Star Island Resort and Club, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Greetings from Star Island Resort,

Thank you, Lizmarie T for the kind words. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and your family of 6 was so comfortable with your accommodations. We appreciate you recommending our resort!

Again, thank you for reaching out and we look forward to your next visit.
Debbie Todd
dtodd@star-island.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Good hotel with kitchen nive living and dining room, a lot of activities, I love the karaoke night with a great location. Its the ideal place to go with family. I will stay here again when I am in town for another softball tournament.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie T, Guest Relations Manager at Star Island Resort and Club, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Greetings from Star island Resort,

Thank you, Randy B for the nice review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your accommodations and the activities we have at Star Island. I hope you did well in your tournament! :)

Again, thank you for reaching out and we look forward to your next visit.

Debbie Todd
dtodd@star-island.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kissimmee hotels
0.5 mi away
Magic Moment Resort and Kids Club
2.2 mi away
Quality Suites The Royale Parc Suites
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Orlando Lake Buena Vista South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Saratoga Resort Villas
Saratoga Resort Villas
#13 of 155 in Kissimmee
1,206 reviews
0.8 mi away
Seasons Florida Resort
Seasons Florida Resort
#22 of 155 in Kissimmee
649 reviews
1.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Maingate East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Island Resort and Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Island Resort and Club

Address: 5000 Avenue of the Stars, Kissimmee, FL 34746-5310
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Kissimmee
#4 Spa Hotel in Kissimmee
#7 Business Hotel in Kissimmee
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Kissimmee
#18 Family Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range: £64 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Star Island Resort and Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 466
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Star Island resort is a Mediterranean styled resort and spa located just minutes from all of central Florida's major attractions, while still offering the quiet relaxation of luxurious accommodations with a multitude of amenities and activities. Relax in one of our spacious suites or villas with all of the comforts of home. All units include a full kitchen or mini kitchen and our largest unit can sleep up to 8 of your family and friends. Amenities include water sports, tennis, driving range, basketball, supervised family and children's activities and so much more. Visit Star Island for your unique vacation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Star Island Resort and Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Island Resort And Club Hotel Kissimmee
Star Island Hotel
Island Star
Star Island Resort Orlando
Fairfield Star Island Resort
Star Island Resort And Club Kissimmee, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing